We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent place.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathy Inn

Strathy Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathy Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Strathy B&B and Inns
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“decent place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here as part of a lands end john o'groats bike ride. We were booked in for the friday but arrived a day early. They only had us in on both nights. We spent a lot on food and beer but still got charged £50 for the Friday night as we had cancelled late and they could not re let. I felt bad about this as we had merely changed the booking and not cancelled. They were empty on both nights. To be fair we just accepted it as we didnt feel like an argument. The curry night was OK but not much like a balti and not much meat.
Provided a shed for the bikes.
They couldn't justify real ale on tap but did have a great selection of bottled ales.
Very friendly and room decent with good bathroom.
Just a pity that they treated the next day as a cancellation. Did charge £50 rather than £70.
Very warm place and good respite on the coast just 40 miles short of JOG.
Wouldn't go out of my way to stay again but it does what it needs to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
45
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We didn't stay at the Strathy Inn, but had an excellent meal when we turned up unannounced during our holiday. We were given a warm welcome by the landlord, and really enjoyed the venison casserole and lamb and apricot tagine - good food, well-cooked.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Som14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Wonderful place to base yourself to explore the northern coast of Scotland. Food was good home style meals, soup and porridge, amazing. Heather and Craig were very hospitable. Both went to a lot of trouble to recover my husband' s wedding ring, lost down the basin. Eventhough the weather was challenging even for Scotland, there was always a warm welcome from our hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gross Kreutz, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Strathy Inn was a wonderful surprise on our trip on the northern coast. Rooms are lovely and very spacious, also the bathroom. The bar offers great choice of beer and whisky as well as home cooked food. Craig and Heather maintain the place with love for detail. We felt very welcome. The best B&B on our trip on the northern coast of Scotland. Unforgettable.
Hopefully we can come back another time. Strong recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadin_abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

My friend and I have stayed here twice and enjoyed the hospitality that goes with it, we were treated as part of the family, there is a personal touch to this place. Comfortable room, with all the usual things you would expect, lovely meals and a big breakfast to set you up for the day. Close by there is Strathy Point Lighthouse, and the impressive Strathy Bay. It is a very good location, very central and and good value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allanmaciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This B&B was perfect to what I wanted, staying for 1 night in September in the Single room. Very reasonable price, good breakfast. Certainly will be staying again next time I'm up that way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good beer, great dinner, great breakfast, comfortable room, lovely bathroom, warm welcome, scenic location, good walking nearby. What more could you ask.

Room Tip: just ask, they are in the phone book
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom44UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathy
3.3 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
12.9 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
17.9 mi away
Y-Not Inn
Y-Not Inn
#9 of 20 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathy Inn

Property: Strathy Inn
Address: Strathy by Thurso, Strathy KW14 7RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Strathy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strathy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Strathy Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing