We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr. Sharook treats you like one of the family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sharook Riviera Grand Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sharook Riviera Grand Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Wete B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr. Sharook treats you like one of the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I can't recommend this place enough. We stayed here for 2 nights and were treated great. The food was AMAZING and there was lots of it go around which was really nice since we were busy walking around the island all day.

If you are looking for a budget place to stay in Pemba Mr. Sharook's is absolutely the place you need to stay at. You will be treated wonderfully and fed lots of great tasting food.

The bathrooms in the rooms were a bit scary but you have to remember the price that you are paying and where you are. The beds were comfortable enough and the sheets were very clean.

Mr. Sharook even provides free internet and, although slow, this was an unexpected surprise.

Thanks Mr. Sharook for a great stay in Pemba!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurochic00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george7777, Guest Relations Manager at Sharook Riviera Grand Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment and we are happy the most part of your stay with us was good,only toilets a bit of scratch we promise you and others we will work on those scratches as soon as possible.

Your comments and advise help us to make your staying remarkable as we improve our look and services.

Mr Sharook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maun
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Not so much to say/ share......just that Sharook is a very nice place to stay in Wete!! staff is friendly, rooms are clean, breakfast is good......dinner in the evening (on request only! approx 10 USD per person) very good!!
We stayed here 2 days and Max, Mr Sharook and Staff have made us feel very welcome, they are very happy to assist you with making trip arrangements, but also happy to assist with advice of what to do and where to go. We rented bicycles from them, not very good quality but they did the job and had a very good time.
Tip: Very nearby Sharook guesthouse are flying foxes and they fly over the rooftop terras in the evening........very very nice to see and so unexpected!!
If you go to Wete....this is the place to stay and do trips from here. Even Wete town seems very relax, but it does help a lot when you know some Swahilli. Have fun/ Enjoy

Room Tip: We only have seen 1 room, but all the rooms seem to have a/c and a fan + mosquito nets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you happen to stay in Wete, you will see, there are only few possibilities of accomodation. We researched tripadvisor and many other tourist guides, and we are happy to announce, that you are not making a mistake to stay there. Actually, the rooms and whole guesthouse is quite simple but clean, well furnished, with pleasent staff. Guesthouse is in the center of Wete. However, there are NO BEACHES in Wete and surroudings. Also, it is hard to find any tour guide there, so be prepared to use your own skills or hire the only couple of guys that Mr. Sharook will offer.

Room Tip: Most rooms are located above a street, but actually there is no traffic and little noise after dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Sharook Grand Lodge (don't know if that's different from the Annex). The owner and staff were incredibly warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was spacious but unfortunately it was really dirty. Food was OK but breakfast involved a lot of tins, packets and jars. I think they must have a problem with refrigeration. Of course, it's all very relative because there's very little quality accommodation on Pemba Island that's affordable. It is a very poor island and very undeveloped. I can take "basic" but it really has to be clean. The sunset view from the roof top terrace followed by the sighting of thousands of flying foxes is fantastic though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Sharook is a fantastic host. He welcomed us on the road as the ferry came in (from Tanga to Pemba) and showed us to the guesthouse himself. He set us up in our rooms and was around to chat if we needed any help. Reasonably priced double rooms with toilet and shower, closet with separate locks for valuables. Clean and basic. Close to the main street. Wete is a very quiet place with a very friendly vibe and a few streets to explore.
We walked over from the guesthouse to the annex to watch the flying foxes at sundown. We thought it was all a hoax as the sun was just about set and we hadn't seen any sign of them yet, when suddenly they appeared by the hundreds! Very cool and worth the wait.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelmfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Friendly Mzee Sharook has all of your travel needs covered for the hustle and bustle of Wete, Pemba. Basic clean rooms, outstanding traditional swahili food and the best place to watch the flying foxes of Pemba at sundown on the roof top.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakameKomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wete
0.0 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fish Eagle Point
Fish Eagle Point
#2 of 6 in Tanga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Tanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 10 in Pemba Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 10 in Pemba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharook Riviera Grand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharook Riviera Grand Lodge

Property: Sharook Riviera Grand Lodge
Address: Bomani, Wete Pemba, Wete, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island > Wete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sharook Riviera Grand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing