We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I finally saw the beauty of Eleuthera” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahamas Out Island Adventures - Day Trips

Bahamas Out Island Adventures - Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surf lessons, surfboard rentals, snorkeling, drift snorkeling, kayaking, cliffjumping, flora and fauna, historical sites - we offer a wide array of ways to have fun and experience the beauty of Eleuthera while learning about the island or learning a new sport - like surfing! We also offer rental equipment: surfboards, mountain bikes (2), snorkel gear, kayaks and boogie boards. Board storage and board repair services are also available. OUR ANNUAL YOUTH SURF CAMP begins June 22, 2015. Registration opens Jan. 1.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I finally saw the beauty of Eleuthera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Tom's outfit Bahamas Out Island Adventures showed us the true beauty of this Out Island. Tom is an amateur naturalist and seemingly familiar with every aspect of the island's topography. As an amateur snorkeler and kayaker, I completely placed my trust in him. He would make a memorable tour for anyone at any age, at any level. I will come back.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jordana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing day surfing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We visited Eleuthera over Christmas break and knew we wanted to go out surfing. We wanted a local guide to take us and show us the best breaks. Friends who had been to the island before recommended Tom and Bahamas Out Island Adventures. It was a fantastic experience. We were supposed to go our second day on the island but Tom did not think the surf spots were all that good and had us postpone until a few days later so we would have a better experience. He was right! The conditions were perfect and the day was so much fun. My husband and I are beginner surfers but were with our two teenagers who are much better. Tom gave the kids pointers to improve their surfing and then worked with us to get some rides. Tom had packed great snacks (his wife's carrot cake was fantastic) and we spent a pleasant day surfing and relaxing at the beach. It could not have been better!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank eritzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, creative guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

A last minute weekend trip to the Bahamas... and it looked like the weather just won't cooperate. It wasn't supposed to rain in February, but there we were. Fortunately, we had booked a half-day excursion with Tom, which really saved the vacation.

He picked us up from the Rainbow Inn, even as the wind blew more rain. The incredibly experienced guide had a few tricks up his sleeve, though! He knew a beach that was secluded from the wind, and helped us in through the somewhat choppy surf. He led us on an amazing snorkeling tour of the off-shore reef, and made us feel confortable about the conditions, despite not being expert snorkelers ourselves. The colors were no less vivid without the sun, and he pointed out a shark, interesting fish and coral.

After just the right amount of time in the water, he had fresh water, oranges and tomatoes from his garden to share. We drove north on the island, as Tom shared some of the natural and political history of the island. He knew where the weather might be a bit better or easier to deal with, and took us to further exciting adventures, including a wonderful surprise!

We had only reserved a half a day, but Tom dropped us off at an amazing restaurant for lunch not far from our hotel. We can't thank him enough, and look forward to more exploration on our next trip to Eleuthera.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank allanfromdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbour Island
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best surf camp ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

My 11 year daughter had her 4th Surf Camp with Bahamas Out Island Adventures. Tom and his team are just great, very professional and so much fun. My daughter has not stopped talking about it. She not only got to surf really well, but did all sorts of other activities from cliff jumping, snorkelling, caving. Tom also focuses on the ecology and environment making the children aware of all marine life - so they learn to respect and understand them.
My daughter cannot wait until next year to join Surf Camp again (usually in June) and my 9 year old will join her too.
She also loved all the food and snacks provided!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Donosti2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great adventure with a great guy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Our family goes to the out islands in the Bahamas almost every year, and we have been to Eleuthera several times. We stayed this year on Harbor Island and made a day trip with Tom in Eleuthera. The day is very laid back but not unorganized at all. Tom personalizes the day for you based on what you want to do. It is as laid back a day as you could have with no feeling of being rushed or pushed along.

Tom is really a great guy, perfect with kids and families, and just a big kid himself really. You can tell that he really loves Eleuthera and everything about it, and he shares that love with you. He took us caving, boogie boarding on the big waves at Surfer's beach, and snorkeling and cliff diving in Gregory Town, a stop not to be missed.

Can't recommend it enough. It is exactly what a day in the out island of Eleuthera should be, a laid back day seeing really cool natural wonders with a laid back but reliable guide.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshuaAndrewEthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahamas Out Island Adventures - Day Trips also viewed

Eleuthera, Out Islands
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Bahamas Out Island Adventures - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing