We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Commerce(Pouilly-en-Auxois)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Sainte Sabine(Sainte-Sabine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Camille(Arnay-le-Duc)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abbaye de la Bussiere(La Bussiere-sur-Ouche)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveler rating
289
217
81
31
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
217
81
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolbreakfast choicesfood and winethe hotel staffround of golfsnooker tablechateausnoozehermesburgundyfrancejacuzzidijoncanalcodetenniseuros
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 640 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We came here the end of August for the golf, gastronomy and castle experience. We were thoroughly enchanted! Having booked directly through the hotel (package golf deal on their internet site, then phone), we were awarded an upgrade upon arrival.. Very nice large room, but the pillow cases (for my husband), not soft enough.. Also, we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and some coffee Nescafè capsules and tea. When asked for more coffee, it was to be charged. For such a daily price, this is a bit ridiculous.
But in general, all was fine. The personnel were excellent, very accomodating and friendly. I had left somes clothes there and they were promptly sent back to me.
The dinners were very good and the wine selection excellent (many "on guard" bottles.)
The breakfast buffet was good but disappointed in only eggs soft boiled style.
We found the golf course excellent, the swimming pool nice and the indoor spa quite good. Unfortunately the hamman wasn't working correctly at that time.
The lounges were very pleasant and we were the only ones at times to use the billards and darts (free).
The Castle is in a little residential village but there are some interesting sites and parks in the vicinity.
I would basically recommend this as a stopover place or for the golf.
It was a real chateau life for a few days and definitely worth every Euro.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocaloda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Stayed in this beautiful chateau after a week long do-it-yourself river barge cruise on the Saone River. This was the luxury part of our vacation after roughing it on the river. The room was very comfortable with modern plumbing and amenities. We ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel but ventured out for dinner after deciding that the restaurant in the property was not to our liking. The front desk arranged for us to be picked up and taken to a lovely restaurant in a village about 20 minutes away. Bikes were provided for exploring the area if you are so inclined. We rented clubs and had a fun time on a beautiful course even with a stone wall running down the middle of some holes. You couldn't ask for a more scenic course.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shereed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

We just came back from a long weekend at the Chateau de Chailly where we met some friends from Geneva and played golf. The Chateau is nicely located about 4km from the autoroute exit at Pouilly en Auxois, about 40 minutes from Beaune or Dijon and would make a great stopover if you were driving either north or south on the A6.
The chateau has been really nicely restored and the rooms are very clean and quite big. Bathroom was great, with heated towel rail. Since it was April we didn't need the AC but it was available if we had. The staff were excellent and seem to work well together as a team. We were at lunch one day when a waiter told us that we could tee offf any time we liked instead of waiting for our fixed tee time. How about that for communication! The Golf Club had called the restaurant to tell them to tell us.
The breakfasts were terrific. A lovely lady was in charge of the restaurant and there was a good choice of hot and cold items with fresh fruit, superb yoghurts and even eggs and bacon! The lunch was buffet-style but you could order hot main courses. The only meal I didn't like was dinner. The Chef seems to have a problem cooking any dish without overly complicating it by adding "abats" - offal. I would have prefered a more simple approach.
The golf course is challenging - there is a lot of water, and last weekend there was even more since it rained non-stop and all the streams were flooding. It is also quite a new course and will be prettier once the trees etc have grown a bit.
Contrary to what another reviewer said, there are a lot of restaurants in the immediate area, and it is easy to drive to and from if you don't want to face the menu at the chateau!! We had a very decent meal in Pouilly at the Commerce restaurant on the Sunday night for 85 Euros for 2, including wine. There are quite a selection of places to eat in Pouilly, and in nearby Chateauneuf, plus in other surrounding villages. The receptionist at the chateau has a fat file on local restaurants and if you don't speak French will make a reservation for you.
Overall a nice place, if a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hambagahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Chateau de Chailly-It is a grand looking Baronial -manor and imposing on arrival. We stayed two nights in early october 2006 and were disappointed. Whilst the room and bathroom were surprisingly large and modern, the portable air-con was noisy. The breakfast was mediocre and the restaurant food was simply awful. We had sea-food both nights and found it almost inedible. Remember the hotel is way out in the country-side 25 miles out of Dijon -a nice town to visit- so there is little alternative for food. The building is grand and the golf course looks good and the pool is big,but closed when we stayed. On our 3 week private trip by car through France,this hotel was the only real let-down.Would only recommend for golfers or a group who could make their own eating arrangements elsewhere .The bar was large and comfortable.

Stayed: September 2006
3  Thank Grater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2003

Chateau de Chailly 50 km from Beaune in Burgundy claim to offer top accomodation, dining and golf. The price/performance of the place is not good. Rooms are spacey, with nice bathrooms, but have only low price air conditioning, so noisy it can not be on during nights. Dining is good, but very pricy, ranging from 60 Euro for a normal 4 course dinner to 120 Euro for a Deluxe meal. The golfcourse is nice, but not spectacular. It was a major disappointment that the fairways were totally burnt down and brown in colour. This was because of the draught this year in Burgundy (and they are not allowed to irrigate). However, no mention of this state of the course is found on the website (all pictures there are of a lush, green course). Staff is impersonally courteous, but does not take kindly to criticism. Overall, a typical French experience: Overpromise - Underdeliver.

10  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews