We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, ok for organised tours, otherwise not recommended”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jenbacherhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jenbacherhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenbach
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average hotel, ok for organised tours, otherwise not recommended”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in the hotel in June with a Great Rail Journeys (GRJ) party. The hotel is located a little up the hill by a stream and it is a 10-15 min walk from the station. This is a bit of a slog in hot weather, although a taxi can be taken for a few euros. The town of Jenbach is disappointing with a couple of supermarkets, a few basic shops and one or two restaurants but we failed to find a cafe other than the one at the station. However Jenbach is a good base for exploring the Tryol, which is why GRJ use it. There are mainline trains East & West plus a mountain steam railway to Achensee and the narrow gauge Zillertal railway to Mayrhofen. There is an excellent outdoor lido with 4 pools of varying sizes.

Our review of the hotel is mixed. It comprises 2 blocks in an L shape which are joined by a internal bridge on the first floor. We paid extra for a balcony but were disappointed to find there was no view because it was at the back of the extension and faced the valley side There were trees at the back that made our room quite dark. We spoke to a late booker who was given a front room with a balcony at no extra cost – no idea if this was down to the hotel or GRJ but pretty annoying. The room itself with quite large and well furnished including a sofa and easy chair. The bathroom was fine and everything was very clean, with towels changed nearly every day. There was a safe but no aircon, no fridge and wifi access was chargeable at 10 eur per device (not per room). There is a small lounge and bar but this was only open when the evening meal was being served. There was no computer that guests could use for internet access. The hotel does have a 10m pool and sauna on the top floor.

The food was reasonable but nothing special. There was a good selection of things for breakfast and dinner which had 4 courses with a starter, soup, main & dessert and was served by the staff. The only choice was from 3 things for the main course, which we had to nominate in the morning each day. Many people declined the starter as they didn't want to eat too much. Water was provided on the tables. The staff were efficient at serving a large number of meals at the same time but were a little abrupt at times (I don't agree with other reviewers who say the staff are rude, they just don't have any time for the niceties).

The main negative is that the hotel does not provide any sort of experience for people on holiday. The public areas are locked up for most of the day so you cannot get a coffee or a beer or use the lounge (and you struggle to get anything in the village). People in our party said that there were often no staff on duty apart from the cleaners (who by the way were very pleasant and spoke to you). There was absolutely no information in the room about the hotel, the town or the area. You could stay at the hotel and not realise that it had a swimming pool! Also there were no signs with emergency instructions in the rooms, although it had fire doors and marked emergency exits. Maybe Austrian regulations are different to British?

To conclude, this hotel is ok if staying as part of a group like GRJ but I would not recommend it to independent travellers. It is fine as a base for a group with organised days and a Tour Manager but a solo guests would be very much on their own. A little bit of effort on the part of the owners could it improve no end.

Finally I can recommend the KZ restaurant just up the hill behind the hotel as a place to eat. Our party of 27 had an excellent meal there on the night when the hotel kitchen was closed. We booked in advance but a small party should not need to.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony at the front of the main hotel or extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTerrys86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    24
    26
    13
See reviews for
15
40
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

On first arrival Hotel Jenbacherof is impressive but after a few days you begin to realize that this 'family run' hotel is operating for the benefit of the family and not the paying guests. It is large and surrounded by the beautiful Austrian Alps but even the local Spar shop can claim this.

The problem with this hotel is that it does not seem to want to fully accommodate it's guests, as other reviewers have pointed out, it is run like a hostel (but of course at expensive hotel prices). The rooms seem nice at first but then you realize they lack the basics that you need if you are staying for more than a few days.

There is no air conditioning which is essential as the weather in Summer can be very hot and humid).Also there is no opportunity to get any portable fans from the hotel. If you wanted to keep a cool drink in your room, forget it, there are no mini bar style fridges. Also if you needed to get something from the bar you won't be able to do that after 10pm because the entire complex closes down, you will be locked in (or out) and even though there is a system to let yourself in by another entrance,this like many other things is not communicated. Because there is no-one to communicate with! The family only return in the morning to serve breakfast, do admin and get ready for dinner later in the evening.

The food is basic,and served in the brisk manner of a group of dinner ladies in local folk costume and that old trick of making things so salty that you spend more money at the bar (while it's open) really does apply here. I witnessed along with other guests family squabbles and there is absolutely no attempt at all for any false appreciation that you have chosen to stay there.

I would say there is a feeling of contempt for the guests. Thats what it felt like to me and my party anyway. You are not allowed to use the hotel lounge in daytime hours and there is absolutely no information for the tourist or traveler apart from a map of the village. And there really isn't much in the village anyway.

For those seeking further reassurance there isn't much in the way of fire safety either. Because the doors are locked at night and the staff/family are elsewhere hopefully no-one will get to find out if the limited fire instructions and hidden fire extinguishers (behind plastic trees in the hall stairwell) would be of any use.

Seriously this hotel was a major disappointment and until someone makes this family get their act together best to avoid.

For tour operators forget Jenbach, nothing for tourists to see here.Be more imaginative and give your customers some real sense of Tyrolean hospitality in one of the many other (far prettier)towns and villages in the nearby area.

Apologies for the negativity but I feel it best to warn you before you find out for yourself.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony and split your trip by staying in another hotel in another town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AGilliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Othmar G, Owner at Jenbacherhof, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Hr. Gilliver.

So wie die meisten Hoteliers, nicht nur in Österreich sondern auf der ganzen Welt, haben wir damit aufgehört auf solche subjektiven Unwahrheiten zu reagieren geschweige darauf zu antworten. In Ihrem Fall müssen wir jedoch eine Ausnahme machen denn was Sie geschrieben haben grenzt an Rufschädigung und so etwas können wir nicht einfach auf uns sitzen lassen.
Der Grund meiner Antwort an Sie sind Ihre Aussagen bezüglich der Sicherheit in unserem Hotel. Unser Hotel ist mit einer der modernsten Brandmeldevorrichtungen ausgestattet welche Rauchsensoren in jedem Zimmer sowie Hallenbad und Restaurant beinhaltet. Weiters befinden sich in jedem Hotelkorridor mehrere automatische Brandschutztüren und die Fluchtwege sind in jedem Zimmer, individuell der Lage des Zimmers im Hotel angepasst, gut ersichtlich ausgeschildert. Sämtliche Eingangstüren öffnen sich im Falle eines Alarms automatisch und verfügen sogar über Notstrom Akkus welche im Falle eines Stromausfalles eingreifen. Natürlich wird dieses gesamte System vom TÜV Österreich jährlich geprüft wie es gesetzlich vorgeschrieben ist und auf seine einwandfreie Funktion getestet.
Abschließend möchte ich noch sagen, dass unqualifizierte Personen welche mit solchen komplexen Systemen keine Ahnung haben generell keine Aussagen dahingehend tätigen sollten, da nur unbegründete Panik hervorgerufen wird.

Othmar Gruber
Hotel Jenbacherhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jenbach hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Midhurst
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here for a week from 4th June 2014 as part of a Great Rail Journeys Group on a tour called Railways of the Austrian Tyrol, paid extra for a room with a balcony and were pleased we did, after comments from other members of the group who did not upgrade. Nice room, but no coffee or tea facilities in the room, we had a safe which was at ground level, with the instructions for use at the very bottom of safe door, which meant to be able to activate you had lie on the floor, not so easy when you are approaching 75. There was no information regarding the working of the TV and the WiFi was a joke, we paid 10 euros for the login and password, but we both had a I-Pad it meant another 10 euros to connect the second, what a rip off. There was no A/C and the temperatures were in the high 30's for most of our visit, most uncomfortable at night.
We had a couple of free days when we were at our leisure, but we found that the Reception area was closed from just after 10am until around 4pm, what hotel has no reception available during these times, one of our group who was not in the first flush of youth was refused admission when he had forgotten something from his room and was diverted to the tradesman's entrance and not too politely.
We were advised on the Friday night that a local band was playing just up the road and the music would last till about 10.30 and our support would be welcome, we went and came back to the Hotel at around 9.45 and it was all locked for the night and we had again to use the alternative way in. The management were aware of where the whole group had gone, in fact they recommended it, and then they locked us out.
Now to the food, the breakfast was bland, no variation at all same thing every morning, the dinners were a little better, but we had to select our meal the night before, couldn't believe it and also there were only 2 alternatives or a veggie dish. The starters were all the same, like it or leave it, followed by soup, main course and sweet(again no choice) followed by tea or coffee.
There was no lounge as such, the service from the bar was terrible, they wanted us to all eat at 7pm but very often no one to serve at the bar at this time, we gave up in the end and went to a restaurant behind the hotel for an after dinner drink. We ate at this restaurant on our non hotel dinner days, and they were the 2 best evening meals we had.
We felt for what we had paid, it was a great let down, it was our first rail holiday and probably our last, the hotel did not live up to our expectations and certainly not as described in the brochure, our tour manager did his best but he was fighting a losing battle. I have worked in Hospitality for a family owned Hotel Chain, albeit in a financial capacity and am sure that they would not leave the reception area unmanned during the day, and there was always a night porter on duty.

Room Tip: Upgrade to balcony, at least you have a view, and bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJP70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is very nice. The room has balcony. But, there are no free wifi in room and all area, no refrigerator in room. The reception close between 10.00pm-7.00am. Afterthat we need to use beside door to go out. Breakfast is just ok, not much variety to select.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozy1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I arrived just after 8pm to claim my reservation. On reaching the room, I tried to ring down to ask for the wifi code. No answer. I went downstairs - reception was shut and in darkness and the front door locked - well before 20.30. The entire place is unstaffed al night (unless, presumably, a group like GRJ are in?).

Quite apart from the risk of burning alive, how many times do card keys fail to work? Fairly often, in my experience. If the Jenbacherof key fails to open the night door you are on your own, in the street for the night! If it fails to open your room, sleep in the corridor - there is no alternative!

The Austrian authorities should close this place down. Probably the owner is on the local council!

Tony (in a restaurant up the hill).

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyfromExmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip in March 2014; arriving late. The reception area was supposed to have already closed, so I was given a code to enter the building. This worked like a charm.

The room was very spacious, the furniture modern but still with an Austrian charm. I had shared access to a balcony with the room next door (occupied by my colleague), and all windows were properly shaded.

The bed was very comfortable - a bit low in a futon style, but good. There were a few tiny tears in the bed sheet, but nothing to really complain or worry about.

The bathroom was also well kept with a deep bathtub. Water pressure and hot/cold very good and an adjustable shower head made my life easy.

Downside: There is no fridge in the room, nor any climate control (other than opening the windows). Also there is no phone information in the room, i.e. trying to receive a phone call after reception has closed isn't possible.

The location is very convenient in a central location of Jenbach. It was actually less than 5 minutes from I had to go, so plus points for that.

Waking up was interesting - at 6am the church bells start and last about 10 minutes, common in the area but slightly on the annoying side if you are still asleep. Closed the windows and the noise level was fine (although the room temperature went up).

Breakfast was very good, the usual scrambled eggs and bacon, but also a healthy menu from Muesli through fruits, breads, coldcuts, eggs, etc.

The personnel is very nice and helpful; I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in Jenbach (Achensee isn't too far away either for hiking, wandering, cross-country skiing, etc.). This is a hotel I would use for both business and vacation, and have also been here multiple times before and have yet to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any elevated floor is good. Church bells are loud if the windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Mark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Travelled with GRJ at the beginning of Feb 2014, another brilliant organised trip, hats off to Alan (our tour guide) for his guidance and support. Splendid hotel, people have mentioned paying for a balcony however when we arrived we had a room with a balcony anyway which was a pleasant surprise. The room was spacious and furnished well. The service we received was excellent, and there was something for everyone at the evening meal. On our 'free' day the hotel said they would do a 5 course meal for us if there was at least 20 people for just 16 euros each, which was excellent value! They served us salmon but due to dietary requirements I cannot eat salmon, the staff said that was no problem and came back with an alternative, very efficiently! We also used the swimming pool and the sauna, there is also a steam room and an infra-red room however we didn't use these. This area was kept clean and tidy. Overall we had a wonderful time, GRJ never fail to please us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeR1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenbach
2.2 mi away
Gasthof Hotel Post
Gasthof Hotel Post
#1 of 2 in Strass im Zillertal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Esterhammer
Hotel Gasthof Esterhammer
#1 of 1 in Buch in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#3 of 9 in Maurach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Alpenrose
Alpenrose
#2 of 9 in Maurach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gasthof Einhorn Schaller
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzbrunn
Hotel Schwarzbrunn
#1 of 2 in Stans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenbacherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenbacherhof

Property: Jenbacherhof
Address: Postgasse 22, Jenbach 6200, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Jenbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jenbacherhof 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jenbacherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenbacherhof Hotel Buch In Tirol
Jenbacherhof Buch Bei Jenbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing