We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but not much else to recommend it”
Review of Jenbacherhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jenbacherhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenbach
Midhurst
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice room, but not much else to recommend it”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here for a week from 4th June 2014 as part of a Great Rail Journeys Group on a tour called Railways of the Austrian Tyrol, paid extra for a room with a balcony and were pleased we did, after comments from other members of the group who did not upgrade. Nice room, but no coffee or tea facilities in the room, we had a safe which was at ground level, with the instructions for use at the very bottom of safe door, which meant to be able to activate you had lie on the floor, not so easy when you are approaching 75. There was no information regarding the working of the TV and the WiFi was a joke, we paid 10 euros for the login and password, but we both had a I-Pad it meant another 10 euros to connect the second, what a rip off. There was no A/C and the temperatures were in the high 30's for most of our visit, most uncomfortable at night.
We had a couple of free days when we were at our leisure, but we found that the Reception area was closed from just after 10am until around 4pm, what hotel has no reception available during these times, one of our group who was not in the first flush of youth was refused admission when he had forgotten something from his room and was diverted to the tradesman's entrance and not too politely.
We were advised on the Friday night that a local band was playing just up the road and the music would last till about 10.30 and our support would be welcome, we went and came back to the Hotel at around 9.45 and it was all locked for the night and we had again to use the alternative way in. The management were aware of where the whole group had gone, in fact they recommended it, and then they locked us out.
Now to the food, the breakfast was bland, no variation at all same thing every morning, the dinners were a little better, but we had to select our meal the night before, couldn't believe it and also there were only 2 alternatives or a veggie dish. The starters were all the same, like it or leave it, followed by soup, main course and sweet(again no choice) followed by tea or coffee.
There was no lounge as such, the service from the bar was terrible, they wanted us to all eat at 7pm but very often no one to serve at the bar at this time, we gave up in the end and went to a restaurant behind the hotel for an after dinner drink. We ate at this restaurant on our non hotel dinner days, and they were the 2 best evening meals we had.
We felt for what we had paid, it was a great let down, it was our first rail holiday and probably our last, the hotel did not live up to our expectations and certainly not as described in the brochure, our tour manager did his best but he was fighting a losing battle. I have worked in Hospitality for a family owned Hotel Chain, albeit in a financial capacity and am sure that they would not leave the reception area unmanned during the day, and there was always a night porter on duty.

Room Tip: Upgrade to balcony, at least you have a view, and bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJP70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    24
    27
    13
See reviews for
15
41
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is very nice. The room has balcony. But, there are no free wifi in room and all area, no refrigerator in room. The reception close between 10.00pm-7.00am. Afterthat we need to use beside door to go out. Breakfast is just ok, not much variety to select.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozy1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I arrived just after 8pm to claim my reservation. On reaching the room, I tried to ring down to ask for the wifi code. No answer. I went downstairs - reception was shut and in darkness and the front door locked - well before 20.30. The entire place is unstaffed al night (unless, presumably, a group like GRJ are in?).

Quite apart from the risk of burning alive, how many times do card keys fail to work? Fairly often, in my experience. If the Jenbacherof key fails to open the night door you are on your own, in the street for the night! If it fails to open your room, sleep in the corridor - there is no alternative!

The Austrian authorities should close this place down. Probably the owner is on the local council!

Tony (in a restaurant up the hill).

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyfromExmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jenbach hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip in March 2014; arriving late. The reception area was supposed to have already closed, so I was given a code to enter the building. This worked like a charm.

The room was very spacious, the furniture modern but still with an Austrian charm. I had shared access to a balcony with the room next door (occupied by my colleague), and all windows were properly shaded.

The bed was very comfortable - a bit low in a futon style, but good. There were a few tiny tears in the bed sheet, but nothing to really complain or worry about.

The bathroom was also well kept with a deep bathtub. Water pressure and hot/cold very good and an adjustable shower head made my life easy.

Downside: There is no fridge in the room, nor any climate control (other than opening the windows). Also there is no phone information in the room, i.e. trying to receive a phone call after reception has closed isn't possible.

The location is very convenient in a central location of Jenbach. It was actually less than 5 minutes from I had to go, so plus points for that.

Waking up was interesting - at 6am the church bells start and last about 10 minutes, common in the area but slightly on the annoying side if you are still asleep. Closed the windows and the noise level was fine (although the room temperature went up).

Breakfast was very good, the usual scrambled eggs and bacon, but also a healthy menu from Muesli through fruits, breads, coldcuts, eggs, etc.

The personnel is very nice and helpful; I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in Jenbach (Achensee isn't too far away either for hiking, wandering, cross-country skiing, etc.). This is a hotel I would use for both business and vacation, and have also been here multiple times before and have yet to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any elevated floor is good. Church bells are loud if the windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Mark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Travelled with GRJ at the beginning of Feb 2014, another brilliant organised trip, hats off to Alan (our tour guide) for his guidance and support. Splendid hotel, people have mentioned paying for a balcony however when we arrived we had a room with a balcony anyway which was a pleasant surprise. The room was spacious and furnished well. The service we received was excellent, and there was something for everyone at the evening meal. On our 'free' day the hotel said they would do a 5 course meal for us if there was at least 20 people for just 16 euros each, which was excellent value! They served us salmon but due to dietary requirements I cannot eat salmon, the staff said that was no problem and came back with an alternative, very efficiently! We also used the swimming pool and the sauna, there is also a steam room and an infra-red room however we didn't use these. This area was kept clean and tidy. Overall we had a wonderful time, GRJ never fail to please us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeR1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Like many previous reviewers we stayed here with GRJ. Our room was large, very well furnished and comfortable. Breakfast was fine and the dinners were excellent and varied, with free water provided on the table and the service was friendly and efficient, both in the restaurant and at reception. As there is no porter service an entry without steps when arriving and leaving with cases would make the hotel appear more welcoming on arrival.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

It is easy to see why this has been a firm favourite for GRJ for a number of years as it is much more than just an acceptable place to stay.

I had booked a superior single room and the situation on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel was perfect. I had a view down one of the main streets which had little through traffic due to Jenbach being quite a small town . I could also look up at the mountains and had a lovely view of the illuminated Christmas tree.

I was aware of the church bells on the first few mornings but the bed was so comfortable I was totally unaware of them after the few days.

The food was very good with a variety of food served over the 8 day stay. Having to make a choice the night before caused no problems at all for me. The soups particular were always tasty. A major plus was the fact that the food was always served piping hot. This cannot be served of a number of hotels which serve a buffet at night.

At midnight on Hogmany the hotel put on a really excellent firework display which was far better than I had expected. The glass of. Had page served during the meal was much appreciated.

I am sure that GRJ will continue using this hotel if they keep up this quality.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dougal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenbach
2.2 mi away
Gasthof Hotel Post
Gasthof Hotel Post
#1 of 2 in Strass im Zillertal
48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Esterhammer
Hotel Gasthof Esterhammer
#1 of 1 in Buch in Tirol
39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzbrunn
Hotel Schwarzbrunn
#1 of 2 in Stans
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Alpenrose
Alpenrose
#2 of 9 in Maurach
203 reviews
4.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel der Wiesenhof
3.4 mi away
Kinderhotel Buchau
Kinderhotel Buchau
#1 of 9 in Maurach
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenbacherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenbacherhof

Property: Jenbacherhof
Address: Postgasse 22, Jenbach 6200, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Jenbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jenbacherhof 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jenbacherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenbacherhof Hotel Buch In Tirol
Jenbacherhof Buch Bei Jenbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing