We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”
Review of Jenbacherhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jenbacherhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenbach
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It is easy to see why this has been a firm favourite for GRJ for a number of years as it is much more than just an acceptable place to stay.

I had booked a superior single room and the situation on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel was perfect. I had a view down one of the main streets which had little through traffic due to Jenbach being quite a small town . I could also look up at the mountains and had a lovely view of the illuminated Christmas tree.

I was aware of the church bells on the first few mornings but the bed was so comfortable I was totally unaware of them after the few days.

The food was very good with a variety of food served over the 8 day stay. Having to make a choice the night before caused no problems at all for me. The soups particular were always tasty. A major plus was the fact that the food was always served piping hot. This cannot be served of a number of hotels which serve a buffet at night.

At midnight on Hogmany the hotel put on a really excellent firework display which was far better than I had expected. The glass of. Had page served during the meal was much appreciated.

I am sure that GRJ will continue using this hotel if they keep up this quality.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank dougal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 150 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Christmas in the Tirol with GRJ with some of the other reviewers. Really well furnished large rooms. Beds very comfortable and rooms serviced every day to a high standard. Food was good and varied from day to day (would have been nice to have a choice of desserts). I would have rated this as 5* but for some little niggles - pay for WiFi per device, drinks expensive, reception not open for several hours during the day - and for our particular room the 'free' safe did not work the whole time we were there despite reporting it many times, and the shower screen would not stay in place. Just as well that we had organised tours every day because there is not a lot to do in Jenbach.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty well furnished and a good size so there doesn't seem to be much to choose b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrysafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent the Christmas holiday with Great Rail Journeys in this hotel which is well furnished and overall we had a peasant stay. Our bedroom was spacious and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the courtyard and illuminated giant Christmas tree. We were allocated group tables in the dining room but were free to move around tables in order to dine with different people if desired. Dinners consisted of four courses, five on Christmas day, menu choices had to be decided the previous day which was not a problem for us.
Best meal for me being venison on Christmas day with a rich sauce a nice touch being champagne served mid-meal.
Breakfasts were fine, staff kept supplies topped up on a continuous basis, there was a good
selection of continental breakfast fare supplemented by scrambled or boiled eggs and bacon.
Bar service was efficient and the waiting staff were friendly and speedy.
We enjoyed the use of the swimming pool complex with great views of the snow capped mountains from the sunbeds.
We slept soundly each night in comfortable bedding usually awakened by the church bell chimes.
Efforts had been made to satisfy previous TripAdvisor cribs in that bottled water was provided free at each meal and fresh fruit available at each breakfast.
This was our first Christmas away from home and this family run 3 star hotel did not disappoint
we were not expecting 5 star facilities .

Room Tip: Worth the extra to book the suite bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vuepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days as part of a GRJ holiday. The rooms are well furnished with a sofa as well as a chair and a TV. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff on the whole were extremely helpful. The food was good and we had bottled water on our table. Wine and drinks were expensive but they have to make a profit. The hotel was very clean . The only fault was that their bar/ lounge was not adequate for the amount of people staying there but the rooms were more than adequate.
There is a restaurant behind the hotel which serves excellent meals. The portions are very large.
The steam train trips and a walk to the local schloss are well worth investigating.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Jenbach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We came here with GRJ for a, in many ways, excellent holiday. Hotel seems to have a need to make money, the beer isnt cheap, the bottled water expensive as they wont serve tap water, and the use of WiFi for £10 unusually excessive in this day and age for this class of hotel. (High star rated city centre hotel give it free)
That said, you will love the mile long walk from the station up hill, the room was wonderful, the four course dinner great and the somewhat repetitive breakfast first class ( but what else can you do with cerial,peaches,yoghurt,egg,bacon,rolls, etc?)
The younger staff are very helpful, the older (presumably owner) less so. Remember to ASK FOR the 10% discount voucher for local attractions and find out about the free local bus service.
If you want a change there is a chinese close by ( we rated it middling!) and an odly located restaurant about 75 yards away down hill between streets, and this was really good except for the service level which was nowhere near up to the hotel's standard.(But go there is well worth it - odd they will not allow you to share a meal, so come prepared with a doggy bag!)
Things to do are TWO steam railways - Oh! back down the hill again to the station!

I doubt if you will find anything better in town

Michael

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pronto1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are a mature couple and stayed in this hotel two nights in July 2013. Jenbacherhof is a wonderful hotel in quiet town Jenbach. It is very comfortable and has all you need to relax and enjoy your stay. It has beautiful interior design, very well equipped and maintained. The room and other hotels spaces are very clean and look luxury. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast included and it was tasty with the selection of eggs (scrambled and boiled), bacon, several kinds of hams and cheese, yogurts, mueslis, jams, fruits and very fresh and tasty bakery. We did not use swimming pool and spa, so I can’t say anything about them. I hope they are as good as the rest of the hotel. The hotel has a little number of parking spaces near it, but it does not seem to be a problem, since there is a public parking 30 meters from the hotel, where you can leave the car for the night until quite late hours, like 9:30 a.m. for free. There is a small mountains river flowing right near the hotel’s wall. The noise of the streaming water is the only noise you hear, while sitting on the room’s small balcony, decorated with beautiful flowers. The noise of water is not disturbing, but rather relaxing and adds charm to the place. We really enjoyed this hotel and would definitely stay there again. It is a very good value for your money.

Room Tip: We had a superior double room with balcony on the front side of the hotel and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Well, you will not like having to buy water with your evening meal. And it would be nice to have tea making in your room. Aside from that, you'll have job to beat this family-run hotel. The decor is immaculate, our upgraded balcony suite was superb, food was fine and we found the staff to be extremely friendly. All it takes is to be friendly to them and it will be reciprocated. The pool was fantastic for a town centre hotel. Those with walking problems will need a taxi to get up the hill from the station, although GRJ provide a coach when you arrive with luggage and finally leave. Otherwise, you get fit climbing the short but steadily uphill route to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our bacony suite led out to a communal paved area with our own table and chairs, a grassed area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenbach
2.2 mi away
Gasthof Hotel Post
Gasthof Hotel Post
#1 of 2 in Strass im Zillertal
60 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Klingler
Hotel Klingler
#4 of 9 in Maurach
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gasthof Rieder
Gasthof Rieder
#1 of 1 in Jenbach
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenbacherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenbacherhof

Address: Postgasse 22, Jenbach 6200, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Jenbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenbach
Price Range: $122 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jenbacherhof 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jenbacherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenbacherhof Hotel Buch In Tirol
Jenbacherhof Buch Bei Jenbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing