We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Exhibit that really makes you appreciate the challenges of war”

Pegasus Memorial (Memorial Pegasus)
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Ranville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A memorial to the first British soldiers to arrive in Normandy who captured the Pegasus Bridge from the Nazis.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent Exhibit that really makes you appreciate the challenges of war”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is one of those excellent exhibits that you go in thinking its only about a small part of WWII, and you come out realising what a crucial part it played in winning the war. The exhibits explain some many elements of what the airbourne brigade had to achieve to allow the D-Day landings to take place and how they were planned and achieved. The talk from the very passionate young lady was emotional and obviously given from the heart. Well done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Foody4Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    131
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Museum”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've been on holiday to this area of France many times, but this is the first time I've actually been into the memorial museum. I was not disappointed. I was fascinated by every aspect of the D-Day landings since I was a small child, and this museum explained, and showed examples of bravery and dignity that has rarely been seen since that day. I loved the examples of 11 men and their part, a Dutch man, and 10 English men, what they did, how they managed, and what they look like now. I remember when the Original Pegasus Bridge was not part of the memorial, and it was just left on the land next to the new one. I was very pleased to be able to walk on it and imagine what those brave men were feeling at the time they first walked on it. The other thing that tickled me was the display of the Bailey Bridges, and the history behind them. In 1941, Hitler sent a Christmas card to Donald Bailey (the inventor of the bridge) thanking him for his bridges, as it made it easier for his soldiers to get around in France. Cheek! Well worth the admission fee!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseAbbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

On our 2 week camping holiday we spent a couple of hours at this moving museum dedicated to a small group of unbelievably brave men who were instrumental in helping the success of the D day landings. They glided in during the night to surprise the Germans and the precision of the flying was amazing. The story and exhibits were brilliant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“superb.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

amazing tour. video in french only though which is odd

the cafe 'first liberated' a bit pricey mind. the old bridge is fantstaic as well as the moving photos inside. the gliders and planes both good as well as the mocvk ups

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_dixie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic tour and the highlight was the walk along the original bridge and to see the bullet holes in the metalwork was very surreal also the glider was a thrill to see ,the tour girl was very good and new her stuff this was well worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank catweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pegasus Memorial (Memorial Pegasus) also viewed

 
Courseulles-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Pegasus Memorial (Memorial Pegasus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing