We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed a piece of history”
Review of Pegasus Bridge

Pegasus Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.22*
and up
Half-Day Tour to British D-Day Beaches Including the Sword Beach Sector from...
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Ranville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A recreation of the original bridge captured by the British from the Nazis towards the end of World War II, located on the grounds of the Pegasus Memorial.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed a piece of history”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

On the night of 5th June 1944 This important Bridge was captured and held by men of the 9th Parachute Battallion. It is relived in the film 'The Longest Day' which bye and large is extreme accurate. The original bridge now rests i n the adjacent Pegasus Memorial Museum only 100 metres away. Cafe Gondree is a must to visit, Madame Gondrees daughter Arlette was four in June 1944 and she lovingly runs the living museum that is Cafe Gondree.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rugby6603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    176
    23
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Pegasus cafe”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited Pegasus Bridge this year 2013 in August and paid a visit to the Pegasus café. I introduced myself to Madame Gondree who was most hospitable and showed me many mementoes of the bridge. We also had lunch with her in the restaurant.
She was most welcoming and it was an ambition fulfilled for me to visit and meet with her. I must add that it is madam Gondree the daughter as her mother passed away many years ago.
A chance not to be missed if you get one, best wishes Seymour Myers

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seymour M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to visit.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent! One of the best places I have visited in a long time, the displays are excellent and it really brings home just how close they got to the bridge! A definite must to anyone's itinery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bitza09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comet, Qld
Level Contributor
261 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great displays”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were soooo jet lagged on our first day in France so chose only one spot to visit and this was it. We weren't disappointed. The museum and displays are excellent. We could easily have spent longer and will go back if/when we are in the area again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lest we forget”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A selection of open air memorials located next to the new Pegasus Bridge show the commitment and sacrifice from the brave men who were the first to land in occupied France on D Day.
The most remarkable facet is the location of how close to the bridge Major John Howard's glider landed; there is a memorial stone to this and can be no more than 20 yards from the bridge!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andywilson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pegasus Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Pegasus Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing