We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
214
11
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
214
11
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby sloths rescue ranch costa rica san jose her husband private tour wild animals guest house amazing place the owner an amazing job hour tour fell in love take care love animals personal tour once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 229 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Wow. This is an amazing place. I wasn’t sure what to expect but could not be more thrilled that we made it here. We booked the slothies and coffees tour and it was so interesting. Javier is the biologist who led our tour, he is an encyclopedia of information about Costa Rica and its animals. The people who work and volunteer here are enormously compassionate and professional. They allow guests enough proximity to the animals to gain understanding and get excited about their work, but don’t allow anything that would cause them stress (no touching, quiet areas maintained around animals who have been traumatized). Slothies and coffees starts with juvenile sloths being brought out to use their climbing frame, enabling a close up view as you learn some very unexpected facts about these really compelling animals. We saw many many sloths from babies to adults. There are also many other animals including of course toucans, other birds, monkeys, cats, an otter, etc. I believe a baby anteater had arrived quite recently. The tour included a detailed walk around the property to learn about its inhabitants and their stories, more about animal care and release programs and how the ranch was founded and grew. This is a great place for people who love or are curious about animals to see how a truly professional rescue works.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank C2009LGlorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

We were fortunate to be able to visit this wonderful centre. We were impressed by the work being done here to rehabilitate and release as many of the animals and birds as possible. Where they cannot be released, they are well looked after. The cuteness factor of the young sloths cannot be overstated!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank TwoAussieWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

An unforgettable visit to the Toucan Rescue Ranch where they care for, rehabilitate and release national wildlife, such as birds, monkeys and sloths. The focus is on rehabilitation and release, however, some of the residents are so traumatized and have permanent disabilities that they will live here permanently. The work this team of people does is incredible.

I booked the Slothies and Coffees tour which was amazing. Xavier was a friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable guide. Also got to meet the sloth nanny who is devoted to the wellbeing of the little babies. An amazing lady. There were lots of babies to look at and they were so adorable.

The rescue ranch is about 30 minutes outside of San Jose. I took an Uber there and back. They have Wi-Fi there too.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank LindsCC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

I went on the ‘Slothies and Coffees’ tour this morning and it was truly fantastic. The rescue ranch takes in lots of orphaned and injured wildlife with the aim of rehabilitating them and releasing back into the wild. The chance to see baby sloths so close was magical.
There is a variety of other wildlife at the ranch including Toucans, owls, birds of prey, porcupines, small wild cats etc - the ones kept here are those not suitable for release into the wild and you are taken round to see them in a small group with informative guides. I learned a lot about a variety of wildlife today.
This is a great place with wonderful staff - a must do if you are in/near San Jose! I took an Uber from San Jose and it is a great way to get there if you don’t have a car yourself. Please go and support TRR (and have a wonderful morning mesmerised by the animals as you do so!)

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank peppyc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

The evolution of this place is fascinating. They began as a toucan rescue but have since taken on the duties of caring for (and releasing) a whole host of wild Costa Rican animals including sloths, ocelots, owls, otters, falcons, and many other species of birds. Our guide, Andy, has a background in paleontology and the way that he was able to discuss the evolution of different animals, as well as amazing facts about them, just blew our minds (2 adults plus a 7-year-old). This place is absolutely worth a visit. It's an intimate place with a great mission run by knowledgeable caring staff. Absolutely worth the trip!!

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank JenMB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews