We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
7
7
2
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
7
7
2
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock pools hiking trails well stocked shop bring your own braai grid camping tent essentials trees spot dogs swim
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2019

I booked a cottage at Beaverlac for the weekend of my husbands birthday. After phoning them, they required me to register onsite, i did that. Then they wanted me to book online, i did that and even received a confirmation message. Only to hear a few days later that my booking was given to someone else. Very poor admin, as apparently the emails and phone calls does not go to the same person?? Im so unhappy and would probably never book there again. Utterly dissapointed

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LorraineRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019

We Camped at this campsite. It was an amazing experience swimming in the one of the many rock pool and then hiking 10 kilometers up to the top of the mountain the mountain had suprisingly big water falls. Being at the top of the mountain was a great experience. They also have a shop that you can buy everything you need from beers and sweets to wood and fire starters. It was also nice to see the rock pools fill up each day. The Service was also amazing. The people where kind and the campsite was very clean. You need to bring your own Braai Grid. For the price it is very good.

Room tip: Choose Rooms near Bathroom.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FARM_L0VER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019

Camped there 4 years ago at the same time of year (between Christmas and new year) and loved it - true rustic campsite with beautiful surroundings. Don't mind the fact that the showers does not always have hot water, roads are bad and that there is no electricity as this is my kind of camping. Can even accept the extremely complicated booking system as this is meant to keep it rustic

Was however very disappointed this time around (Dec 2018) purely because the camping grounds has been expanded to accomodate many more people and indeed way too many people were crammed. The facilities could not handle this which resulted in bathrooms being dirty, almost no water pressure - even for a cold shower and no shade on large parts of the terrain.

It will still be worth visiting OUT OF SEASON only for the "nature and rustic" experience, but then again for those occasions there are many alternatives within a 2 hour drive from Cape Town which I will consider.

Room tip: Visit out of season only as there will be shady spots available.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank SeasonedOverlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019

We went to Beaverlac to spend our new years there. Its perfect for those who do not want to be disturbed by technology and really unwind, as there is no signal unless you climb up to the Totempools.

There is a gravel road in the begining and then a pass where you need to consider the oncoming traffic, but once you get into the beauty of the valley you soon forget about the dust!

Every evening from 10 o clock everyone starts calming down with the noise levels. On New Years eve you are allowed to make noise till 2 o clock the morning though.

Playing games is a sure way for a family & friends to connect.

The walks are tuff if you are unfit but still do able. The rock pools make it all worth it though. There are several and they are really enjoyable. Pack a picnic lunch and spend the day at the pools floating on your device or just bop around in the water.

The best part is you allowed to bring your dogs with so its true family bonding at its best.

There is a little cafe where u can buy your essentials as well as anything you may have forgotten (which is a little pricey- but its the convenience of being able to get the thing you forgot that musnt be forgotten).

Booking is essential - payment is cash on arrival (make sure you bring enough) but next time i'll request an eft option before we go.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and relaxed for the first time in a long time and Beaverlac will definetly see my husband and me with our dogs again soon.

I highly recomend Beaverlac for a relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

Camped near to toilets and trail to rock pool and shop had the joy of having warm water when I went to shower just make sure u get there early to the shower. I preferred putting up a tent and doing the real camping bit. Plenty of trees to provide shade and nice braai spots by camping spot. Shop well stocked with nearly everything u can think of and not badly priced. Going end of Jan again and I can't wait.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sasman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews