We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been to Maldives and we didn't felt this much relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of H2otel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H2otel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Unhais da Serra
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We have been to Maldives and we didn't felt this much relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

In my personal opinion 2 - 3 days in this Hotel/Spa are much relaxing than a week or more in some paradisiac destinies.
This was our second time in H2Otel and although the neighbourhood villages and cities are beautifull our goal us simply to enjoy the Spa, thermal therapies, pools, sauna, hamman, etc... and of course the great food from Alquimia the restaurant.
Breakfast is included and it's great, vast and high quality food is served, either if you prefer the healthy aproach or the fattier but delicious heavy food from Beira Interior (region/local food). The same can be said about the buffet at dinner: not only vast, delicious and high quality but actually very creative (don't miss the chance to taste Suchi Serrano, or the fabulous local cheese), thus you have the opinion to go a La Carte.
Unfortunetly the same doesn't apply to the buffet at lunch where the food and variety served aren't worth the 20€ per person + beverages, we only lunched there once when arriving, the otehr days we did the same as the other time: sandwiches, soup and natural juices in the cafe at the Aquadome.
Both times we had great rooms, although this time we did heard some noise comming from the hall while trying to sleep, but we can't blame to the hotel management about other peoples bad behaviour.
In my opinion the valued paid for the stay was well worth it, although the fact that H2Otel is getting more and more popular by the day, and is a family/kids friendly hotel we didn't felt a bit disturbed by all those kids, our relaxing goal was mostly achieved. Actually what was disturbing was the attitud of some fancy/chic people (couples) that think they're kings of the world and so are allowed to make noises and disturb other people while passing by other rooms late at night, speak loudly on their mobiles while having dinner etc, but we can' do much about that and so doesn't the hotel management (maybe that's why we can see some negative critics about H2Otel in here).
To sum up, having to choose between paying the same money for a week during the summer in Algarve or south of Spain, or 3 nights at the H2Otel I wouldn't/don't think twice, I get much more relaxed, stress relieved and simply better after those 3 nights in this place than anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeMotaAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    196
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
358
356
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

It´s not the first time that me and my family stay at this hotel. It´s really a great experience mostly because of the pool complex.
Although on our last stay we noticed some things are being neglected:
Cleaniness of the room during our stay
Pools don´t seem to be well taken care of as many tiles are missing in them
Outside area of the hotel lacks in maintenance
Having in mind that this is the best hotel in the region and very popular, things like this should not be taking place.

try the hotel´s restaurant as food is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband offered us a two day stay in this hotel for my birthday. I have already heard that it was very pleasant but, I have to say, that it exceeded my expectation. The outside swimming pool and whirpool with warm water and seeing the magnificent landscape, covered with snow, and feeling only in your cheeks the cold air temperature (4º degrees) is an unique sensation.
Excelent service (except for the terms of one towel per day for client for the spa is unsufficient), very kind staff, excelent breakfast and restaurant. The spa is also very good!
We liked so much that we have already planned to go back but this time we will try also the thermal treatments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Yes, its true Portugal may also be a Snow destination.
This H2otel is indeed the best hotel you can find in the region.
Everything comes together to be a great experience starting from the amazing SPA ending in the fine restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diversbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

we spent 3 days in h2otel. the service is amazing all the staff is very helpful and friendly. our room was the 133 and was a bit warm due to be next to the swimming pool area. we need to have the aircon on during the night. the room was very spacious and with a magnificent view. the breakfast was very good in variety and quality. we also had the buffet dinner once and the food was good but not amazing. if you wanna go out for dinner you have some very good options in the towns nearby.
during the day we went to belmonte and sortelha, 2 historic villages really worth it to see. if can only see one go to sortelha, while there you can eat in D.Sancho restaurant inside the castle which is very good. back to the hotel you have a great pool complex and lots of activities during the day for free. like walks hidrogymnastic, relaxation exercises. the spa as also lots of treatments and options you can go for. I also found that the hotel was very child friendly so very good to go for a family weekend. I really enjoyed the experience and I advise anyone that wants to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Good rooms for vacances or business meetings. The confere center its also good.
The pools are very good and the Spa is very nice also. The staff is friendly, and there are activities to do nearby, like BTT, walks, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tifilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a great time at this hotel, very quiet and peaceful. Great pool complex.
Great animation team, with all kind of activities to discover the region and the town. The rooms are great and with an excellent view and very cozy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_GSXR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unhais da Serra
5.1 mi away
Pousada da Serra da Estrela
5.3 mi away
Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais
9.7 mi away
Abrigo da Montanha Hotel Rural & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
O Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
10.3 mi away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2otel

Property: H2otel
Address: Avenida das Termas, Unhais da Serra 6215-674, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Unhais da Serra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Unhais da Serra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H2otel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your H2otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h2otel Hotel Unhais Da Serra
H2otel Portugal/Unhais Da Serra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing