We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kib Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ko Kho Khao
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Kho Khao Island Beach Resort

Accommodation and facilities:
Perfect quiet location. Excellent room we stayed in garden villa. Pool very good and plenty of sun beds around beach and pool. Staff very helpful, breakfast very good and plenty of places to eat at night outside of hotel.

Reservation service:
Excellent as usual. Sawadee very efficient.

Date: Mar 13, 2012
written by: Kenneth Lines

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for The Kib Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 97 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

Could not recommend this Island enough! We went at the start of tourist season, so it was still very quiet. The locals are lovely, the food is amazing, and the beach is nice. The Kib is a lovely resort. Nothing mind blowing, but very nice all the same. The staff were very friendly, welcoming, pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool was lovely. You can save yourself some money by making your own way there from Phuket airport. We caught a bus to Takua Pa. From there you can get a taxi to the pier, and a very short boat ride to the island. The Kib is longer than a walk away from town, so I suggest hiring a motorbike or scooter to get to and from the main part of town. All in all, I highly recommend this resort, and would definitely return myself.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mokeymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

If you are looking for peace and quiet then the Kib will fit the bill. It is a long way from Phuket airport, the transfer costs around 2400 baht, which includes the ferry across the narrow canal.
The hotel has a mix of accommodation, we stayed in the main block which had a large room and bathroom fitted to a very high standard. There are also separate garden villas, which actually looked smaller than our room and pool villas which apparently have exclusive use of the main pool. This was not made clear, so we did dip into this 'private' pool a few times, but got some very dirty looks by the occupants. The other pool is small, but clean.
We only ate in the restaurant once, apart from breakfasts, which were perfectly fine,and we had a valentines day meal. This was delicious, but pricey. Most of the time we walked along the beach to the little shacks for much cheaper and very good food and drink.
The beach is what you would expect, wide and sandy with hardly anyone else on it. The sea shelves very shallowly and is great for swimming. We didn't do any trips while there but the hotel can organise snorkelling and boat trips, as can the agents by the little port which is only a 20 minute walk along the road. There is an ATM at the port also. There were a few families with small children, but mainly couples of varying ages, not many Brits.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the room descriptions, before deciding.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vap88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We arrived after midnight to be greated by staff waiting our arrival . Transport was all perfect from the pick up at the airport through to the midnight run over the water to the island, even though we were delayed by nearly two hours.
The restaurant staff and bar staff were absolutely brilliant. The room was thoroughly cleaned daily and the pool man maintained our pool to perfection. This is Thailand at its best with a beach to die for, sunsets to live for setting the ambiance for the most perfect beach holiday unspoilt by tourism

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetoprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We just spent 5 days at the KIB in Ko Khoa. So maybe we didn't do our homework well enough before we booked there, and the rooms were reasonably priced, but this hotel is nothing like the website would lead you to believe.
First it is not in Khao Lak, it is 30 minutes up the road and a boat transfer away. It is quite remote, which has its charm but also makes you a total captive at the resort. The hotel charges US$70-US$100 for a trip into Khao Lak.
Then scuba diving isnot minutes away. There is no diving on or near Ko Khoa...you need to go into Khao Lak and then transfer by hi-speed boat to the Similans or other surrounding islands about 90 minutes ride away. This makes it a 4-6 hour journey every day to get to a dive site and back. Definitely not relaxing by any stretch.
Laslty, the pool on the hotel's website is not for general use but only for those with poolside villas. Quite a disappointment for the kids.
The staff was rather unfriendly and in some cases downright rude. And the towels were old and ratty and many had holes in them.
The only upsides : the beach is beautiful and quiet, and the rooms are large and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HermanFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I can't give the KIB a terrible review. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, and the beach is nice, but certainly not outstanding. Breakfast was okay. The grounds definitely need to be updated (lots of dead grass. Not pleasing when your room has a "garden view"). There was a strikingly large number of old Swedish people. Unfortunately, when we booked, we didn't realize just how deserted or how boring this place is (We had to change hotels after three days). There's not much to do on Kho Khao, especially when you're ethically against elephant camps. You can snorkle and you can grab an exceptionally delicious mojito at the restaurant, The Lazy House, down the beach. And that's it! This resort is great for people who want to get away from it all (I MEAN REALLY GET AWAY). But it's awful if you're expecting to actually *gasp* do things on vacation.

Room Tip: Booking a deluxe room puts you way, way back from the beach. GO TO THE LAZY HOUSE FOR DELICIOUS THAI...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

huge room, great bathroom and right on the beach (17km of pristine, unspoilt beach!)

The breakfast was adequate although not outstanding, however the service and accommodation were superb- but the real gem is the location. Koh Ko Khao is truly a 'virgin island' with authentic restaurants, a few small shops and very friendly locals. You won't find mass-tourism or many organised activities here, but that's the charm of it! Beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidexpl0rers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Kho Khao
15.9 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
14.4 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
17.3 mi away
Palm Galleria Resort
Palm Galleria Resort
#54 of 70 in Khao Lak
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
C&N Kho Khao Beach Resort
C&N Kho Khao Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Ko Kho Khao
98 reviews
25.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Residence
Ocean Breeze Residence
#4 of 6 in Ko Kho Khao
12 reviews
21.9 mi away
Andaman Princess Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kib Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kib Resort & Spa

Address: 15/1 Moo 3, Ko Kho Khao 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Kho Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ko Kho Khao
Price Range: $54 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kib Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kib Resort is a 3++ star resort ,located on private white sandy beach in the west coast of KhoKhao Island.. It is 25 Kilometers from Khaolakand 0.5 km. from the mainland (Nam Khem pier)By ferry , it takes not more than 10 minutes to the island. The island is an unspoiled hidden place with pure nature and white sandy beach which stretches 16 Kilometers from north tosouth. It is also known as being the archeological site of a 1,200- year-old ancient ruin of “Baan Tung Teuk”and the historic airport runway constructed by the Japanese army during the World War II.The Kib Resort is located on a private but- easy- to -find white sand beach. It is only 1.5 Kilometers from Kho Khao Island pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kib Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kib Resort And Spa
The Kib Hotel Ko Kho Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing