We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tacola Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ko Kho Khao
Mannheim
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Be warned!!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

When we were here 2 years ago we thought we'd found the perfect place. Kho Khao Island is wonderful remote, not touristy at all yet with all the good features of a nice thai holiday (endless beach, tropical scenery, nice restaurants at the pier, nice people and unspoilt nature). This time everyhing was still there yet the hotel was a total let-down. The management had changed, and the majority of guests were Russians. There seemed to be no maintenance of the hotel anymore: the gardens overgrown, the beach dirty with garbage (empty bottles etc) which had not been removed for days (we checked), the sand overgrown with plants which limited the already small number of (partly broken) beach chairs even more. The water in the pool was so murky one couldn't see the bottom. Also the quality of the rooms had changed considerably after two years: the mattress was old and the bed was creaking so loudly that whenever someone turned it was wake-up time. What else:
dust on side-boards, broken lamps, and the cushion on the porch furniuture was in such a state that we preferred not to sit down.
Some of the roofs of the bungalows looked like huts in a shanty town since the hotel didn't even bother to replace the palm leaves with which the iron sheet roofs were covered originally, the pools of the "private pool villas" remained empty .
I could go on with more dirty little details but I think the picture is clear: the whole place is so run-down and without care and maintenance - it's depressing.
We moved out after one night and went further up the beach into "The Kib" where we had a wonderful time.
All people considering going to Kho Khao - do it! It's a beautiful.
But DO NOT book Tacola. It's a total rip-off. Shame on the people responsible for letting a wonderful place deteriorate to such an despicable level.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rebelde2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We came to The Tacola looking for a week of relaxing and bathing, which it's ideally located for. It's got a great strip of beach facing the beautiful Andaman sea in the west (you'll catch some lovely sunsets if the weather allows for it!). We were looking for an area that didn't feel like a tourist ghetto, and while Kho Khao is fairly quiet it's certainly not an untouched gem of genuine Thai culture either. A big part of the small island's economy seems to revolve around gift shops and tourist taxis. And the hotel itself was a let-down for us.

The restaurant was the most expensive we encountered in Thailand, and the least impressive. For dinner the only alternative was a 300 BHT buffet. Once a dish ran out they apparently never replaced it, so if you came late to the restaurant it was more of a collection of sad empty trays than a buffet. This coupled with multi colored blinking mini-light strands and some guy singing covers of 70's hits in broken Engrish (the same songs every night) meant we soon found other places to eat. Luckily there's a fairly good selection of restaurant within a few kilometers from the hotel.

The rooms looked great at a glance, but once we looked closer they were simply filthy. Layers of dust everywhere, weird looking discolorings in sink and bathtub (all the porcelain was matte and sort of rough to the touch), unidentifiable yellow and brown stains on the textiles, cockroach poo in the curtains, fuzzy spider egg balls on walls and ceiling, mould on the walls (and in the electric kettle!) etc. It had just been raining when we arrived, and in the bathroom water was literally running down the insides of the walls. One of the electric sockets had water running all over it, leading down to a puddle on the floor. How's that for safety?

We also had no hot water, and soon discovered there were ants living in the walls. We immediately informed the staff, who promised to take care of it. The following day we still had no hot water, and there were ants crawling all over our towels, clothes, inside our toothbrushes and all throughout our luggage. Then we were offered a new room.

The new room had many of the same features as the old one, but there were less ants (apparently they didn't actually live inside this room, they just wandered in through the many cracks and openings) and it had hot water (enough for about three minutes worth of showering, as it turned out). We noted that two of the bathroom windows were missing mosquito nets. When we told the chief receptionist, who was showing the room to us, that everything from mosquitos to lizards would come into the bathroom and we would like them to put up the missing nets her response was "Yes, yes, insects come in. You want room?". Her solution to the problem was to keep the door closed to the bathroom so the mosquitos wouldn't enter into the bedroom. At this point we were just tired of it all and accepted the new room.

As it turned out, stuff did come through. Mosquitos, spiders, lizards and giant wasps all came through. At night we always went to the bathroom in the dark as to avoid attracting more bugs than necessary. There were also plenty of cockroaches. They were in the curtains, on the floors, in our towels and in our pillows. We talked to some of the other guests who shared their cockroach-hunting stories with us, so ours was obviously not a unique experience.

All in all the hotel's one saving grace is the beach. And they have a tennis court, a pool table and some other recreational stuff. But would we go back? Not likely.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel_Franzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Kho Khao hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Although it´s quite new it lacks in maintance. Definitly not a four star hotel but quite ok 3 star. Friendly but rather inexperienced staff. Good location, 10 minutes walk from the pier with shops and restaurants. Nice beach. To get around the island you need a motorbike. Good way of exploring unspoilt beaches with virtually no people at all .Actually cheaper to rent at the hotel since "half day" means 12 hours! Beware of the "poolvillas" - absolutely not worth the money. If you are going here from Sweden it´s a lot cheaper to buy a flightchair from the chartercompany (Apollo) and then deal with the price directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank san28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Tacola Resort is located on secluded Ko Kho Khao Island, getting there is not hard but still has some adventure feeling to it. From Phuket or Khao Lak take a Taxi to Ban Nam Khem (take a left from Route 4 about 5 km south of Takua Pa) Pier. There, load your luggage on one of the taxi boats (20 Baht/Person), once on the island take a taxi to Tacola (100 Baht max.). You will find yourself on a beach several kilometers long, sharing it with only a handful of others. The resort is very modern, rooms are spacios, we had one of the "twin pavillions", which could be best described as bungalow duplex. The rates were surprisingly low (1700 Baht during Peak Season).
Tacola is right on the beach, and there is also a huge pool with a swim-up bar. Cool! The kids pool unfortunately is a little too deep for children under 4. Breakfast buffet is great, but lunch and dinner prices are definitely above avarage. However, there are two beach restaurants right next door and it is only a 15 minute walk along the main road to the pier village with plenty of reasonably priced restaurants and several small supermarkets. Caution: Mini Bar prices at Tacola are steep, and so is laundry service. Bad style: All food and drink prices do not include tax and service charge, so always add 17%

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirtobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

Staying at the Tacola Resort and Spa was a very nice experience. It is located in Koh Kho Khao (or Kho Khao Island)around 150 km North of Phukets airport, reached by car/bus and then boat or ferry.The boat/ferry trip takes only 5-8 minutes and then from the pier of the island 3 minutes by car or 15 min walk to the hotel.
Being far from the "big" cities in Phuket and from the busy Khao Lak, if you want to rest and take it easy, this hotel is the perfect choice.
The breakfast is the best, it is served on the terrace with view to the garden/pool. Breakfast includes lot of fruits, some vegetables, egg, bacon, sausages, thai dishes, potatoes, omelets (made according your taste), good coffee, juice, bread, jams, cheese etc.
Rooms are spacious,with balcony or terrace, have coffee/tea facilities. The staff are very kind and helpful. They can give you a lift to the pier/restaurants (in the island) with a big smile.
If you want to make some trips to the mainland or to other places, the staff are happy to help you book it for you. You can hire a taxi (with driver) to go to Khao Lak, Takua Pa etc directly in the hotel.
There are not much people on the beaches, so you have practically the beach for yourself (and other guests of the hotel). No salesmen/women seen on the frontbeach during my visit.
The pool looked very inviting, big and very clean water, with bar. Nice drinks. You can also borrow pooltowels from the bar.
I didnt try the pool, as I had the sea to swim ;). The sea in front of the hotel was very calm in general, no big waves, you can swim for hours.
As I stayed during St Valentine's day, the hotel had arranged a special candle lightdinner for a reasonable price. Delicious dishes were served, with music alive, nice decoration... really nice evening.
The only thing I did not like (and has not much to do with the hotel) was the fact that the sand on the beach may have fleas. But if you avoid sunbathing directly on the sand, you wont get any fleabite. To seat or take a sunbath please use the chairs or the area of the pool, then you are safe :)

  • Liked — location and breakfast
  • Disliked — fleas on the sand- take precautions
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AdaScania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Kho Khao
8.1 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
775 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
12.6 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
SENTIDO Graceland Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Andaman Princess Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Koh Kho Khao Resort
Koh Kho Khao Resort
#3 of 6 in Ko Kho Khao
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tacola Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tacola Resort and Spa

Property: Tacola Resort and Spa
Address: 93/3 Moo 3, Kho Khao Island | Khao Lak, Takuapa, 93, Ko Kho Khao 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Kho Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ko Kho Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tacola Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tacola Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tacola Hotel Ko Kho Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing