We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Sundvolden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundvolden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Krokkleiva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in the newest part of the hotel from 11-13 may 2012. First impression was very good. Nice lobby and friendly staff in the reception. Nice and clean room.

The resturant had a romantic atmosphere, with exceptionale food and good service.

All over, I'm very satisfied with over stay and would recommend this hotel; especially to golfers and paragliders.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisOslo, General Manager at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

We humbly thank you for your nice response! Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Sundvolden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 263 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great stay, comfortable rooms in every way. Did not miss anything. The food was very nice with a local twist to international dishes. I ate too much :-)
I also used the gym and this was also a good experience. I was a guest and did not pay myself, so I am not sure of the cost. I hope to be back here another time. It was comfortable and efficient!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventureseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The head checf held a cheese course for our group, and we were really impressed by his knowledge and passion. The hotel restaurant is top notch, and staff seem to be passionate about what they do.
The room was large and inviting.
Excellent conference facilities too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Had a recent business event at the hotel, and got to spend a night here. The room was clean, modern, cosy and well equipped with an outstanding shower room with heated floor. Only minor niggles are the duvet was too small for the bed (this is apparently common in Norway?) and the television signal was very poor and fuzzy. And come on european hoteliers we English speaking people like to watch more entertainment than just BBC News!

Great variety at breakfast with smooth and effeicient service, did not get a chance for dinner but the lunch buffet too had a good selection. The hotel is large, clean and well equipped. Hope to come back again.

Room Tip: Modern part of the hotel appears to have the better rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn_D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at Sundvollen from Thursday to Sunday for a strategy session with my company, but what a great surprise on all accounts! Super friendly staff, great facilities, large, modern and spacious rooms, and top notch cuisine.

On our late night arrival on Thursday, they suggested a cheese plate and some wine to go with it. As they promote local produce we got some of the best Norwegian farm cheeses I have ever tasted. On Friday evening, after a 9 hour marathon workshop, we had the outdoor whirlpool to ourselves, got served champagne and enjoyed a bubbly drink under the the starry night. As a perfect end to the Friday they served up a brilliant 4-course dinner in the restaurant, and did the matching of wines very well. Local duck breast as the main course was the highlight.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oih123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisOslo, Manager at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

We are so grateful for your respons to your stay with us! Thank you so very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I had the most amazing experiences through this year's conference with my colleagues. The hotel is clean, they have a friendly staff and really delicious food with a great selection of hot and cold dishes.

My room (No. 360) was quite large. the bed was superb to sleep in, and the bathroom had a bathtub in addition to the shower.

The area around the hotel is peaceful and has good hiking opportunities. It would be perfect to get back together with my family and spend a few days in these beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: My room was on the right side when you front the reception, and I think those rooms were newer than...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mother-of-love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisOslo, Manager at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Thank you so very much for your response to staying with us. You are so very welcome back with your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked this hotel online for as low as 795 NOK including breakfast for three people - and expected something very basic since hotel prices otherwise are sky high in Norway. The hotel proved to be a very large hotel with all facilities and very nice and helpful personnel. Obviously the hotel lives on conferences and alike, but during summer, it is virtually empty and we benefited from this. We did not get a room in the newest part of the hotel, but it was functional and clean. The shared areas (lobby, restaurant) are as nice as the surroundings. We also used the pool which is large, but dated, still nice to have such a large pool all to yourself. The hotel also features a very well equipped gym which is free for the hotel guests. We had dinner outside the oldest part of the hotel and had a good experience. Breakfast was very good with fresh bread and many different selections.
It might well be that the experience will be different when the hotel is packed with hundreds of people, but during summer it was extremely nice and provided great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizLeisureFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisOslo, Manager at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Thank you very much for your nice response to your stay with us this summer! In July we are so happy to welcome travellers along the road to Bergen or Oslo, and yes, the prices are meant to be nice. We know our poolarea is due for an upgrade, changes will come, but not this year I`m afraid! Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krokkleiva
7.3 mi away
Klaekken Hotell
Klaekken Hotell
#1 of 2 in Honefoss
107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kleivstua Hotel
Kleivstua Hotel
#1 of 2 in Krokkleiva
130 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tyrifjord Hotell
Tyrifjord Hotell
#1 of 1 in Vikersund
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Ringerike
Comfort Hotel Ringerike
#2 of 2 in Honefoss
134 reviews
22.3 mi away
Granavolden Gjaestgiveri
Granavolden Gjaestgiveri
#2 of 3 in Gran Municipality
15 reviews
13.3 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#27 of 102 in Oslo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundvolden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundvolden Hotel

Address: Dronningveien 2 | Krokkleiva, Krokkleiva 3531, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hole Municipality > Krokkleiva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Krokkleiva
Price Range: $91 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundvolden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that is both historic and modern- Sundvolden contains the best of both worlds and is known for great, Norwegian Cooking, top notch meeting facilities and comfortable and spacious rooms. We aim to host both your weeding and your most demanding kick-off. We can also host your perfect romantic stay, with spa treatments, gorgeous meals and champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sundvolden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing