We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the heart of France”
Review of La Borde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Borde
Ranked #1 of 1 Leugny B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend earlier this month at La Borde Maison d'Hotes in the Burgundy region. It was definitely one of the most memorable weekends we have ever experienced. Rik and Marieke were unbelievably warm hosts who shared their beautiful home and grounds making us feel very special and virtually part of their family. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed, including an amazing stone fireplace, which we enjoyed each evening as we relaxed at the end of every fabulous day. Each meal was an experience in itself ~ How many ways can you say delicious? Also, I have Celiac disease and I couldn’t express how grateful I was for Marieke’s thoughtfulness with the delicious gluten-free goodies! She made the best gluten-free bread that I have ever tasted! La Borde Maison d’Hotes is a very special home away from home ~ a true gem of France. It was an easy drive from Paris and should not be missed if given the opportunity to travel to Burgundy. We wish we could have stayed longer and hope to be able to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgawkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 67 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have been in Paris first and then a couple of wonderful nights at this superb classy establishment, on the recommendation of friends. One of the most special and relaxed accommodations in France if you really want something distinctive. High level of personal attention, very good food; in the heart of Burgundy. We will certainly return, fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As for the best restaurants, only very few are worth a journey. Chateau la Borde, Maison d'Hotes in Leugny, is such an exceptional place, where you will feel at home from the moment you arrive until the moment you - regretfully - have to leave again. We stayed at la Borde with good friends and their children. Hosts Rik and Marieke Klomp, who have owned this medieval Chateau for over 15 years as a family retreat, have recently created 6 spacious guest rooms. As for the rest of the place, restoration and decoration have been done without compromise. The best beds, linens, Loewe TV sets, professional Nespresso machines in every room, which are wonderfully decorated, will make sure you feel at home immediately. Breakfast and if you wish lunch and dinner will be served at a long table in the inner courtyard, with the kind helping hands of the next generation Klomp. Our children loved the huge playroom, where you will find a pooltable, Wurlitzer jukebox, football table and 'flipperkast'. The gardens surrounding the chateau are one of a kind; the pool is great; the food is high quality; and many restaurants may wish for a wine cellar like Rik's, with exceptional Burgundy and Bordeaux wines. Of course the location is convenient when you are (as we were) on your way from Holland to the south of France. But La Borde is not only worth a detour, it is worth a journey. We were glad we booked for 5 days, since we could have stayed forever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from 4 days at La Borde with 2 other families. We had an absolutely wonderful time and the kids and adults alike just loved it. The grounds and property are beyond spectacular, the food delicious and the hosts very helpful. The property has everything you could imagine wanting as a couple and as a family, and the level of attention to detail and quality of the facilities and services is outstanding. The property is also very easy to access from Paris - just a straight shot down the motorway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishlass361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent three wonderful days at La Borde in the middle of March. Although the weather didn't help too much really (it was still cold and there was some rain) we had a great time. La Borde is the perfect place for quiet family time, for a beautiful stroll (or jogging - my wife did that) and... for absolutely great food. We had oisters, wonderfully prepared fresh fish, vegetables from the kitchen garden (grand style) and gorgeous wines. Bravo and many thanks to Rik & Marieke!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPHvDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We enjoyed the best stay in France that we have ever experienced. We arrived on a rainy, grey afternoon to be greeted by the most hospitable couple imaginable. They showed us to a charming room with extremely comfortable beds and we slept after a long journey. Still it rained but the warmth of the enormous log fire in the beautifully restored and decorated sitting room along with a bottle of champagne,in the company of Rik an Marieke, was a perfect start to a truly memorable evening.

We were the only guests so we were lucky enough to eat in the kitchen along with our hosts, a delicious Table D'Hote dinner worthy of a Michelin Star.

We have travelled the world and have never experienced such genuine people who provide the very best of everything. We cannot recommend La Borde more strongly and will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabotsix, Propriétaire at La Borde, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Mille remerciements dear friends.
It was entirely our pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

had been there for business & visit a dear friend. first impression: stunning! after a 1.5 - 2h drive from paris you find this bed & breakfast-jewel next to leugny. traveling around most of the year and it's hard to find a place in france which is more peaceful & just beautiful and on the other hand just luxury.
originally build in the 14th century and perfectly restored by the owner over last years it's a perfect place to stay and get lost in the countryside - alone or with the family!
looking forward to be there again! :D

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AplusJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leugny
20.7 mi away
La Cote Saint Jacques
22.5 mi away
L'Hostellerie des Clos
L'Hostellerie des Clos
#1 of 4 in Chablis
573 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hameau De La Fausse Sauge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
SY Hotel Les Glycines
SY Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 5 in Vezelay
213 reviews
18.6 mi away
Chateau de la Resle
Chateau de la Resle
#1 of 4 in Montigny-la-Resle
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Borde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Borde

Address: La Borde, 89130 Leugny, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Leugny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Leugny
Price Range: $435 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour and a half drive from Paris, we invite you to discover our luxury guest house located at the charming scenery of Burgundy. The former mansion of the 14th century has been entirely renovated and offers a neat and timeless design, as well as the latest technologies. The owners, Rik and Marieke Klomp, always give a warm, personalized welcome and try to make your stay at La Borde an unforgettable experience. Your hosts and their team can be discreet or opt for complicity while doing their best to attend each clients’ needs. With 4 junior suites and a suite (2 bedrooms), La Borde offers large, beautifully decorated spaces that will allow you to enjoy idleness and relaxation, by the fire in winter or on the terrace in summer. Located in the old castle court-yard, the outdoor pool is heated from May to September. In the loft, a Jacuzzi awaits souls in search of harmony, who will also find their happiness not far away, in a SPA, where sauna, steam room and Massothermie are available. A Fitness completes this offer. It is pleasant to stroll in the garden, a haven of greenery and peace, thought to bring serenity and relaxation. Children will be delighted to discover the chicken coop, a real “castle for hens”. You will also enjoy the chic and tasty cuisine of the hostess who stays true to the region and uses only fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Borde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing