We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, local beers and wines.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moutere Inn

Moutere Inn
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Upper Moutere, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty food, local beers and wines.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Have been several times and always enjoy the food and the beverages. Can sit inside or out. I will return!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kodiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wednesday is Steak Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have been enjoying the Moutere Inn draft beers for many years, and remember when the food was not the reason we went. We have been especially happy the last few years with the updated food offerings. We love the different pizzas, and must say that Wednesday Steak Night is a delicious deal. For $50NZ, you get steak dinners for two and a good bottle of local red wine. The staff is friendly and always willing to explain the many fine draft beers that they have on tap.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeliosNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine Dining at the pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great evening last night at this pub, fine dining evening with fantastic food, highlight being the apple, pear and caramel dessert. Great wines to match and craft beers, only downside was slowish service. They only had one young lady serving a full dining room. Otherwise a great experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheltenhamfoodie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This place is rundown and grossely overprized $25 for a lunch burger is just not on in NZ. The out door seating is situated in the very dusty car park, The whole place has a rundown air about it. The advertising regarding the Uk ceff should be revampeted.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerQ992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoutereInn, Owner at Moutere Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for your review and sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. It is true that the Inn is a little tired in places but being NZ’s Oldest Pub these issues are things we’re working on. We don’t pretend to compete in the Lone Star style of shiny bars and moulded plastic but are very happy with the quality of our meals. Please do feel free to contact me directly at ‘info@moutereinn.co.nz’ with further details of where we may have gone wrong on this occasion so it’s not repeated. Thanks Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were attracted by the suggested ambience of a genuine country pub (the oldest in New Zealand, they say) and the claims of a great gastropub menu from a top pub chef.

For a Saturday evening in January it was surprisingly quiet. There was a fairly good selection of beers, though they didn't come cheap. The menu was quite limited and the food we had (a lamb burger) rather disappointing. The promised music (Panda, Saturday 18 January from 7pm) wasn't there unless there was some secret music room hidden away.

All in all a disappointing evening. Should have done better with a good spot with such a good backstory.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apteryx055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moutere Inn also viewed

 
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
Upper Moutere, Mapua
 

Been to Moutere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing