We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!”
Review of The Foxes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upper Moutere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Foxes
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed in 7 different B&B's during our winter trip to New Zealand. We were amazed by them all, but The Foxes must have been the most luxurious. Everything was top-of-the line...room, bed, bath, gardens, view, breakfasts! Margaret and Horton were perfect hosts. Unfortunately, we were so busy with activities, we didn't get to spend as much time with them as we would have liked! If you're in the area, don't skip this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Best nights sleep and oh what views to wake up to. Margaret (and Horton) were very welcoming and accommodating. Thank you.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The website says the hosts are unobtrusive. This is not true – the hosts (and Horton) were divine!

Food was great, rooms as described and more.

I would recommend taking breakfast on the balcony as the vista early morning is quite something to behold ………………… and the eggs!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A truly wonderful place to relax and soak up peaceful surroundings. The extensive gardens providing an ever changing vista through the seasons (yes we have visited more than once!) and the view over the bay is amazing. The rooms are beautifully appointed and private and the food certainly does not disappoint. We will return. Thank You.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Situated in a garden rivalling Monet's , overlooking Ruby Bay, this beautiful Bed and Breakfast was a highlight of our recent holiday from Perth Western Australia. Hostess Margaret showed us to our 5 star room , the bed was to die for and the romantic shower even better. Breakfast could be taken on the balcony where we spent a few hours each day just enjoying the view. Margaret was very helpful in suggesting local tours and booking tours further afield. The garden would be ideal for wedding photos and the whole experience was a romantic peaceful interlude.

Room Tip: Both rooms with views . Private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Moutere
0.6 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mapua Chalets
Mapua Chalets
#3 of 14 in Mapua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
8.6 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mudcastle
The Mudcastle
#3 of 8 in Upper Moutere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foxes

Property: The Foxes
Address: 304 Pomona Road, Upper Moutere, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Upper Moutere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Moutere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and enjoy the inside and outside living and the panoramic views at this luxury rural retreat in Ruby Bay, Nelson region at the top of the South Island. A contemporary, architecturally designed house, light and spacious, appointed to the highest standard and natural hues reflecting a calming ambiance. The property offers two luxuriously appointed, spacious suites, each with their own entrance, private balcony and en-suite bathroom. There is also a private guest lounge which opens onto a wide balcony offering spectacular views over Tasman Bay and Nelson harbour. Outside enjoy a walk around the extensive,landscaped, two acre gardens and explore the rich diversity of the exotic and native trees, shrubs, flowers and cacti. Follow the garden path down to the three ponds linked by gently cascading waterfalls and surrounded by grassed areas where you can relax, have a picnic, read a book in the shade, enjoy a glass of New Zealand wine or doze off to the gentle sounds of water. Why not treat yourself to a massage by the pond, leaving you totally refreshed and restored? The Foxes Luxury Boutique B&B is also the ideal peaceful base from which to explore the many activities offered in the Nelson Abel Tasman region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing