We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“starving sensation”
Review of Grand Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotell
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leirvik
Norway, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“starving sensation”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were a group of students that prebooked a stay for 2 days, not with high hopes because of the hotels reputation, and still we were surprised about the stay,, and not in a good way..

We checked in about dinner times after being outdoors all day, and looked forward to eat a proper dinner. The rooms where okay, but the amount of food was so little we had to eat dry bread to get full. All they had to offer us, was 3 bowls of soup, and when it turned out it was not enough, we where offered dry slices of bread as a compensation. We were a large group, with adults. And even though we had booked in advance, they still managed to make way to little food. So we had to buy extra food in the shop near by to, because we were all hungry after an hour.. I can not recommend to book with food included. You will save both money and time by eating somewhere else!

After the meal we asked if we could get some tap water and coffie, and then they told us that they could not give us that because they where not enough people at work.. Kind of strange since the hotel was fully booked. And we had to argue to get the water, and when they finally agreed to give us some, we had to get it ourselves. Not a place I would leave any tips!

Room Tip: If you are more than 2 people, the 4 people room is a lot bigger than two 2 people room. And don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
3
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A nice place in Leirvik.

You do not have to many options in this little town so i can reccomend to stay at this place and off course eat at the restaurant Fengselet.

The rooms are ok. No minibar.
Breakfast buffet as you could expect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to attend a friend's wedding nearby. The hotel is situated near to the Leirvik bus terminal and there are shops and restaurants in the nearby area.

The hotel room itself was fairly large with a sofa, desk, coffee machine, free wifi, large shower room and TV. Carlsberg in the hotel actually turned out to be cheaper than the nearby bars, at 64 Kroner for a draft and 54 Kroner for a Bottle. The staff were friendly and spoke good English.

Breakfast was basic continental style with the usual offerings of bread, cereal, cold meats and cheese. The multifunction coffee machine was a nice touch.

If I am in the area and need accommodation I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel only offers the basic necessities: Poor standard, more like a Scandivanian-style motel. The room has a clean bed, wifi and a TV. Apart from that, it does not offer anything. About 5 minutes walking outside of the centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is ok, basic accommodation, but nothing more.

Rooms were basic, but two thumbs up for providing a coffee machine - not common in Norway.

Breakfast could have been more elaborate. Very basic Norwegian style affair with cold cuts and horrible Norvegia cheese. 1 fried egg and a slice of bacon per person. Some boiled eggs. That's it.

Hotel bar offered Carlsberg on tap or Carlsberg in a bottle. That's it. The poor girl in the reception seemed completely lost when asked about what was on offer.

Room Tip: Try asking for one not facing the taxi-stand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipmate78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Straight off the ferry & a short 5 min walk to the hotel. Same for the bus station. I ended up staying here for several weeks for work.

The room was very small & at first did not bother me, but with no amenities, the room gets small very quickly.

My room faced onto a car park so was quite most of the time, other rooms that faced onto the road & opposite another bar ended up having to listen to music / karaoke especially on the weekends.

Ate in the hotel most nights as it was part of the package, but the food was nothing special, some nights it was a bowl of soup the choice of take it or leave it.

There are 2 other hotels, but they are out of the centre so if you need to be in town this is really the only choice.

Laundry can also be a bit of hit n miss, sometimes 2-3 days & then you have to go looking for it.

Staff are friendly enough. Internet also works out to be expensive for a week at a time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

well, there are some alternatives but they are further out. When I stayed here my room smelt of damp although it was fairly large. Many of my colleagues had very small rooms however...There was some building work going on...they started at 7 in the morning and woke us all up. I also got woken up by persistent lift action at 5 am.
it'll do...but don't expect to enjoy staying there...

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lubenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leirvik
0.4 mi away
Stord Hotel
Stord Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leirvik
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almaas Hotell Stord
Almaas Hotell Stord
#2 of 4 in Stord Municipality
14 reviews
8.4 mi away
Langenuen Motel & Camping
Langenuen Motel & Camping
#3 of 4 in Stord Municipality
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sponavik Camping
Sponavik Camping
#1 of 1 in Stord Municipality
1 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aasheim Rorbuer
Aasheim Rorbuer
#1 of 2 in Bomlo Municipality
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotell

Property: Grand Hotell
Address: Osen 5, Leirvik 5401, Norway (Formerly Norlandia Grand Hotell)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Stord Municipality > Leirvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leirvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotell Norway/Leirvik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing