We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay - just visited - very pretty”
Review of Dalen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just stopped by and looked at the Dalen Hotel while on a road trip in Norway. Very pretty place. Had kind of an old 'haunted house' feel to it. I'm not saying it was haunted, just looked like out of a movie or something. Enjoyed walking the premises and looking around, exploring for a bit. Back patio area was nice to relax on for a bit. Neat stop if you have the time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Vexter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Dalen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 236 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beautiful nature, delicious food, a fascinating history, and a service minded and friendly staff are some of the things we remember from our visit to Dalen Hotel.

Dalen Hotel is the perfect get-away with its stunning scenery and Fairytale- atmosphere. Peter Kumlin- the hotel director made sure we were comfortable at all times, he even sent a backpack lunch with us, when we went for a hike in the mountains. After the hike, we got massage at the hotel, and cookies and coffee out on the terrace- with a view over the Bandak lake. In the evening we enjoyed a marvelous 5-course meal in the hotel restaurant.- followed by drinks and storytelling in the Large living room with a fireplace and live piano music. Yes! Dalen Hotel certainly has it all, and we will return next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hedvig_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

the hotel has an victorian feel to it, wonderful drawingrooms and galleries. the rooms are smallish, but well equipped and the grounds are great for walking down to the lake. the food and wine was good and service likewise. very expensive roomrates compared with other "de historiske" hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Perfect for social events - weddings - and romantic stay.
The only issue for me personally as a bus driver - there is no TV at the hotel - but that means You stay longer in the bar.
The restaurant staff where great..

Room Tip: Corner suites ar large and Nice ... Ask for room far from the reception area.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountainboyGeilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a wonderful experience! A piece of Norway that certainly should be experienced. One is surrounded by ancient history wherever you go in the hotel and it breathes of royalty and old Norwegian design.The food is a chapter in itself. Had several questions about the different dishes, and felt every single ingredient was locally and oozed of Norwegian culture. Cheerful and attentive staff which was service minded and helpful at all times.

Until next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AleksanderDiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Take the Henrik Ibsen boat up the Telemark canal, through all the locks and at the end awaits this fantastic hotel from the end of the 19th century. Breathtaking views good food and excellent service. If however you prefer to go by car be prepared for serpentine roads and set aside ample time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great hospitality - the owner offered us a round trip in their vintage bus and told all the tales from "back in time" and the good/rough old days. We even got to see the rural little farm where the tiny little RUI sisters lived. The area is great for hiking in the hillside. Beautiful views.
The hotel is magnificent and well kept and most charming. Good and friendly service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siw T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalen
19.0 mi away
Quality Straand Hotel
6.7 mi away
Rauland Hogfjellshotell
Rauland Hogfjellshotell
#1 of 2 in Rauland
66 reviews
22.0 mi away
Seljord Hotel
Seljord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Seljord Municipality
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Nutheim Gjestgiveri
Nutheim Gjestgiveri
#1 of 2 in Flatdal
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalen Bed and Breakfast
Dalen Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Tokke Municipality
43 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hovden Fjellstoge
Hovden Fjellstoge
#1 of 3 in Hovden
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalen Hotel

Address: Hotellvegen 33, Dalen 3880, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Tokke Municipality > Dalen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalen
Price Range: $278 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dalen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalen Hotel is a fairytale hotel, build in 1894 in grand romantic style with dragonheads, towers and balconys. The paper "Varden" wrote in 1894: "The new elegant furnished Hotel at Dalen, at the top of the Bandak waters, is now ready to recieve guests".After early golden days and later years of decay the hotel was in 1994, after years of restauration finished to welcome its guests again, all restored back to its original beauty. It has the same soul, calmness, peace and atmosphere as the wooden castle that opened for more than 110 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dalen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalen Hotel Telemark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing