We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old meets new”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalen
Certificate of Excellence
Sandvika, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old meets new”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a wonderful experience! A piece of Norway that certainly should be experienced. One is surrounded by ancient history wherever you go in the hotel and it breathes of royalty and old Norwegian design.The food is a chapter in itself. Had several questions about the different dishes, and felt every single ingredient was locally and oozed of Norwegian culture. Cheerful and attentive staff which was service minded and helpful at all times.

Until next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AleksanderDiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    41
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
79
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Take the Henrik Ibsen boat up the Telemark canal, through all the locks and at the end awaits this fantastic hotel from the end of the 19th century. Breathtaking views good food and excellent service. If however you prefer to go by car be prepared for serpentine roads and set aside ample time

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lysaker, Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great hospitality - the owner offered us a round trip in their vintage bus and told all the tales from "back in time" and the good/rough old days. We even got to see the rural little farm where the tiny little RUI sisters lived. The area is great for hiking in the hillside. Beautiful views.
The hotel is magnificent and well kept and most charming. Good and friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siw T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

It is a long trek from Australia to Norway but experiences such as the day trip on MS Henrik Ibsen along the Telemark Canal from Skien to the magical Dalen Hotel and the bus return to Skien certainly make all the labours of travel, airports, connections etc truly worthwhile!

I did the trip 2-3 June and certainly my impressions were re-inforced by glorious weather and good fortune in accidentally meeting Mr Halvorsen, the owner of both the Dalen Hotel and the Henrik Ibsen, and one of his business partners. Their courtesies and insights were kindly offered whilst busy with a group of guests, which was noteworthy in itself. But one can see from the detail and love lavished on the boat what is to come at the hotel.

Caring, pleasant and polished staff (gently overseen by Mr Kumlin) supported two lovely meals, wonderful, spotless accommodation & amenities, and a stunning (and beautifully maintained) building. And you have equally stunning local scenery and Lake Bandak as a backdrop.

The only sad thing is that Dalen is so deeply situated in Telemark that it appears to work against keeping the hotel open all year round!

If Norway is on your bucket list of countries to visit, then, particularly during the late Spring to mid-Autumn, put this hotel and the boat/bus or even boat/boat trip Skien-Dalen-Skien right at the top of your agenda. Of course Norway is pricey, and this excursion not exactly cheap when you add in a stay at Skien and rail to and from Oslo or elsewhere, but in value-for-money terms I think you would have to go a long, long way to beat the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
295 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our second stay at Dalen Hotel, our first being in 2007 and have always cherished the memories of that first visit. It is a truly magnificent hotel with a beautiful manicured lawn sweeping at least 150 meters down to the lake. There are huge majestic trees on the property and impressive mountains in the distance. Dalen Hotel offers quiet serenity and elegance with period antiques throughout the hotel and quite an interesting history. It has an exquisite dining room and we quite liked the idea of not having a television in our room which seemed suitable given the hotel's remote location.

Nevertheless, we were very disappointed with our visit this time and will not return. We had been looking forward to our two day stay at Dalen Hotel, this time accompanied by our small dog, a very well-mannered Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. We flew to Oslo from Paris after staying for a week at Hotel La Perle in Saint-Germain-des-Pres (a hotel in many ways far superior to Hotel Dalen) and were extremely comfortable with the way Hotel La Perle had welcomed our small dog throughout the hotel, including at breakfast. However, upon arrival at Hotel Dalen we were repeatedly told our small dog was not welcome in any of the public areas of the hotel, and never in the hotel dining room "since many people have pet allergies". What a contrast from our stay in Paris! We later learned we had been assigned one of the two designated "pet rooms" at Dalen Hotel. Our "pet room" (costing over 300 euro per night) featured several huge urine stains on the carpet which was thoroughly disgusting. Each afternoon we were asked if we planned to have dinner in the hotel restaurant that evening and when we replied "... but we have a dog" they responded "oh, that's right", and directed us to one of the two fast food restaurants in town, the only dining alternatives within 45 km of the hotel. Since we preferred not to leave our small dog alone in the room we were never able to have dinner at Hotel Dalen and each morning needed to have our breakfast "in shifts".

When we checked out of Dalen Hotel after our two night stay, I explained our disappointment to the Hotel Director saying while I respected his strict pet policy I thought it was a poor business decision. He seemed perplexed until I explained to him we would have naturally preferred to have had dinner at the hotel, if not in the hotel dining room, perhaps outside on the expansive covered porch. But this option was never extended to us; since in fact the hotel staff repeatedly directed us to the other dining alternatives in town when they learned we had a dog. Actually, I think it would make more sense to offer hotel guests with pets the option of having dinner at the hotel on the covered porch (if necessary) instead of forcing them to leave their pet in the room to stain the carpet in retribution for being left alone in a strange environment. The Hotel Director reiterated their strict pet policy is due to "hotel guests who may have pet allergies". His tone left no doubt that to him a dog is meant to be left tied up outside on a chain. I explained to him that statistics clearly show only 10% of the general population suffer from pet allergies and at least 3/4 of that number is due to allergies to cats (look it up). That leaves only 2.5% of his hotel guests who may potentially have an allergy to our small dog which is an absurd basis for the hotel's draconian pet policy. There are actually more people in the general population, 11%, who suffer from fragrance allergies. Does that mean Dalen Hotel should ban guests who use perfume from all public areas of the hotel? I think not. It's all so absurd and hypercritical. Clearly if he wants to ban dogs from the hotel because he doesn't like dogs he should just say so. But to use "pet allergy!" as a justification for his policy just doesn't make any sense and serves only as a convenient excuse. He seemed surprised when I told him of the deplorable condition of the carpet in our "pet room". He should pay it a visit sometime. Clearly Dalen Hotel has lost not only the revenue we were not allowed to spend to have a nice dinner in the hotel. They have also lost a repeat customer.

Room Tip: Do not even think of staying at Hotel Dalen if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Exceptional hotel in marvelous sourroundings. Nice friendly staff and very good food with local and traditional dishes. Good wine list. Lovely rooms with beatiful view. We will definetely be back! Even a room without own bathroom work very well. Plenty of towels and other accessories:-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PerdigonTroms_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlesheim, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel draws its breath from its history, the location and the building itself. Dalen is a terrific little village, very peaceful... And the hotel-building is extraordinary. The rooms are ok (although they lack television), and the staff is friendly. The diner however, was a disappointment - some dishes were barely warm; it was good traditional food, but it was not... The right food at the right place... In general, the place is completely and ridicously overpriced... If sleeping in a funny building is for you, go for it, otherwise have a coffee and leave...

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalen
14.6 mi away
Morgedal Hotell and Guesthouse
19.0 mi away
Quality Straand Hotel
6.7 mi away
Rauland Hogfjellshotell
Rauland Hogfjellshotell
#1 of 2 in Rauland
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Seljord Hotel
Seljord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Seljord Municipality
45 reviews
8.9 mi away
Groven Camping & Hyttegrend
Groven Camping & Hyttegrend
#1 of 11 in Vinje Municipality
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalen Bed and Breakfast
Dalen Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Tokke Municipality
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalen Hotel

Property: Dalen Hotel
Address: Hotellvegen 33, Dalen 3880, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Tokke Municipality > Dalen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dalen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalen Hotel is a fairytale hotel, build in 1894 in grand romantic style with dragonheads, towers and balconys. The paper "Varden" wrote in 1894: "The new elegant furnished Hotel at Dalen, at the top of the Bandak waters, is now ready to recieve guests".After early golden days and later years of decay the hotel was in 1994, after years of restauration finished to welcome its guests again, all restored back to its original beauty. It has the same soul, calmness, peace and atmosphere as the wooden castle that opened for more than 110 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dalen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalen Hotel Telemark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing