We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing and excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baroness Luxury Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Baroness Luxury Safari Lodge
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived at the lodge nd wer given 2 rooms to the right of the main lodge, simply beautiful and so lodge style, nothing to do with these luxury sterile rooms we stay all over the world, it was rustic, spotless clean, and just relaxing. huge king side bed, pre-heated electric blanket bed, wild bathroom!, open shower, center bathtub.
The ladies running the property were very accomodating, friendly and attentive, asking if we wanted tea or coffee, made sure the fire places were on when you came back ( it was a little bit chilly the first night outside, great though next to the fireplace.
Food was well prepared and good. (I don't expect to eat Michelin style on a game safary lodge.)
Wildlife right next to the lodge (rhinos on the second day)
Game ride interesting with a good guide, the lion cage is kinda strange, either add some cats
or close this part of the trip. The "safari" truck was too big and too noisy, the horse back ride on the second day was much more fun and closer to nature. Everybody can do it!!! Just walking!

Room Tip: Can only recommend the rooms we had, have not seen other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
28
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

A very good location: 15min by car from Plett but it already feels like being in the wild. The lodge is decorated with very good taste and elegance. The fireplaces, sofas and astonishing views are an invitation to relax and unite with nature. The included 2 hour safari tour is fantastic although the reserve is not amongst the biggest.
Last but not least: children are welcome (ours was 6) and the rooms are spacious.
Definitely a place where to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arriving at the Baroness Lodge, we were so excited as we paid for a five star weekend and by the (far off) looks of the setting and surroundings, it looked idyllic. One can see that this lodge definitely WAS five star at some stage and then left to deteriorate... There were only domestic staff on the premises and no one that could give us a bit of background or even any information on the game farm. NO SUPERVISION. I do not blame the staff for poor service, but rather the OWNERS of this lodge which were no where to be seen. Dinner was average as you pay for a five star dinner, we received lasagna. The rooms and the rest of the lodge are in desperate need of a good clean, as everything, including our bedding smelled of smoke (from the fires they make all around and in the rooms) as well as our clothes. The ceilings were also covered in dozens of spider webs. Whenever we asked for drinks or coffee it looked like they are doing us a huge favor.
What a disappointing trip this one was as it could have been so pleasant. Again, I am BLAMING the owners for letting such a beautiful place go to waste by not supervising and expecting guests to pay for luxury when the LUXURY is long gone...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri L, Marketing at The Baroness Luxury Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. As it is our goal to ensure that every guest has a memorable experience, it is always disappointing when we get feedback that is not positive, however it is also an opportunity to use this feedback to improve the experience for our future guests.

The Baroness Game Lodge is positioned as a 4 star experience, and as such we are aware that attention to detail and cleanliness is of the utmost importance and so we will take the relevant feedback to heart and ensure that the very strict service standards we have set for ourselves are met on a consistent basis.

Without knowing the exact date of the visit it is difficult to comment on the lack of visible management, except to say that visible management is a service standard that we take very seriously.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My mother and myself visited this past week August 2012 and the place was totally awesome. Staff was outstanding, food was great, and the rooms were amazing. I would truly recommend if your in the area to visit both the game reserve and to stay at the lodge.

Room Tip: If there is 3 or more of you stay in the cabin - view will be worth the extra walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My family and I travelled to Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve last week and had a truly wonderful time! It is well-located close enough to Plettenberg Bay but far enough that you feel you are in the wilderness. There are 10 rooms each individually decorated and all offering something different and special.
The staff were very warm and friendly and our Game Ranger was extremely knowledgeable. We saw lots and lots of animals and had time to stop at each new group and learn about the species. Dinner was warm and toasty in front of the log fire in the dining room and breakfast was warm outside on the sunny patio. The lodge is child - friendly with a play area, small pool and lovely gardens & grounds. The animals are free-roaming (apart from lion & crocs) and they frequently stroll up onto the hotel lawn.
We loved our stay here and would definitely recommend Plettenberg bay Game Reserve as a great family getaway.

Room Tip: At Plett Game Reserve, there are some rooms set apart from the main building that have the most spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Got to see and explore everything we wanted, easily and authentically. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCad129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We were on a road trip from Cape Town to Tsitsikamma and compared to the other accommodation we had booked over the internet claiming to be luxury accommodation this was by far the best.

We stayed at the Baroness for one night (would have loved to have stayed 2) and did an afternoon game drive. All in all it was a wonderful experience. The staff were very helpful, friendly and obliging. The food was tasty and home cooked. There were some reviews saying that there was no manager present, however during our stay the manager was there. The rooms were clean and tidy and the sheets fresh.

To us it felt like a real Quaint Kenyan Safari Experience. Speaking from an ex- South African point of view, who lived in the Heart of Sarafi Country, Kwa-Zulu Natal ,one has to remember that this is Africa and for African standards this IS good. My Partner who is Australian and had never been to Africa before loved the experience, expecially the 2 and a half hour private game drive.

Should we return to Plett, we will definitely return to the Baroness.

Room Tip: tea and coffee making facilities we in the room we had. However breakfast and dinner are included i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LS_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve
9.3 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
17.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.4 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
6.5 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baroness Luxury Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baroness Luxury Safari Lodge

Property: The Baroness Luxury Safari Lodge
Address: Uniondale / Wittedrift Road, Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Baroness Luxury Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Plett Accommodation is a historic and charming colonial-style Safari Lodge that was built in early 1800 by Baron Joachim von Plettenberg, an early South African pioneer and conservationist, who used the original, smaller Lodge as his base to explore the then untamed African landscapes. Built from local stone, the Safari Lodge has lost little of its original 'out of Africa' feel and has spectacular views across rolling lawns where zebra and antelope roam freely, to the indigenous forests and majestic Tsitsikamma mountains in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Baroness Luxury Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing