We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingfisher Park Birdwatchers Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$332
$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Demi View Motel(Mossman)(Great Value!)
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$744
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$108
$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$162
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Lagoons(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$137
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$121
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$187
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
45
14
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
14
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird watchinggreat birdingbird speciesself cateringpittakingfisher parktree frogsscrub fowlself contained unitwell equipped kitchentwin roompapuan frogmouthwi fifriendly hostsstayed for nightsnew ownersgood size
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 64 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had hoped to stay at Kingfisher with our three children who are all new to birding, but all extremely excited and interested. Unfortunately we were told in the rudest terms possible that we were not welcome despite two of the three kids qualifying under the guidelines on the website. No discussion was entered into, and the aggression we encountered left our eldest boy in tears. If that is any indication of the quality of the hospitality one could expect at this lodge, I would not be able to recommend it to my worst enemy. You should be ashamed of yourselves especially given the amount of people who have gone out of their way to encourage our children's enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Hamish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redneckedcrake, Owner at Kingfisher Park Birdwatchers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We are sorry that the reviewer was so upset, but we certainly weren't rude or aggressive. We just pointed out that the Lodge grounds are not really suitable for young children (there is a creek with a steep bank) and also that we had an overseas tour group staying. We try to keep the Lodge grounds as a quiet environment for birdwatching and it would be very hard to keep three young children from disturbing our other guests. We are the first to encourage young children to have an interest in birdwatching and we do have them to stay, but generally people book in advance and check that it is OK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We came to Kingfisher Park Birdwatchers Lodge for birdwatching opportunities and were not disappointed. Furthermore, our hosts were extremely solicitous and helpful in these endeavors.The accommodations were simple clean and comfortable.Our room had a nicely equipped kitchen. The dinners offered were very nice "home-style" meals that were very satisfying.This was a very fun and relaxing couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlanticTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stayed here for a few days in November. The accommodation is clean, comfortable, spacious and everything needed in a beautiful location. At night the sounds of nature are everywhere and the lodge is visited by an amazing array of wildlife.
The owners Keith and Lindsay are the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they offered lots of helpful suggestions which made my stay outstanding.
The surrounding area is a birdwatchers paradise with numerous endemic species such as the Golden Bowerbird nearby.
Although this is not a pretentious hotel it's worth 5 stars! Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Every room is good.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The accommodation here is comfortable, clean and very adequate but I agree with the other reviewers that the main attractions are the wildlife and the welcome provided by Keith and Lindsay. The morning bird tour conducted by Keith is very worthwhile, he has an excellent knowledge of the local wildlife including the birdcalls which helped us track down some birds missing on our list. The bird feeders draw in a good selection of birds by day and hungry bandicoots by night. There are some excellent birding spots a short drive from Kingfisher Park and I would recommend it as a base to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaidbackBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

A fantastic piece of paradise - birdwatching heaven in close proximity to Mt Lewis and it's endemics. Keith and Linsday were supportive and gracious hosts even providing us with free breakfast as we had forgotten to bring any to this self-catering location. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit which was middle of the range but clean and comfortable. There also lodge-style rooms and camping facilities. Waking up to the birds is the most relaxing experience you'll have in this part of the world!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pezoporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews