We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Night Sky Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kohukohu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Night Sky Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Kohukohu B&B and Inns
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

So quite & peaceful over looking the Hokianga Harbour, with mist one morning, clear skys the next & clouds on our last morning. You can just sit & watch the changing water view. So so peaceful you feel so welcome to be their.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight with the kids. Most hospitable, helpful, friendly reception and welcome. Loved the beds and shower- and the stars were just spectacular!!
A really cute, quaint motel with nicely appointed rooms, lots of parking and really old fashioned hospitality. Super friendly++++
My city kids were wowed by the amazing stars- zero light pollution meant a spectacular sight- definitely return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JoLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Clean, spacious and absolutely warm and toasty .... Felt so close to the stars giving us a cosmic evening and the morning mist and fog lifting off the hokianga harbour giving an amazing and serene view ... Complimentary coffee & tea, the kitchen very clean and tidy and dining table outside giving us the opportunity to all sit and chat ... Whilst giving us the opportunity to be able to sit outside our rooms on the verandah all rugged up whilst sipping on some nz wine was an absolute treat ... Big beds, clean linen, electric blanket and heaters in the room with closet space behind the door and clean toilet with a huge hot shower and not to forget wifi ... all the luxuries of home whilst nestled in kohukohu on our way through to motukaraka .... Enjoyed my stay immensely, recommend to all, will be definitely be going back ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I intended to drive straight through Kohukohu but missed the last ferry across the Hokianga so had to stay overnight. I'm so glad I did! Kohukohu itself is well worth a stop and is a photographer's paradise. The view from Night Sky Lodge is gorgeous.

The Lodge is very clean, spacious, and comfortable. Rooms open up with double doors onto a verandah that surrounds the entire lodge and chairs are provided on this verandah to make the most of the views over the Hokianga and of the night sky. With almost no ambient light, the stars are stunning. Listening to the fish jumping and calls of native birds is relaxing.

The beds are comfortable, although quite high and I found the mattress a bit soft. Linen is excellent quality, as are the towels. Water pressure in the shower is really good and little extras such as quality body wash and shampoo are provided. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and heating for those colder nights.

A communal kitchen is very well equipped. Basic tea, coffee, milk, bread, butter and spread supplies are included. There was even a jug of milk fresh from the cow.

I was pleasantly surprised to find there was good cellphone reception there. On leaving, I learned that free WiFi had been available.

There is a clock-radio in the rooms but no TV, which is a blessing as conversations from adjoining rooms could be heard clearly. The Lodge was full when I stayed and noise did not carry beyond the rooms right beside ours but in an otherwise very quiet environment the sound was annoying.

The owners are friendly and welcoming and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Hokianga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpidaChik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This lodge is pretty new so everything still looks very new. Some of the rooms overlook the water which is nice. The rooms are fairly spacious. The beds are comfortable with good quality linen. There is no carpet in the bedrooms (maybe lino?) which gives a cold finish to the place.
The owner Stephanie is welcoming and helpful.
There is a shared kitchen area which would be handy to cook your own meals. I didn't use this.
I drove here after a tour of Cape Reigna. It took around an hour from kaitaia.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohukohu
14.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
13.2 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
12.5 mi away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Night Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Sky Lodge

Property: Night Sky Lodge
Address: 6 Marriner Street | Kohukohu, Hokianga , Northland, Kohukohu, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kohukohu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kohukohu
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing