We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Gem in Middle of Nowhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kosta Boda Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kosta
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“An Amazing Gem in Middle of Nowhere!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Probably the only reason you'd go to Kosta if you're from overseas, is to visit the Kosta Boda glass making factory! They do have outlet shopping there as well but that's probably not why someone from overseas would visit! It's a very dull drive from Stockholm to Kosta so my advice is to take the flight as the drive is just through an endless forest! However when you arrive in Kosta, this hotel is a surprise. Outside the front is a stretch limo (which collects people from the airport - so a good reason to fly here), but the hotel doesn't look much from the outside. However once inside, if you're a fan of beautiful glass art, you'll be overwhelmed with the beautiful glass which is just everywhere.

The rooms aren't large - in fact quite compact but they're beautifully decorated with glass objects including lovely lamps. The amenities in the bathrooms are basic but the bathroom works well with a good shower.

But the reason you go to this hotel is for the wonderful spa area - an indoor and an outdoor pool (depending on what temperature you want) and the indoor pool has glass objects displayed in display areas underneath the pool, every spa service you could require, a gym, sauna, and also VIP rooms for private spa parties!

Also the hotel has a superb restaurant and a very special glass bar - both of which are very special. The glass bar area is just amazing in terms of how it's been crafted by the one master craftsman and based on a sea theme. Also the bar offers a wonderful selection of drinks and wines. The restaurant is lovely - and there is an Australian chef who's been in Sweden for some years, who is at the helm in the kitchen, and he's doing an amazing job! The food is seriously a highlight here!

And of course within just a couple of minutes walk of the hotel is the wonderful Kosta Boda shop - we didn't have time to do a factory tour but we did spend time in the Orrefors and Kosta Boda shops admiring the beautiful works of art that emanates from this glass making region of Sweden.

It seems the hotel is well set up for conference groups as well. So it's a bit of an oasis in the middle of a region which doesn't have much going on but if you're keen to explore this glass making region, then you must stay at the Kosta Boda Art Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    139
    36
    13
    4
See reviews for
71
182
3
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited The Kosta Boda Art hotel with a group of friends, mostly to get away from town and have a relaxing time, eat some good food and do some shopping the day after..
We did not get any immediate help from the receptionist, they just were not interested in helping us to check in. it took a while, so the worst of this hotel I would say is the reception customer care..they should really work on that one!
We liked the spa, with a nice relaxing area with a fireplace, quiet and pretty, a large pool that features glass art underneath, really pretty.. a gym outside the spa completes the experience! The food is good but a bit overpriced. The restaurant staff were nice and their wine recommendation was accurate, overall a nice experience, the glass bar is really arty and trendy , we liked it a lot!

The rooms a neatly decorated with glass art themes, each room has a theme with Kosta Boda artists special jewels, the rooms are small but for a night ot two it is not big deal..the beds are really comfy.

There some outlets in the area, and good shopping alternatives, including Kosta Boda outlet shop, quiet a lot if you are interested in glass art. no night life at all besides the glass bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoniMagnusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We visited The Kosta Boda Art hotel during the holidays (december 2013) and it does have a nice spa. Especially nice is the large pool which contains glass art underneath the surface - fun! The food is good but overpriced. A main course was 265 swedish kronor which is a lot and the quality of the food did not live up to that. The restaurant staff were nice though and the glass bar had an interesting selection of drinks/cocktails.

The rooms a neatly decorated with glass art themes - and most of it is for sale if you fall in love with some special piece. The normal rooms are very very small and so are the beds.

There are few things to do outside the hotel unless you are very interested in glass art. There is an outlet across the street, but no night life at all.

Room Tip: If you can afford it opt for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annikajeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riversdale
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent one night in this amazing hotel with Swedish/Danish friends, their booking, while visiting the glassmaking area in Sweden. The hotel is different to anything that we have stayed in visiting many parts of the world- the glass bar with its many shades of blue glass is unique. The table, and we took the tasting menu, was superb with very good and interesting accompanying wines. Rooms very good with lots of unique art glass. And then the full gamut of swimming pool, gym, spa, steam baths and sauna.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at the Glass Hotel for ten nights. I was very disappointed by the poor quality of receptionists for the money I paid. They were not at all helpful. Maybe they are in (to) Swedish, but to a minority American, they were rather rude. Every time I asked them something in English, they appear tired or not happy.
On a contrary, the staff at restaurant and bar were very kind and professional.
I also stayed a couple of nights in Kalmar. The receptionists there were polite and nice. They were happy to assist me, and my taxi was right at the door five minutes before my requested time on both morning. So, I know it is not due to Swedish people or culture - it's isolated to Kosta Boda Art Hotel receptionists.
I have traveled all over the world (before becoming the member of Tripadvisor). I consider the receptionists the face of the hotel. Management should train them to be more corteous of their guests regardless of their appearance or lack of Swedish language skill.
I was awaken by someone using the downstairs' room who enjoys moving his/her chairs around at 5:15 AM. Usually, I will go to gym, but this hotel does not make it available until 7 AM! Gym should be open at 6 AM for the size of this hotel - it was too crowded at 7 PM. The door is controlled by the room card key - it is not hard to change it to be available from 6 AM, when many of Americans work out.
I will never stay here again unless I have no other choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rico_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is really amazing. From ground to roof it is incredibly designed and packed with glass art. The pool areas (indoor and outdoor!) are also beautifully designed and very relaxing. The restaurant is excellent. But still there is room for improvement: Breakfast is not up to par.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed only 1 night - which we regret - we would have liked staying longer ,-)) .... the hotel is an art exhibition of its own ,-)). the rooms are decorated depending on the glass artist of the hotel wing, they are maybe a bid small - but everything there, what you would expect (2 beds, 2 loung chairs, minibar, big flat screen tv, a lot of glass). the pool area is exceptional - especially the indoor pool with the glas organments in the floor - the outdoor pool is very spaceous. Dinner at the restaurant was only "solala" (you could only choose between 3 first (small portions), 3 main and 3 sweet courses, and the price was quite high) - but I have to mention, that the quality of the food was excellent and it was beautifully decorated on glass plates). The bar is beautiful and worth to visit (you only have to get your drinks by your self and wait a bid, as the service is typically "swedish" (which means "slow")). The staff at check-in/out was very friendly - unfortunately not all fluent in English.
The Kosta Outlet was not really a visit worth - but the glass blowing show was great (even if I had already seen several at Murano (Italy) ...) and the glass art exhibition is a main attraction. We spend a lot of time at the Kosta Shop - unfortunately (or luckily) we only had limited resources in our spare luggate ... otherwise we would have shopped without end ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michig_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kosta
22.4 mi away
PM & Vanner Hotel
PM & Vanner Hotel
#1 of 12 in Vaxjo
172 reviews
22.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal
22.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Royal Corner
1.1 mi away
Kosta Lodge
Kosta Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kosta
14 reviews
13.2 mi away
No photo provided
Orrefors Hotel
#1 of 3 in Orrefors
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosta Boda Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosta Boda Art Hotel

Property: Kosta Boda Art Hotel
Address: 75 Stora Vaegen, Kosta 360 52, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Kronoberg County > Kosta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kosta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kosta Boda Art Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kosta Boda Art Hotel is a design hotel that explodes in color, shape and enjoyment originating in the glass. Business amenities with a level of service that will make you feel truly pampered. The various hotel environments and hotel rooms are designed by Kosta Boda's designers. Kosta Boda Art Hotel spa is the possibility of deep relaxation in a tranquil oasis and by exercise and beneficial treatments renew their strength and energy. Glass art is here in focus, enjoy a swim with art glass exhibition under water. The hotel offers three restaurants with the latest addition of Brasserie by EDz under the direction of chef Edin Dzemat. A modern brasserie where innovative dishes are served in a rustic setting. The hotel also offers a la carte in the Linnea art restaurant and a bar menu in the Glasbaren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kosta Boda Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing