We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Par for the course 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Ping Garden & Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mae Taeng
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Par for the course 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

As with many other reviewers, we recently stayed at the Royal Ping as part of a cycling tour with Spice Roads (excellent tour by the way). As the hotel was part of a cycling tour, our expectations were lowered and the hotel provided the basics. The rooms were relatively clean and were generous in size. The bathrooms weren't of the variety that you would want to spend an extended amoung of time in but they were serviceable and had plenty of hot water.

If travelling here as part of a cycling tour, it is helpful that the hotel offers relatively decent massages (thai massages at 150B/hour) and the hotel has a decently stocked gift shop (that also sells snacks such as soft drinks, beer, chips, etc.).

While the hotel certainly isn't a destination hotel that would one go out of their way to visit, it is adequate for its intended purpose provided that your expectations are set accordingly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheManT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    14
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently as part of a cycling/trekking tour with Active Thailand. At the time we stayed, I think we were the only guests, so we were well looked after, had a lovely table out by the pool for our breakfasts and dinners. The room was clean and comfortable, huge bed which was lovely after a full day of cycling. No problems at all with the room, very large, didn't have a safe but that wasn't a problem. Food was excellent, as we were the only guests, they looked after us really well and the service was great, staff are super friendly (even though they don't speak a lot of English we still managed to communicate with them). The facilities were amazing, I think the resort caters for big groups and weddings, so there are conference rooms, a bar, nice pool. And the gardens are gorgeous! Just need to take and use the bug spray as the mosquitos are fierce.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel, as part of our cycle trip in the north of Chiang Mai.
Very relaxing and quiet. Not many people here when we arrived. It looked like they catered for groups or individuals.
Rooms very comfortable with air cond and good facilities. Lovely pool area, not enough sun beds when others arrived.
Lovely grounds right on the river

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingnic1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Nice hotel located outside of any noise, the hotel is out of town and away from all the bustle, with the price it costs the hotel offers a calm and peaceful place, ideal for those seeking escape from the bustle and yet - at a decent price.
The rooms themselves are simple enough but comfortable and clean. Breakfast is simple and nothing to expect much.
Hotel staff courteous and helpful.
Definitely recommend to all those seeking escape from the crowds at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The rooms are arranged in a two-storey buildings, ask for a room on the ground floor to avoid draggi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I spent a few nights here with a group recently. The grounds were pretty and well-cared for, and the staff were nice enough, but the room furnishings were kind of cheap and uncomfortable, and the bathroom was beat-up and musty.

The pool was nice, and you could get beers from the bar and relax amid the scenery. They do Thai massages for 300 baht/hr; I got two and the masseuses did a great job. The room patios/balconies were very nice but someone is logging the property adjacent, so forget about relaxing there while it's light out. Food was OK but bland -- little excuse for that in Thailand. Laundry prices were a little gougy so I did it all in the sink and used the patio to dry it.

The location was great for hiking, elephants, and bicycling around the area. It's in Mae Taeng, about an hour away from Chiang Mai. Pretty country.

Basically I liked everything but the food, the bathrooms, and the room furnishings which made for a poor night's sleep. But those are biggies. I think this place only caters to tour groups so they don't have to try very hard, and they don't. It's solidly adequate, for better or worse.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I went here with a big group of people so we hired out special rooms and such for the numbers that we had. The rooms were clean and nice and the beds were comfortable. The room we stayed at had the bathroom which was outside which I didn't like at all. The sink was exposed to the elements which meant that it tended to get dirty which wasn't a good experience. On the whole it'll be good for backpackers who just want a clean and nice room for a few nights. I wouldn't recommend it for people who are into luxury resorts.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madzzzz097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

It is located in Mae Tang and far away from Chiang Mai. There is something good about the resort. Individual can live seperately with American style Log houses. It is quiet and not far from ping river. It is relaxing for bamboo rafting along the river. However there are many stalkers who wanted to sell the unwanted goods.

I enjoyed the elephant safari tour and visited elephant school. Many elephants are smart like human and play the soccer. One elephant is professional for painting. Animal shows are popular among tourists with kids.

Bicyle hire and Internet servie is available. Swimming pool is shaped and not a conventional style. If there is no tour service, it is pretty boring to stay there. I am fourtunate to followed their tours for sight seeing. Doi Inthanon national park, orchid and butterfly farm, Mae tang monkey and dog schools are interesting. Tribal village and Mae tang waterfalls are not to be missed.

On the first day, I was so bored. However I got some pleasant atmosphere after touring with the friendly staff. TV reception was so poor due to the mountains nearby. Nighttime, I walked bare foot a long the path way of garden. I was blessed with frog singing. In the morining I was greeted by different kinds of birds.

The American breakfast meal served in the morning is not my standard. However thai meals quality are acceptable.

It was my first time to stay at country style resort in the isolated place. Although it is not perfect, I have some satisfacton about the staff hospitality and nature charms of location. There is no noisy night entertainment like Chiangmai. For solo traveller, it will be so boring at night.

Room Tip: Royal suite or presidential suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Taeng
6.0 mi away
Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng
18.5 mi away
32 Coffee Hill & Resort
32 Coffee Hill & Resort
#1 of 2 in Mae Taeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lhongkhao Resort
Lhongkhao Resort
#5 of 12 in Mae Taeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
0.0 mi away
The Road View Hotel
The Road View Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mae Taeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bamboo Country Lodge
Bamboo Country Lodge
#11 of 17 in Mae Taeng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ping Garden & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ping Garden & Resort

Property: Royal Ping Garden & Resort
Address: 110/2-14, 52nd Kilometer, Chiangmai-Fang Rd | ต. บ้านเป้า, Mae Taeng 50150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Taeng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mae Taeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Ping Garden & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Ping Garden and Resort is located in the north of Thailand. The area is a natural treasure trove, surrounded by a broad bend in Chiang Mai River Ping, the breath taking scenery, the peace and quiet of the countryside all make for a rejuvenating break from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Royal Ping Garden & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ping Garden & Resort Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Mae Taeng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing