We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Wat Ban Den
from $60.00
More Info
from $123.75
More Info
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
119
36
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
119
36
4
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 160 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

This temple is relatively new (and still being built) with sparkling dragons and glittering peacocks, chickens, and elephants. There are many stupas in the center of varying styles and multiple temples to enter in the main area. The temples are beautifully decorated with colors, details, and varying styles as well. We went in the morning (8am bright and early) and it was spectacular because there was only one other group present. We had an entire large temple to explore to ourselves with the bells chiming in the wind and the mountains becoming more clear as the day went on. We paid a red truck ฿1800 to take us from Chiang Mai, to the sticky waterfalls, to the Grand Canyon, the bus station (to buy tickets for another trip), and back to our hostel in Chiang Mai. We did not pay an entry fee. Definitely in my top 5 temples (and I’ve been here for 3 months).

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 567christyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

It was a part of our tour. I was expecting an average temple but it is much more than average. It is nice to see that temple.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2018 via mobile

Magnificent complex of temples that really is impressive. Beautiful wood carving wall and structure. Colorful dragon and animal creatures in front of every temple. Bluish main temple that really stands out majestically, the reason why people just simply call this place blue temple. It's about 1 hour drive from Chiang Mai and worth to visit. One of the most beautiful place I've been in Chiang Mai.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank bobbysumarkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018

There are plenty of temples in Thailand but this one is special. We arrived at 10am, the place was empty which made it even better. Not fighting through tourists, no-one trying to sell you anything.

The place is stunning, we spent a couple of hours here and even our young kids were blown away by the architecture, colours and atmosphere.

A really special place.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Darren1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

So today we went on a road trip about 45 minutes to an hour out side of Chiang Mai and ended up at Wat Ban Den a Buddhist temple.
All that can be said is WOW WOW WOW the weird and the wonderful there were about 6 temples to the front of the property.
Then construction to the back of the property I could see about another 4 temples.
So I just discovered online that there are 12 Pagodas/temples representing the zodiac animals signs.
Amongst the newer temple there are 2 very old you can see them in one of the photos.
You need a whole day just to wonder in and out of the buildings the architecture both in and out of the building is just amazing.
Lady’s make sure that you dress in accordance to the temple rules covered shoulders and knees, and everyone make sure you remove you shoe when entering building there are signs posted everywhere.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 2mumies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews