We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Wat Ban Den
from $60.30
More Info
from $123.75
More Info
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
119
36
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
119
36
4
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 160 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2018

There are plenty of temples in Thailand but this one is special. We arrived at 10am, the place was empty which made it even better. Not fighting through tourists, no-one trying to sell you anything.

The place is stunning, we spent a couple of hours here and even our young kids were blown away by the architecture, colours and atmosphere.

A really special place.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Darren1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

So today we went on a road trip about 45 minutes to an hour out side of Chiang Mai and ended up at Wat Ban Den a Buddhist temple.
All that can be said is WOW WOW WOW the weird and the wonderful there were about 6 temples to the front of the property.
Then construction to the back of the property I could see about another 4 temples.
So I just discovered online that there are 12 Pagodas/temples representing the zodiac animals signs.
Amongst the newer temple there are 2 very old you can see them in one of the photos.
You need a whole day just to wonder in and out of the buildings the architecture both in and out of the building is just amazing.
Lady’s make sure that you dress in accordance to the temple rules covered shoulders and knees, and everyone make sure you remove you shoe when entering building there are signs posted everywhere.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 2mumies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

This was by far the most beautiful temple I have seen anywhere. The buildings and statues are all in pristine condition. This temple sould not be missed when you visit Thailand.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018

My partner and I decided to escape the tourists in Chiang Mai and head out of town a bit to Wat Ban Den expecting to see another of Thailand's many Buddhist temples, but not expecting the gem we discovered. Wat Ban Den is a bit of a journey to get to, but once you are there, the richness and variety of 'chapels' Chedi and Buddhas was truly awe inspiring.

The Wat sits atop a bluff with spectacular views of the countryside below, but the REAL views are of the various buildings, Buddhas, gods and Chedi on the grounds. The photos others have posted do a fiar bit to capture the beauty of this Wat and if visiting Buddhist temples is part of your Thai experience, then Wat Ban Den is one you should visit. It is a more modern temple, so you won't have quite the history, but there are parts of the temple that are quite old.

Definitely one of my favorite Wats in Thailand.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank tracytC5333OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018

We have been visiting for a decade, and each year more things have been added. The tour buses arrive by 9am, but worth a visit. We think this is the best wat complex in Thailand. Go through the area by the stupas to find the reclining Buddha behind it.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank John_G525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews