We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Property - Good Room Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng
Ranked #1 of 11 Mae Taeng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Relaxing Property - Good Room Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed one night at this property. The villa was comfortable with a nice bed, sitting area, and shower. The large pool area in the middle is relaxing at night and it is pleasant to sit outside of your unit and listen to the water trickle.

A nice place to relax at to get away from things and listen to the sounds of nature.

Mae Tang has limited dining options and the room service food was well prepared and quite tasty. We enjoyed dining next to the villa outside.

This is a good place to go to escape city life with someone special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the back facing the pool such that you can dine and enjoy the pool and waterfall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    91
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
83
120
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was at this resort with my girl friend and we enjoyed our time here so much. Our lovely executive villa is facing the swimming pool & surrounded by lushly greens & mountains. The bed was awesome with 6 pillows & the toiletries was awesome especially the body lotion & shampoo.

Breakfast was great with fresh fruit juice & a great selection of foods & drinks. The banana fried fritters was speechless.....perfect!! I will definitely stay here again when I am back to Chiang Mai. Very service oriented & 5 star overall!!

Room Tip: all the executive room is facing the pool & own veranda with day bed. u can jump into the pool r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaifreak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights there

Pros
- location near the elephant camp. Go to the bar near the river in the morning: the view is incredible with elephants crossing the river
- pool is huge and well decorated
- food is excellent, including the breakfast

Cons
- remote area: your only choice is the hotel for everything. Not so many things to do except the resort and the elephant camp. You have to eat in the hotel. Fortunately food is great, but you may like some variety
- comfort of bedrooms was not great: mattress was bad and sliding doors for bathroom never worked (in the 2 rooms we had)
- service was not always very good. We lost an object there with no economical but sentimental value: the staff could hardly understand our problem and never really tried to help. Even after, I sent them an email they never replied to

In my opinion, 3 nights there is a max. You'd better stay 1 or 2 nights

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toto92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a deluxe villa - well worth the extra money for the extra space and direct access to the pool. People have mentioned the complex is quite remote but this is what i love about this place. There is lots to do such as taking a walk to the nearby elephant paarks, you can wwalk straight in and feed the elephants etc. Opposite the entrance to the elephant park on a wednesday morning (between 6am and 9am) there is a small market in the square. Also nearby are several small shops including a coffee shop. If you turn left out of the complex and up the hill on the right there are villagers selling local gifts (if you go on one the elephant/ox tours they take you here anywhay) Also nearby is the people with the rings round there necks. All in all lots to do which if you were staying in the city you would spend loads of time travelling. We also took part in white water rafting which was approx 20min away.

The hotel itself was well maintained and we always had the pools to ourselves as it was quiet. The pool bar opened at 1pm and stayed open until the night time. We ate in the restaraunt every night and found the meals reasonably priced. Someone mentioned the pizza was disappointing...i thought it was the best pizza i'd ever had, it was huge and we took half of it back to the room. Whilst i was there it was my birthday and they provided a cake for free too.

The staff were very friendly but there was a little bit of a communication breakdown as english wasn't spoken well. Breakfast included a range of cereals and fruits and you ordered hot food, again the staff told us in english they could cook rice or eggs, but we saw other people eating bacon, sausages, waffles etc which were were not told we could ask for. Again i think it was because of the language barrier.

Would highly recommend this resort, especially if you intend on going elephant trekking/rafting etc as they are all within walking distance...why sit on a coach!!!

Room Tip: go for a deluxe villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joanna21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is about an hours drive from the airport (about 800baht) and in a very remote location, but is very peaceful and great for a quite retreat.
Near the hotel there is an amazing elephant camp and also a zip line atraction. The elephants are really well looked after and seem to really enjoy the games they play and the treks they do. The owners hide nothing from tourists and have an amazing relationship with all the elepants (well worth a visit) . This is a 2 min walk from the hotel and the is a few local shops where you can purchase snack food and drinks etc.
The hotel is well maintained and centred around 2 big swimming pools.
Our villa was ideal size and in good condition with the usual sellection in the mini bar, 2 x 40" sony tvs, a good sized bath rooms and comfortable living area. The beds are also very good and comfy.
We had room service a few nights which was excellent and very reasonably priced. This is the only complaint I could have about the resort you are very restricted on eating out, they is no where near the resort so you are pretty much stuck with what the resort provide, but this did not bother us as the food standard is good in the resort.

I would recommend this resort for a quite retreat, if your a person which likes getting out and about this may be in the wrong location for you

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The welcome was very friendly and and the superior villa was an excellent choice. The room is very nice decorated and comfortable. The bathroom area is very special. The garden perch invites for a drink. The resort is of a huge size close to a river. You can watch the elephants in the morning. The pool area is simply perfect with jacuzzi and 2 large swimming pools where you can swimm through the bungalows.

Dinner and breafast at the pool are of a high quality. Everything is absolutely clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Amazing resort in the heart of the northern Thailand forests. The hotel is an hour drive from the airport and the city of Chiang Mai, located close to an elephants camp where you can do elephants riding or rafting on the river.
Private villas surrounded by pools with direct access to the pools for some of villas, the pools are well-maintained with small waterfalls and a huge hot Jacuzzi.
Luxurious rooms which are decorated with attention to the smallest detail. Isolated rooms and the feeling of accommodation in the heart of the forest.
We celebrated a private event and the hotel staff did everything to make the event successful, the hotel provided (without charge) a private dining room ,a staff person who was willing to respond to every request that we asked. Special thanks to Nim that worried that the event will meet precisely our desire.
Wi-Fi throughout the hotel at a reasonable level, polite service of all staff members.
We really enjoyed and we promised ourselves to return to more days and enjoy the scene.
Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If privacy is important to you, choose the rooms that are not close to pools, look for the pool hidd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Taeng
22.6 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
9.9 mi away
Lhongkhao Resort
Lhongkhao Resort
#4 of 11 in Mae Taeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lisu Lodge
Lisu Lodge
#1 of 17 in Mae Taeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 mi away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Bamboo Country Lodge
Bamboo Country Lodge
#11 of 17 in Mae Taeng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
12.6 mi away
32 Coffee Hill & Resort
32 Coffee Hill & Resort
#1 of 2 in Mae Taeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng

Property: Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng
Address: 168 Moo 2 | Kued Chang, Mae Taeng 50150, Thailand (Formerly Rawee Waree Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Taeng
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Taeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MINDFUL LIVING IN TREASURE DREAM RESORTA heavenly tranquilly boutique resort the stunned nestles discreetly a midst tropical garden where you can have relaxing holiday or to enjoy a romantic break with your chosen one. Synergy of Lanna Modern Style and luxuriously spacious villa are adapted to preserve the integrity of the environmental sensitivity and local communities that surrounded the resort.Our facilities approach to enhance the nature experience engrave with opulent services that can expected the top class 5 stars intended and all offered the warmest of smiles and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibsan Resort & Spa Maetaeng Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Mae Taeng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing