We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Khok Kloi
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed March 27, 2007

Stayed here for around 10 days over Christmas, it's very nice, but we had a much nicer stay two years earlier at the sister hotel in Hua Hin

Few gripes -

Bathroom doors are only half doors - make sure you are very close to your partner as there's no privacy

Pool villa is marketed as somewhere you can get an over all tan, believe me it's not ! you are overlooked by a number of other rooms/balconys and unless you are completely uninhibited you will need to cover up

While beer and sprits are very cheap, wine is the most expensive I've seen anywhere in the world, it's going to cost you around €40 for a very basic bottle - know idea why this is but if wine is your tipple of choice bring plenty of cash

The pool villa is very slippy when wet and there are a number of safety issues with the design which would not be allowed in other countries

The food is good, but it's all western fusion with thai - if you want the real deal you won't get it here

Overall - nice holiday but we'll be trying other places before coming back

  • Liked — Minimalist Design
  • Disliked — Toilets
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GuinnessIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    213
    63
    31
    17
See reviews for
143
507
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Aleenta Resort on Natai Beach. This boutique hotel had a very personal, private feel and although there were plenty of other people around it never felt too busy. The food was excellent. I would welcome a better selection of non sea food dishes but when asked if they could cook particular dishes not on the menu the chef was more than accomodating - absolutely delicious.

We stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments with it's own private pool. It was very nicely decorated - modern and spacious.

We hired a car at the airport which we used to drive into Phuket. It was nice to have the flexibility to go out for the day but to be honest we were both very happy to come back to the villa and spend time by our pool.

The staff were always very happy and smiling and gave very good service. We had no problems with communicating our wishes to the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Lovely finishing touches. Each room has a bose sound docking station with an ipod atatched - or you can use your own ipod.

We will definitely go back.

  • Liked — Spacious, modern, private
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

This place is truely great. We have just come back from a wonderful week there. We had an ocean view loft which was amazing with a deck which led onto an infinity pool with a view to the ocean below. We spent a long time just taking in that view!
The food was stunning with highlights being the Thai Tapas and the BBQ. Chef looked after us very well.
We had a treatment at the spa in a stunning room overlooking the beach - it was superb.
ALL the staff were professional and smiling and courteous. They have been trained very well and their English is accomplished which is more than I can say about my Thai!
I would recommend this resort, everybody needs to stay at Aleenta at least once in their life!
Keep up the good work.
We will be back!

  • Liked — The view of the ocean, the people and the food!
  • Disliked — Noisy air conditioning in room - but we were so relaxed we slept throught it!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Janner05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Singaore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2007

An amazing place to just get away from it all!

The people that have complained on this site about the service and the staff not speaking English very well made me very wary for absolutely no reason what so ever!!! The level of English spoken by the staff, as a whole was very good and a hell of a lot better than my or most other tourists’ command of Thai!

The service was fantastic, you are always greeted with a big smile, and the staffs do what ever they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We stayed in one of the ocean view lofts, which was very well maintained, very clean and spacious and the view at sunset sitting in the pool right in front of the deck was incredible to say the least.

The food was fantastic in both the restaurant and by the beach. The kitchen on 2 occasions made things that weren't on the menu that we felt like without any hesitation. The bar down by the beach is a cool place to just chill, the barmen make mean drinks, never skimping on the alcohol the beer is always ice cold.

For a short 4-day getaway you can’t do much better than this.

I have recommended Aleenta to all my friends and I will definitely go back.

Dan Masters.

  • Liked — The view from throughout the loft, sitting in the pool in front of the room watching the sunset
  • Disliked — Everything was great no complaints or dislikes at all.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

This place has a gorgeous beach, beautiful, comfortable rooms and an incredibly nice staff. The accommodations are just what you would expect and the property looks just like the pictures. My only major gripe has to do with the staff's lack of experience. While they are all very nice, the staff's inexperience is a bit of a drawback. For example, I slipped and fell just outside of my room in the presence of an Aleenta staff member. I was bleeding and in obvious pain. While the employee did come over to ask if I was ok, it took two separate requests to get ice and three requests to get bandages. The problem seems to be two-fold: 1) There is a major language barrier. Many people on staff do not seem to know much English (the main language used by a majority of the guests to communicate with the staff). So, as a result, you may get lemons when you ask a bucket of ice.; 2) Many members of the staff seem to be inexperienced. It was clear that the few members of the staff who have experience working in a higher-end resort were working overtime to train the majority of the staff.

Nice touch: Each room is equipped with a Bose SoundDock complete with an iPod Nano pre-loaded with music. If you don't like Aleenta's selections, you can always use the SoundDock to listen to your own iPod.

If you want spectacular views and don't mind a place that's a bit secluded and has a staff that requires a bit of patience and understanding, by all means make your reservation now. If instead you insist on a place whose service matches it's price, I'd wait at least 6 months before staying at the Aleenta in Phuket. I for one am looking forward to staying there again once the staff has been brough up to speed.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Inexperienced staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SpenserDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Martens Latem, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2007

Just got back from Aleenta Resort...Arrived in the afternoon and were greated by - what seemed afterwards - the best english speaking staff member..We tried to forget what we had read about the staff not speaking very well english but we really could not...We were delighted to see our 2 bedroom residence, no comment there... But, trying to place an order in the restaurant , ask information about boat trips, make an appointment at the spa, try to rent a car, was quite an experience and certainly not a nice one!!
And yes the Thai people are very friendly, and yes they keep on smiling, and no you are not supposed to get upset, but when - at the end of your stay - you pay the bill (which- by the way- had 200 USD too much on it) you wonder if this was worth the 3000 USD for 5 nights....
We certainly do not blaim the staff for not speaking english, but the management/owner who should hire english speaking staff, as most of the other guests were english speaking and had the same problems..
Would we stay there again?? I don't think so, again great accommodation but poor service..
M Seifert , Belgium

  • Liked — the beautiful design of the residences
  • Disliked — the lack of english speaking staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank M-Seifert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We spent over a week at Aleenta, in the Pool Suite and in the Ocean View Lofts. Both were amazing, worth every penny. The resort is beautifully designed, in both the rooms and the landscaping. The only complaint we had about the rooms were the floors - they seemed a little slippery since they were so smooth, in particular the stairs of the Loft.

We loved the isolation, the beach, the food, the pool, the cooking class, the spa treatments, and the yoga (definitely do the yoga class, the instructor was awesome! Aleenta provides one free class of yoga per week, and we wished we had hired the yoga instructor for more lessons).

Please be aware that the isolation of the resort has its pros and cons - the beach is completely empty, which is great, but there are absolutely zero restaurants within walking distance. Which means you'll either have to eat at the resort ( we loved the meals we had, but they are not cheap), rent a car and drive to restaurants (there are some really nice ones within a 15 minute drive), pay the resort to drive you to a restaurant, or live off snacks you can buy at the little stores along the road by the resort (not a very enjoyable option!).

I dont understand the complaints about the staff, but I appear to be more tolerant of the fact that English is not the first language of people in Thailand. We didnt have any problems communicating to the staff, and we found them all very sweet and accommodating. Remember, they do not get paid much, and they are only doing their jobs. Many of them live across the street in a dorm-like building, and put in long hours at the resort. We felt very bad for the security men in particular who worked outside the resort - they were doing 12 hour shifts. We made sure to bring them snacks and drinks, which I know they appreciated.

The resort *is* far away from Phuket, and we planned a few trips through the resort to visit some of the local islands. We luckily made friends with another couple who had rented a car, because the resort does charge a lot of money to drive you to Phuket. The local town is not within walking distance, but it is definitely within biking distance, and there are some good restaurants there. It's also not as far as Phuket, and was not that expensive to have the hotel drive us there.

But my feelings about this are if you are planning on spending so much money to stay at a resort like this, you have to accept the fact that everything is going to be in that price range - the room, the food, the spa treatments, the car service. There are no deals to be had when you stay at a place like Aleenta. If you are looking for a "bargain" this is not the place to find it.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — beach, architecture, interior design
  • Disliked — nothing really, except maybe the location, but this didnt bother me that much!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crazyhorse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khok Kloi
0.7 mi away
Akyra Beach Club Phuket
Akyra Beach Club Phuket
#2 of 5 in Takua Thung District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
7.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Coral Hideaway Beyond Phuket
2.3 mi away
Natai Beach Resort & Spa, Phang-nga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 33 Moo 5 | Pilai Beach, Khok Kloi 82140, Thailand (Formerly Aleenta Resort & Spa Phuket Phangnga)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Takua Thung District > Khok Kloi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Khok Kloi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa in Phang Nga is just 20 minutes north of the Phuket International Airport. Located on the sunset side of the Andaman Sea and the pristine Natai Beach,17KM of un spoilt beaches, almost exclusively for the guests of Aleenta are home to important wildlife, not least of all turtles & reef fish. The resort is perfect for families, couples & friends who wish to relax in the tranquil & incredible ocean front location. Linda Meredith, Spa Facialist to the Stars has her first wellness centre outside of the UK, where signature treatments such as VTOX & Facials are a must-try, in the Aruyah Spa complete 10 treatment rooms, and includes paraffin wax pedicures, OPI/ GEL manicures and a range of massage. Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa also has a purpose built & fully licensed Childrens club available all day, and cares for the children of the resort exclusively with a range of exciting & fun activities in their own Club house with paddling pool, away from the main hotel pool to provide extra tranquility for all guests as well as giving a dedicated play &learning place for children. Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa in Phang Nga is passionate about the environment. It was recently awarded the status of Thailand's Best Small Green Resort. Natai Beach has also been awarded 5 Stars for cleanliness of the beach and water quality. Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa offers a beautiful and private setting and is a perfect location for a romantic beach wedding and honeymoon. Aleenta's wedding planner is available to help create your dream celebration. Luxury of space coupled with personalized services and professional staff is the heart of why one chooses Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa in Phang Nga. The concept of "all suites, all private" is delivered in luxury rooms come with plenty of private space. Our luxury resort accommodation range in sizes from 80m for our smallest rooms to 600m for 2 and 3 bedroom beachfront villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aleenta Resort And Spa Phuket Phangnga
Aleenta Resort & Spa Phuket Phangnga Hotel Phang Nga
Aleenta Hotel Phuket Phangnga
Aleenta Resort Phuket Phangnga
Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa Phang Nga Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing