We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aleenta Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akyra Beach Club Phuket(Takua Thung District)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Sundara(Khok Kloi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,010)
Filter reviews
1,010 results
Traveler rating
618
262
73
36
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
618
262
73
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean view loftprivate poolaleenta phuketbeach frontpool residenceour honeymoonbeachfront villaliving roomphang ngathai restaurantoutdoor showerbedtime storycooking classandaman searented a carlittle touchespatong beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
766 - 771 of 1,010 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2007

An amazing place to just get away from it all!

The people that have complained on this site about the service and the staff not speaking English very well made me very wary for absolutely no reason what so ever!!! The level of English spoken by the staff, as a whole was very good and a hell of a lot better than my or most other tourists’ command of Thai!

The service was fantastic, you are always greeted with a big smile, and the staffs do what ever they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We stayed in one of the ocean view lofts, which was very well maintained, very clean and spacious and the view at sunset sitting in the pool right in front of the deck was incredible to say the least.

The food was fantastic in both the restaurant and by the beach. The kitchen on 2 occasions made things that weren't on the menu that we felt like without any hesitation. The bar down by the beach is a cool place to just chill, the barmen make mean drinks, never skimping on the alcohol the beer is always ice cold.

For a short 4-day getaway you can’t do much better than this.

I have recommended Aleenta to all my friends and I will definitely go back.

Dan Masters.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dan812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

This place has a gorgeous beach, beautiful, comfortable rooms and an incredibly nice staff. The accommodations are just what you would expect and the property looks just like the pictures. My only major gripe has to do with the staff's lack of experience. While they are all very nice, the staff's inexperience is a bit of a drawback. For example, I slipped and fell just outside of my room in the presence of an Aleenta staff member. I was bleeding and in obvious pain. While the employee did come over to ask if I was ok, it took two separate requests to get ice and three requests to get bandages. The problem seems to be two-fold: 1) There is a major language barrier. Many people on staff do not seem to know much English (the main language used by a majority of the guests to communicate with the staff). So, as a result, you may get lemons when you ask a bucket of ice.; 2) Many members of the staff seem to be inexperienced. It was clear that the few members of the staff who have experience working in a higher-end resort were working overtime to train the majority of the staff.

Nice touch: Each room is equipped with a Bose SoundDock complete with an iPod Nano pre-loaded with music. If you don't like Aleenta's selections, you can always use the SoundDock to listen to your own iPod.

If you want spectacular views and don't mind a place that's a bit secluded and has a staff that requires a bit of patience and understanding, by all means make your reservation now. If instead you insist on a place whose service matches it's price, I'd wait at least 6 months before staying at the Aleenta in Phuket. I for one am looking forward to staying there again once the staff has been brough up to speed.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SpenserDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

Just got back from Aleenta Resort...Arrived in the afternoon and were greated by - what seemed afterwards - the best english speaking staff member..We tried to forget what we had read about the staff not speaking very well english but we really could not...We were delighted to see our 2 bedroom residence, no comment there... But, trying to place an order in the restaurant , ask information about boat trips, make an appointment at the spa, try to rent a car, was quite an experience and certainly not a nice one!!
And yes the Thai people are very friendly, and yes they keep on smiling, and no you are not supposed to get upset, but when - at the end of your stay - you pay the bill (which- by the way- had 200 USD too much on it) you wonder if this was worth the 3000 USD for 5 nights....
We certainly do not blaim the staff for not speaking english, but the management/owner who should hire english speaking staff, as most of the other guests were english speaking and had the same problems..
Would we stay there again?? I don't think so, again great accommodation but poor service..
M Seifert , Belgium

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank M-Seifert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We spent over a week at Aleenta, in the Pool Suite and in the Ocean View Lofts. Both were amazing, worth every penny. The resort is beautifully designed, in both the rooms and the landscaping. The only complaint we had about the rooms were the floors - they seemed a little slippery since they were so smooth, in particular the stairs of the Loft.

We loved the isolation, the beach, the food, the pool, the cooking class, the spa treatments, and the yoga (definitely do the yoga class, the instructor was awesome! Aleenta provides one free class of yoga per week, and we wished we had hired the yoga instructor for more lessons).

Please be aware that the isolation of the resort has its pros and cons - the beach is completely empty, which is great, but there are absolutely zero restaurants within walking distance. Which means you'll either have to eat at the resort ( we loved the meals we had, but they are not cheap), rent a car and drive to restaurants (there are some really nice ones within a 15 minute drive), pay the resort to drive you to a restaurant, or live off snacks you can buy at the little stores along the road by the resort (not a very enjoyable option!).

I dont understand the complaints about the staff, but I appear to be more tolerant of the fact that English is not the first language of people in Thailand. We didnt have any problems communicating to the staff, and we found them all very sweet and accommodating. Remember, they do not get paid much, and they are only doing their jobs. Many of them live across the street in a dorm-like building, and put in long hours at the resort. We felt very bad for the security men in particular who worked outside the resort - they were doing 12 hour shifts. We made sure to bring them snacks and drinks, which I know they appreciated.

The resort *is* far away from Phuket, and we planned a few trips through the resort to visit some of the local islands. We luckily made friends with another couple who had rented a car, because the resort does charge a lot of money to drive you to Phuket. The local town is not within walking distance, but it is definitely within biking distance, and there are some good restaurants there. It's also not as far as Phuket, and was not that expensive to have the hotel drive us there.

But my feelings about this are if you are planning on spending so much money to stay at a resort like this, you have to accept the fact that everything is going to be in that price range - the room, the food, the spa treatments, the car service. There are no deals to be had when you stay at a place like Aleenta. If you are looking for a "bargain" this is not the place to find it.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank crazyhorse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Five wonderfull days...

After a short visit to the first Aleenta resort a couple of years back, our expectations were high......

We were greated in our room with a big rose-leaf heart on our bed (this was a special occasion booking), choclates and cold champage! Way to go!

Overall a very relaxing time and the charming and friendly staff gave us the right balance between service and friendlyness.... for my work i stay in boring 5 start hotels with manual-trained staff....but at Aleenta you find charming, friendly,, realpeople, of course some with basic english.....but this is part of the charm...we ended up buying little gifts for some staff since they made our stay warm and personal.

Food was great (80% was very good, one eveing was so-so) and we loved the 'wine tasting' evening were it was nice to mingle with other guests and the french wine maker!

The rooms are great (ocean view room) and we got one of the staff to show us the other rooms: nice modern lines, but still warm and comfortable, outside showers and the likes.... take the small villa with full beach view if you can!

So overall a great stay - we can recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flying_Dutchman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews