We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Live like a king & queen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Saturnin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Live like a king & queen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Simply fantastic. This place is spectacular - a proper castle with fortifications. The room was enormous, beautifully decorated and had a bathroom in one of the towers. The hosts were lovely, very welcoming and helpful. They recommended a fabulous local restaurant a pleasant walk away for dinner. The castle tour (castle is open to public but you get a tour for free if you stay) was very good and the guide made a lot of effort to keep the French simple and slow for us English which was much appreciated.The breakfast was amazing with gorgeous fresh bread and croissants, meats, local cheeses, home-made jams, lots of lovely fruit, local juices and great coffee. This is a lovely part of France with great views and some lovely lakes - some of which you can swim in. I'd love to stay here again and will definately return if in the area. It isn't cheap but in my view worth the money as a special treat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneTucker1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We thank you very much for taking the time of sharing your experience.
What more to add : our guests' stays are also such a great contribution to the mainteance of the castle and its gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    14
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
76
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights recently. You're meant to call in advance to get the entry code but we forgot. That led to some confusion but the owner sorted that out diplomatically and was very welcoming. The rooms are huge and well laid out. Beautifully decorated with antique furniture. The bathroom is up some stairs with an amazing shower room in the castle walls. Every window has a stunning view of the village or the castle gardens. Worth doing the castle tour if you're French is up to it.

On our first night we had a lovely picnic in the castle grounds.this was great until we found ourselves locked in. Eventually had to hop over a wall to get out. The host apologised profusely but it was our fault for hiding out of the way. The second night we followed the host's recommendation to a local restaurant. A good stroll but very good food so well worth it. The walk back hopefully burned off some calories.

Breakfasts were provided by Madam. Lovely local ham and cheeses. A little pricey and I'd prefer it if the price had been added or included in the room rate. But that is a minor point. Over all we had a great time and would happily stay again if we're in the area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daiquiriking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We are happy to hear back from our guests : we welcome your satisfaction as a way to maintain our motivation at the highest level.
We thank you so much for your great sense of humour!
Considering ourselves as an alternative to four star hotels, we do not include the breakfast in the room rate. Furthermore it allows us to let the children of 10 years of age or less, enjoy a special breakfast rate. And we do welcome a lot of children!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our only regret is that we had scheduled only one night stay at the Chateau de Sain-Saturnin. There is so much to see and enjoy, the castle itself, the fascinating visit led by Emmanuel Penicaud, Both Mr and Mrs Penicaud have excellent suggestions for visits and restaurants in the area and you will need more than one day to enjoy the inside of the castle with all its interesting antiques, books, well appointed rooms. If you go stay at least two nights, if not three!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We thank you for your appreciation which pays tribute to your stay with us as well as to our region.
In the world of today ones looks for such precious items as time, calm, space, authenticity and true welcome.
We try to provide our guests with all these, except time which belongs only to them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were asked to telephone an hour before arrival and there was a mini discussion about who should conduct the call. Who spoke best French? When one of us did call we found the patron spoke perfect English and the reason for calling him was so that he would be there to greet us when we arrived. The Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin does nor serve dinner and our host insisted he had no intention of founding a restaurant. Our rooms really were up a spiral staircase and our new friend bid us goodnight with the advice, if we needed to contact him during the night we should call his mobile phone as he would be in another wing of the castle.

The chateau had a hard time during the revolution and the Versailles style gardens are no more although the space remains and the chateau’s guardian has plans to lay them out once more. The building spent some time as an orphanage. Whilst we had become accustomed to dining in splendour at our over night lodgings the breakfast next morning was without doubt the best we experienced during our three weeks in France. It was served in a beautifully restored kitchen. We were the only guests that night and one of our number did not make it to breakfast but the range and quality and setting of breakfast was stunning.

Room Tip: Go to the top of the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsa99uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We thank you very much for your diplomatic appreciation : I get the bravos for my english and my wife for her breakfast!
There is around us a choice of good restaurants of different styles and cuisines. That is the first reason for not competing with them, the second one being we have no expertise on that field and they do have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the best place I've stayed in my life. I'd recommend this highly particularly to other Australians as we don't have any old buildings at home like this. The location is quiet but that suits a castle stay. There are nice towns near by and some pretty lakes to walk around. The Town itself is small but interesting and pretty, different to other places in france we have visited. The library is very relaxing to sit in. The hosts are SO nice and helpful, reserving restaurants for us and suggesting where we visit. We had a tour of the castle and it was really interesting. Its not a sparkling fancy castle, but thats what i liked about it. It was really old - 13th century!! - and unique. A great experience that my husband and I will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyandben1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear guests,

We have never asked, not even suggested to our guests for giving an opinion on Trip Advisor.
We prefer when they are 100 % spontaneous as your's.
Therefore you can imagine your opinion is even more valuable to us and we appreciate it at most.
We are really happy to understand how much our place is appealing to guests like you, coming from so far away and from such a different country.
We do like the challenge of welcoming people from all over the world. That's our way to travel now we decided to focus on this castle, after so many journeys all over the wold, meeeting many very interseting people.
Sincerly your's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
519 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 700 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Cardinal room was a lovely vaulted room in a tower of this castle in beautiful historic Saint Saturnin. The room is huge and dominated by a fantastic four poster bed. There are lovely views across the courtyard and town. You will not hear a sound in this room making for a fantastic nights sleep. There is a toilet and hand basin in a small room off the main bedroom. The main bathroom is accessed via a very steep and narrow staircase. There is a separate bath and plenty of space. The shower is fashioned in a nook of the tower and reminds us of a troglodyte dwelling but in a good way. There are no curtains over the windows in the bathroom but you are high enough up so no one from town could see in. Still we would prefer some kind of window furnishing. Access to the room is up a wide spiral staircase in the tower. This means a fifty step climb up to your room which can be challenging at the end of a long day or carrying up your luggage.
Breakfast is served in a lovely historic dining room. Everything on offer is quality and much of it is sourced locally which is a pleasant touch. However breakfast is not served until 8.30am which is quite late given that we like to take breakfast early to get out and make the most of the day.
Amenities are good with coffee and liquer available in the library. Water and welcome chocolates are in your room and to our surprise were replenished daily. However we were disappointed that the bathroom amenities were not replenished and being there for four nights we ran out of bath products and low on soap. The hosts were not about when we sought to get replacements.
The chateau is well located for exploring the Auvergne region. You need to ring the hosts in advance to get the security code for the entrance gate (5pm check in) but they provide you with detailed instructions when you book.
Having only five rooms this hotel has more of a "B & B" feel and the host and hostess ensure that every aspect of your stay receives the personal touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear guests,
We thank you very much for your detailed, very acurate and fair feed-back.
We are very pleased indeed you enjoyed your stay with us.
We apologise for having let you short of bathroom amenities. We already spoke to our staff and I am sure we can correct that in the future.
Knowing you would prefer curtains at the bathroom window will help us making the right decision (we were still hesitating to do so).
For breakfast we do make exceptions for earlier schedule, when needed, but we cannot do it on a regular bases, We have a large positive feed-back since we changed it from 8 a.m-10 a.m to 8.30-10.30 a.m
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We used this as a stopover place to stay on our way from Provence to Normandy. We only stayed one night - which is a regret - it deserves more than one night. This is a beautiful chateau that Christine and Emmanuel bought about 10 years ago when he retired. They have soaked a boatload into the chateau and it reflects their love and attention to detail. They are still working on it in various stages. It is loaded with gorgeous antiques. One caution - this is not the place for you if you cannot do stairs. My husband can't do lots of stairs so Christine put us in the suite that has the least amount of stairs - that still involved quite a few stairs. On the main level was a huge drawing room where all the guests can go for an after dinner drink (we never did see anyone there but us)- such ambience - it is easy to think this is how the nobility lived. Our suite was directly off of the drawing room. We had a large main room with desk and sofa - internet worked there- and a bathroom with sink and bathtub but no toilet. We had to go up about 12 more stairs to the bedroom where there was a bed and a room with toilet and small sink. Christine indicated that while they were closed for the winter this year the bathroom would be remodeled to include a toilet.

Christine recommended a wonderful restaurant in the town where we had dinner. Breakfast the next morning was very good. Gorgeous room with lovely antiques and homemade rolls and jams. The town is worthy of more time than we gave it. Also, when we arrived Christine gave us a mini-tour of the chateau and the next morning Emmanuel was conducting a tour of the whole chateau. We didn't have time to take it, but note to all of you that are thinking of staying there - this is such an important thing to them - allow enough time to take the tour. They are lovely people and they really care about the chateau.

One thing I would recommend to people that have these chateaus and B&B's. It would be really nice if in the evening - say between 5 and 6 - they would have a 'wine hour" where all the guests could meet each other. We had kind of an awkward breakfast with people sitting close to us at breakfast with no conversation, but we met the nicest people on the stairs as we were checking out that we would have enjoyed getting to know better. Our host in Pezenas did this and it was so nice meeting the other guests. I would definitely return as long as I could do stairs and shuck my own bags.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen_travelqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear guests,

We are so pleased you keep good memories of your stopover at our place.
Do'nt hesitate to come back : we will make sure you can enjoy again the same suite -King Charles IX's - and to lift up your bags for you, would you need any help and if we are still fitted!
The renovation ot the bathroom is well under progress. It will get an italian shower as well as a bathtube.
The toilets stay at the bedroom level but you should fill free to use the drawing room 's ones when you stay at its level.
With our best regards.

Emmanuel Pénicaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Saturnin
7.7 mi away
Hotel Princesse Flore
20.2 mi away
Auberge de Chabanettes
Auberge de Chabanettes
#1 of 1 in Auzelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie
#1 of 2 in Perignat-les-Sarlieve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mercure Saint Nectaire Spa & Bien-etre Hotel
14.9 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
9.0 mi away
Le Relais des Puys
Le Relais des Puys
#1 of 3 in Orcines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin

Property: Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin
Address: Place de l'Ormeau, 63450 Saint-Saturnin, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Saint-Saturnin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Saturnin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A powerful fortress built during the XIIIth century, enlarged and embellished at the time of the Renaissance. Property of the Queens Catherine of Medicis and Marguerite of Valois. The owners will welcome you at home in their five guestrooms, large and quiet, with great views and private bathrooms and separate toilet. Breakfast is served in the vaulted dining room presenting a collection of copper artifacts. A large 4 ha park with free access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing