We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“clean, comfortable, and well equipped in great...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Grant Cottage

Lovely garden overlooks forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely garden overlooks forest
Beautiful scenery around the cottage Front of Grant cottage-very peaceful
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Lovely garden overlooks forest
Beautiful scenery around the cottage
Front of Grant cottage-very peaceful
Modern kitchen/diner, through to the lounge
Relax in lounge with the warmth of a romantic log burner
Lounge
Dining area looking over the garden
Kitchen with all utensils
Family bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath
Treat yourself in our relaxing Jacuzzi bath
Double bedroom
Lovely comfortable double bed
Twin bedroom
Peace and tranquility sitting in the garden over looking the burn and forest
Bird table in garden attracts a family of Pine Martens
Some guests are lucky to see the Pine Marten eating his jam sandwiches
Birds and Pine Marten visit the bird table
Winter at the cottage
Cosy cottage on a winters evening
Beautiful winter scene
Christmas time at the cottage
Light the log fire to create a cosy setting
Looking out to the garden
Lovely Christmas scene
Inverness castle at night
Stunning Glen Affric
Fishing on River Ness
Romantic Loch Ness
Urquhart castle on the shores of Loch  Ness 10 minutes from the cottage
Dog Falls at Cannich
Snow on the hills at Cannich
Children will love the beautiful beach at Nairn
Evening in Glen Affric
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Balnain, Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
bonjen3
Midlothian, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean, comfortable, and well equipped in great surroundings”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our family stayed for a midweek break in March '16, the cottage is beautiful and is immaculately clean with quality bedding, pillows, towels, furnishings etc It is so well stocked with everything from board games and dvds (although the dvd player is rather noisy and I think is likely to stop working pretty soon) to fruit bowls, dish washer tablets etc There is a very helpful guest handbook, explaining everything and giving ideas for days out. The bird table being directly infant of dining area was wonderful , and we saw so many different birds from little robin redbreasts to wood peckers. So bring some bird food , fat balls with you. We were also incredibly lucky to watch a pine marten eat our jam pieces every night from the picnic table. If you want to stay in the area of Loch Ness, I wouldn't look any further than this cottage, it really has absolutely everything you could possibly want from a rental holiday home and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. (If I was to nit pick - one of my daughters is disabled and struggles with balance , so a bath mat would of been handy in the bathroom and a few slabbing stones from car spot to front door would of been helpful)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the nature watching from cottage window
Liked least: not great internet connection
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise K
1 review
“Luxury accomodation surrounded by Scottish wildlife”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a really lovely stay at Grant Cottage, the accommodation has everything a family would require - including a kitchen with all the equipment you will need. Everything was very clean and it was wonderful to be surrounded by nature including daily visits by a woodpecker and pine martin. The owners - Andrew and Catherine were very helpful ensuring we had everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness of the proerty.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bubbeli
Bonn, Germany
1 review
“Felt like home”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Me and my bf, as well as two friends stood at Grant Cottage for two days. To be honest we were not too easy as guests, as we needed a lot of assistance for preparing our stay and for this I can just say that the landlords both were just super supportive and helped us with any questions and every sorrow we mentioned (no matter how stupid our questions where). This was super impressive and left us with a save and happy feeling. Further the Cottage was easy to find, the equipment, kitchen, bath, household materials left nothing to ask for. Also the garden was neatly kept and the landscape around is just stunning and we loved to explore it!
During the time of our stay the cottage became a home for the four of us. It’s very cozy and the whole interior is very neat, classy and lovely, all to create a wonderful atmosphere. The high standard interior is even more luxurious than it appears on the pictures provided here. It might sound strange to you while reading but we have no bad word to loose on Grant Cottage.
We really loved it there and definitely want to come back to you! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The caring and super friendly way of our landlords, the lovely and classy interiour
Liked least: Mobileinternetaccess was a little hard and we had bad mobile connection
Traveling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R D
Bergschenhoek, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We have had a great time at Grant Cottage”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was above our expectations. The descriptions from the website were not exaggerating the reality. The house was very clean and tidy and fully equipped. The athmosphere in house warm, welcome and luxurious. The garden super. The children had sufficient place to play and loved the waterstream. The location is quite with a lot of wildlife around. There is more than enough to visit in the neighbourhood.
We had a great time in Grant Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very good beds and a very complete house on a beautifull spot.
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn26128...
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location, clean, all you needed ! Owners very friendly.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This cottage is very cosy all you would need , 4 adults in party more than enough space ! Wildlife in garden second to none ! Lots different birds, deer, and a PINE MARTEN most evenings ! Walks near by , but also lots more not to far! If it active water sports we went to Experience the ADVENTURE www.activehighs.co.uk ! two very good places to eat about 15 to 20 min away FiDDLERS Drumnadrochic & SLATERS ARMS cannick . This lovely quite clean cottage would be in a location for what ever you wanted to do , you really would not be disappointed . 27th June to 4th July 2014 . Thank you very much Andrew & Catherine .

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top-notch cottage, great for kids, lovely countryside”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed with our two young children (ages 4 and 18 months) in April 2013. Enjoyed a great week at the cottage. Really well equipped for kids and adults alike (they even bought a new pushchair for our younger son to save us lugging one from London on the plane). Situated in lovely countryside, near Loch Ness. Nice, big garden - the kids had great fun running around and playing on the ride-on toys.

Plenty of things to do nearby. The kids loved the boat trip on Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle. Also within 1 hour car journey of Fort George and dolphin spotting sites. Lots of good walking, especially in Glen Affric.

Would thoroughly recommend this as a family friendly place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diplomine
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic says it all”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a fantastic week's stay in Grant Cottage. This was the best self catering cottage I have ever stayed in (I'm very picky and it took me ages to choose this one!). The facilities were simply superb. Dish washer, latest TV (freeview), Ipod station, good quality crockery and bedding, spa bath... deserves the 5* star grading!
The property was also very safe for our two toddlers (15 months and 3 years), and the owners provided everything you need to save you having to carry the whole household with you - a common problem when travelling with kids! - including high chair, cot, changing mat but also indoor and outdoor toys, safety plugs for the sockets, fireguard for the woodburner (we just loved the woodburner). I believe this is all stowed away for visitors without kids.
We ordered a Tesco delivery which the owners Andrew and Catherine put away before we even arrived! This was so handy.
There's lots to do in the area (we have travelled a lot across different parts of Scotland, and this area is one of our favourites) - very close to Glen Affric with the most stunning scenery and waterfalls, the beach at Nairn and of course, Loch Ness. The cottage is about 5 minutes from Cannich where there is a Spar supermarket which was handy for topping up milk and bread.
The cottage comes with a decking and a garden which slopes towards a river/burn. The kids loved running about on the decking and enjoyed playing with the surrounding stones! There was also a bird house which could be seen from the kitchen window and provided lots of entertainment during our lunchtimes. We tried to lure the elusive Pine Marten with jam sandwiches (this seemingly their food of preference) but although the sandwiches were gone, we sadly missed them all the time! Maybe next time!
Cannot recommend this cottage enough. Very impressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, the wood burner, the spa bath
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing