We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenurquhart House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balnain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel ”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with another 2 adults and 2 children and loved it, the views from the hotel are stunning and it's so peaceful, at the bottom of the hill at the hotel their is a stunning loch. Food was excellent and rooms spotless, the restaurant/bar has many kids games and they can also watch a DVD while we sat in front of the cosy fire, kids loved it, short drive to Drumnadrochit which has the Nessie centre, 'you need to see it to believe it' excellent holiday and will def be returning soon

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is missing a great opportunity. It has a great location with some lovely views but it feels very unloved. The staff/owners give the impression that they'd prefer their guests not to be there - if they continue like this, they will get their wish! Fresh coffee, wifi and a working tv were all a bit too much effort. If you are a fan of Fawlty Towers you could try this hotel, otherwise you should avoid.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had booked and paid for 3 bed lodge at this facility almost 3 weeks back and drove a long way with my wife and four children including 18 months old twins today on 6/8/13. To our surprise we were told that the owner (Carol) has messed up the booking and double booked us by mistake. Despite many email exchanges including one only 2 days back, still she did not realise her blnder. Reaching this hotel with young family at 9pm, there was hardly any sign of regret and what we got was that there was no room available and she could find a place nearby. So here we are now at a nearby lodge now but this is a height of poor customer service.
So get a back-up booking yourself if you still insist an on booking this place And do not expect any signs of apologetic behaviour or compensation or a cup of tea? This is a commercial place double booking it's rooms just in case. If this had happened in the US someone would have sued it to its closure by now with such big customer service blunders!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HasAdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Carol was a wonderful host, and so accommodating to our slightly unusual needs. There was nothing we asked for that couldn't be provided. We had a great stay and would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in one of the most picturesque parts of Scotland. We were welcomed by Carol (the owner and chef) and shown our room. We came down for pre-dinner drinks attended by a young lady called Kirsty. The three course meal was delicious. There was a wide range on the menus for the evening meals and breakfast. We were well looked after and even given tips of places to visit. In all a very pleasant stay. We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redwithington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely guest house. Good location (we had a car) plenty to do and great food. We had a deal which included breakfast and a three course dinner. Both were excellent. The owner is friendly and the guest house and room was comfortable. Only downfall was that the jacuzzi bath still isn't working ( see previous reviews).

I would stay here again as it is good value for money and in a nice setting. We enjoyed the Jacobite cruise and Plodda Falls trail which are both nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaye81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

A lovely old building with stunning views out over the loch. Breakfast on both mornings was very good. The room itself had everything we needed and the ensuite was nicely done and spotlessly clean. The owner was very helpful and friendly. We probably won't visit the area again as there isn't a lot to do in or around Drumnadrochit but if we did I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0ycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balnain
14.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,131 reviews
3.9 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
381 reviews
13.2 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
356 reviews
7.4 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
716 reviews
19.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenurquhart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenurquhart House Hotel

Property: Glenurquhart House Hotel
Address: Marchfield, Balnain, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit > Balnain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balnain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenurquhart House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenurquhart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing