We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have to review this based on rack-rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenurquhart House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balnain
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I booked the Glenurquhart on a LivingSocial deal that provided a double room for 2 nights, breakfast both mornings, afternoon tea and evening meal the night we arrived and a boat trip on our full day.

The deal we got (£150 all in) was well worth the money, especially considering the extras we got of dinner and boat trip. I'm not sure I would pay rack-rate for what we got.

The hotel itself is beautiful, very comfortable with attentive staff even tho sometimes it was difficult to get a hold of someone if you had any queries. The room we had (4) was very adequate, although somewhat cold in the low temperatures and with the single-glazing that the hotel offered it meant that we had the radiators burning 24/7, although the room was never comfortable enough to wear anything less than a t-shirt and jumper. This is an area they could really do with paying some attention to.

The food on offer was excellent. We had breakfast both mornings, and dinner in the first evening. The dinner, free with the deal we had but otherwise £25pp, was a sumptious 3-course affair. The soup to begin was tasty and thick, exactly what was needed with the weather. Both of us enjoyed it immensely. I then plumped for the chicken breast with haggis and whiskey sauce with clapshot.....VERY enjoyable and polished off with ease. The missus had the liver and onions which, as im not a lover of liver she doesn't get to enjoy as often as she'd like, she gave it a big thumbs up.

I finished with the chocolate cake and the missus with the apple cake. The chocolate cake was to die for and she helped me finish it off after getting a little bored with her apple cake and declaring it a bit of hit and miss (the hit was the shortcrust, the miss was the apple).

Away from the main meals, the breakfasts and afternoon tea we enjoyed were excellent and really worked a treat. I would have loved the recipe for the buttercream-topped cakes we ate on the first day, they were obviously home-made and delicious.

The room we were allocated was above our expectations on first inspection. A very comfy bed and fantastic view, although this was dampened somewhat by the fact the room was almost always cold, even when we turned up all the available heating full blast. Even the common rooms of the hotel (bar, lounge and dining area) were always bereft of heat, although our hosts tried their hardest to keep the wood-burning stoves in the communal areas burning.

Hot water was a little difficult to come by late at night, and the jets on our jacuzzi/bath were non-operational which was a bit of a disappointment although the hotel were very apologetic about it. We didn't expect it, so it didn't affect us too much.

All in all, this is a very nice hotel with very nice people in charge who will go out of their way to help. The place could do with some improvements (double glazing and more varied menu...something to match the Steadings Pub a mile further west on the A831 would be perfect imo) but worth what we paid for it. I'd be a little disappointed if we had paid the full rack-rate for out stay tho, i'd rather spend the money on a stay in Oban.

Room Tip: Room 4 has one of the best views if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 56 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here with a Living Social 2 night package and it was delightful. The hotel is in a 1935 building and you can have fun looking at the original features which poke from the palimpsest of later architecture from time to time. The room was large, comfortable and warmed up nicely. The pre-booking information said that the rooms were traditionally furnished, some may be, but ours was a very trendy black and grey with mirrors; not strictly my taste but perfectly acceptable. The food was amazing, quite unexpectedly good, homemade breads, pate's hummus, soup.... super vegetarian options. They do afternoon tea but we were out and about and missed this but I am sure it is very good. It looked as though it would be presented on cake stands. I am a big fan of cake stands and don't think that they are used enough these days. We ate in both nights and don't think you could reliably get better in Drumnadrochit or Inverness. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridgetIna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Glenurquhart House Hotel on 28-29th Dec 2011, having booked a package with Living Social. We found the hotel to be very well kept, in a great location, comfortable & very clean.
Our Hosts & their staff were very friendly & welcoming. The deal we selected included 2 nights stay, afternoon tea, dinner for two on one evening & a boat trip on Loch Ness with Jacobite - all of this at an exceptionally reasonable rate!
We ate delicious food each morning for breakfast & our evening meal was better than you would get at any high street restaurant! The quality of ingredients and culinary ability really impressed us and received wonderful service alongside the fantastic food.
We would highly recommend this hotel & the food to anyone.
It is so lovely to be welcomed into a warm home, as opposed to many cold chain-type hotels that are dotted all over the place.
Thank You for a Lovely Stay.
Ashleigh & Carl
Dec 2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshBricknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed in one of their cabins and ate in the hotel on one night.

The cabin was spacious and v.v. clean - loads of room for all the family (honestly loads - we were in the 6 berth and the bunks were absolutely fine for large/tall adults). The kitchen had everything that we needed and loads of space for us to work in + washing machine which when hiking in rainy Scotland is a must!

A bath was a great addition after a long days hiking (note - it's Scotland and a cabin therefore not instant hot water - you need to turn the immersion on 15 minutes beforehand to heat water)

The food on the Sunday night was excellent - we were the only diners and probably kept the bar and restaurant open but the staff were still lovely and we never felt rushed.

I was also told that we could have had breakfast in the hotel which would have been good escape from self catering some days if we had had the time.

Overall - delighted with the cost, the well stocked self catering cabin, the friendly welcome and the staff who seemed to really care about the place and customer service.

will recommend and return

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nightingalesgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was a last minute booking made on the basis of the Tourist Info brochure which is fairly sparse so we were delighted to find a huge room, overlooking the loch, with a four-poster bed, and little touches like a robe, homemade shortbread and nice cosmetics. Food was excellent. My only warning is that it's quite hard to find and quite a way out of Drumnadrochit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Highly recomended hotel. We had a lovely 2 day break in the Glenurquhart. The owners and staff are very helpful and work hard to ensure your stay is pleasant and relaxing. We were advised by Carol to go to Glen Affric rather than the tourist areas around Loch Ness, which was perfect for us. The wooden walkway over the Plodda Falls (120 ft) is one of the wonders of the world. Agree with the hot water comment, my wife had a hot bath but I could not. But there is an electric shower. Plenty of tea and coffe in room and afternoon tea in lounge if required. We shall definitely recommend to friends and return ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanPappa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed for a weekend at this hotel to celebrate my little brothers wedding. It was amazing. The staff were so helpful and the rooms were beautiful and the atmosphere was like staying in your best friends home.

The cabins are also great, clean, well equiped and close to the hotel for the bar etc.

The couple who run the Hotel are lovely, lovely people and really did attend to all our needs.

I shall definetly be going back for a visit!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edelweissmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balnain
14 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,252 reviews
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
3.8 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
13.2 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
13.9 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenurquhart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenurquhart House Hotel

Address: Marchfield, Balnain, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit > Balnain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balnain
Price Range: $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenurquhart House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glenurquhart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing