We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Big Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Torcroft Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torcroft Lodges
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Big Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had a holiday earlier in the year at Torcroft. We were absolutely amazed by the standard of these lodges. Spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and equipped. The owners live on site and could not be more helpful with any queries. It was so quiet and peaceful, too, and in a lovely part of Scotland yet handy for Inverness. We will definitely be returning to Torcroft for another holiday. We can Definitely reccomend Torcroft!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hardnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Torcorft lodges are perfect for a weekend/longer retreat away from the hustle and bustle of everything. Me,my partner and our dog stayed here between 21st-25th October 2011. We stayed in lodge number 2 which is the pet friendly lodge. The lodges are situated about 7 mins drive from loch ness very close to Drumnadrochit village which has a couple of restaurants,shop and takeaway. There is also a petrol station (west end garage) about 10 mins away. Also close by is the village of Beauly which has more gift shops and an old priory which is worth a look. About 30 mins away is the beautiful village of fort augustus on the bank of the caledonian canal and banks of loch ness. Iverness which is the capital of the highlands is about 20 miles away. In terms of location the lodges could not be bettered they are a great base to explore all the fantstic places around such as plodda falls,Glen Affric,Dores,Cawdor castle,Culloden moor and Nairn (all of which i might add are worth a look) .
The lodges are very spacious and include EVERYTHING you could possible need for a stay we brought some utensils and cleaning products but they were left unsused as everything was provided from doogy bags to tin foil and bottle openers. The lodge itself is set back from the road up a steep drive and backing on to fields and fields which is perfect to take the dog for a walk first thing in the morning. The owners Simon and Lucy's home lodge is next door to lodge number 2 and they really are fantastic people who cannot do enough for you. y even left us milk,tea bags,sugar and treats for the dogs for arrival which we felt was a nice touch. The lodge has 2 spacious bedrooms (1 twin and 1 double),bathroom with shower and bath and a living room/kitchen which is open plan. All of which are clean and tidy.
If you are looking for a great cosy base to investigate the highlands then this is for you. The only downside was the t.v and shower were tempremental when it was very windy. However we notified Simon who i am sure we sort this out for the next guests.
We will look forward to seeing Simon,Lucy and Ollie the pooch again very very soon (i was very reluctant to write this review as to keep the place secret so it is not booked up the next time we want to go :-) but i thought it only fair that i did.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was our second visit to Torcroft Lodges. We last visited in 2009. We thought then that it was perfect but since the new owners, Simon and Lucy, have taken over, they've proven us wrong.

We stayed at the larger of the lodges, Meiklie Lodge which has 4 bedrooms and two seperate bathrooms, a large kitchen/dining room and large living room. Last time there was my Dad and my sister as well as us and our three children and there was ample room. This time there was room to spare and we love the private fenced off garden as it means our youngest can play unattended without us worrying. The garden is backed onto a gorgeous backdrop of forest and mountain... we actually had a mother and baby deer visit us one evening, it was magical.

The whole lodge is spotless upon arrival and we were greeted by a personal handwritten welcome note as well as biscuits, tea and coffee and fresh milk in the fridge - perfect after a 12 hour drive! We were also greeted by Simon who assured us that if we needed anything both he and Lucy live on site which is reassuring.

My partner was overjoyed to find that Sky had been installed since our last visit - he is a news addict so this just made his whole holiday. We liked how the smaller of the double bedrooms now had the bathroom seperate instead of as an ensuite - very handy for a large family.

The kitchen has everything you would need - microwave, very large cooker/oven, toaster, radio, fridge freezer, washing machine etc. All cutlery and plates, crockery was very clean.

The living room and one of the smaller bedrooms has some games and toys for the children to play with as well as games like chess and draughts... and a nice selection of dvd's for the evenings. Also supplied is a comprehensive folder of attractions and places of interest.

The bedrooms consisted of two bedrooms with large double beds, a bedroom with two single beds and a bedroom with one single bed. We also found a camp bed. The bedrooms, again, were spotless and immaculately decorated. In fact the girls fell in love with the snuggly zebra throws in their room and had to be persuaded that no, they could not take them home with them :)

This time we tried to go down the non-tourist route and find cheap places to visit. We always do the boat ride around the loch on the last day but otherwise the whole local area is just beautiful, absolutely gorgeous. We found Fort Augustus, just a short drive away from the lodges, provided a lovely day out with a small croft tucked out of the way which the children loved and was only £5 for the whole family to see. On the way back into Drumnadrochit there is a sign for a pottery, we followed this sign, unfortunately the potter was out on the day we visited but next to the pottery is a beautiful mountain trail that we highly recommend.

Torcroft lodges is central to many areas like this and close enough to Inverness and some supermarkets to not feel cut off. We will definitely be going back, in fact we aim to go back every two years - I personally was very sad to be leaving.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheNolanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed here for three nights. A little further from Loch Ness than had expected, requiring a drive into Drumnadrochit but a good spot nevertheless. Only a few cabins but the one we had was ample big enough and well maintained with all the basic essentials. Slept 4 (one double, one twin room) and there was only two of us but with two children would have been ample also.

The majority of the cabins are set to the edge of a main field. There is limited view of anything however which was a dissapointment. It was very peaceful and the odd bit of wildlife came to visit although I think you would be lucky to get regular sightings. It was so peaceful we often wondered if we were the only ones there but were assured others were about when we met the pleasant owner as she came to clean the neighbouring cabin.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stayed in Lodge No.5. As stated in the brochure , it is fully equipped. It had just been tastefully re-decorated and new carpets throughout. Also a new bathroom complete with shower. This is the 4th time we have visited and it will not be the last. We have also stayed in Meikle Lodge which is home from home, and has its own private garden.

It is an ideal place to set up base. Inverness, The Black Isle and The Isle of Skye to name a few places are all comfortable distances to travel. There are also many places of interest locally and lovely walks around Drumnadrochit. This is a 'top notch' place.

The Price is right! The location is great! What are you waiting for!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrugerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in Nov 2009,
very clean and welcoming place. Large bedrooms with a great lounge, overlooking the forest. Well stacked kitchen with all the things that you would want.
Lots of outdoor activities around, though it being the winter when we visited we could not do much due to the wet weather.
Definitely worth another visit during the summer months.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balnain
0.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Loch Lomond Waterfront
#1 of 5 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Pod Heaven
Camping Pod Heaven
#2 of 4 in Abriachan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torcroft Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torcroft Lodges

Property: Torcroft Lodges
Address: Balnain, Balnain, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit > Balnain
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Balnain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Torcroft Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Retreats featuring Torcroft Lodges and Meiklie Lodge is the place to relax and unwind in the stunning Glen Urquhart. Whether it is touring, cruising on Loch Ness, exploring the heritage & history of the area or white water rafting it is all just a short drive away. Choose from our 3 or 4 star lodges and enjoy a home from home experience, our well-equipped 2 bed lodges have everything you will need, but if you are looking for a little more luxury then stay at Meiklie Lodge and sample the comforts of a modern lodge. Meiklie Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Torcroft Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing