We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Le Moulin Fleuri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Moulin Fleuri
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Veigne
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here whilst travelling up from the South of France. What a hidden gem! The staff were very friendly, the room was fine and value for money. The food was outstanding and truly excellent value. If you want a true taste of the region at great value for money then this is the place. We spoke to the chef to congratulate him on the nature of his fine cuisine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevie42London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Le Moulin Fleuri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have visited Le Moulin Fleurie several times over the years - as a stop-over on our journeys to and from the Gironde. The menu is good. The foie gras and gambas are delightful starters, the pike is fairly good as is the lamb and duck. The wine list is comprehensive.

It's the location that lets this hotel down. Sandwiched between roads, some new, some fast, it is not somewhere where you can stop and relax or go for a walk outside the immediate area of the hotel grounds. On our last visit there was no terrace (but there are tables outside).

The staff are very friendly, but we were kept awake by the comings and goings of guests and staff. And we always take a mosquito coil to this hotel.

It was disappointing and so we will re-route next time. It simply is not sufficiently attractive or appealing to warrant the diversion if you're looking for a stop-over while auto-routing your way to Bordeaux and the south west.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the entrance.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryNJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We used this as a base to explore the Loire Valley. Our bed room was big enough for the four of us (two rooms with a partition) The bathroom was modern, but only had a shower. The room was on the first floor overlooking the entrance of the hotel. The staff were noisy at night as their area for breaks was at the front. Gravel drive therefore deliveries coming and going was also noisy.

Hotel very difficult to find, even with sat nav. During the week the noise from the construction o a nearby road (?) was loud.

Dinner very very good. Local wine expensive though... €10 per glass!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This old watermill hotel is, perhaps, better thought of as a restaurant with rooms. Our bed room was smallish but perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. The bathroom was modern. Everything was scrupulouly clean. We had no problems with noise that other reviews have mentioned. The highlight of staying at Le Moulin Fleuri was dinner, for us on the terrace beside the river. The food was excellent with an emphasis on fish, a three-course dinner with amuse-bouches cost Euro 30, my companion's a la carte meal was Euro 34. The wine list had bottles from 2012 Touraine Sauvignon Blanc at Euro14 going back to 1934 vintages of local wines at up to Euro 900. The staff were charming. As a final treat, breakfast at Euro 10 was delicious, freshly squeezed juices, local yoghurt and jams, fresh bread and croissants. The staff were charming. It is an excellent stopping place between the Channel ports and the South.

Room Tip: Rooms face either front over the courtyard and hayfields or rear over the river and woods. The rear...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickBrompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We decided to stay here as a stop-off place comng from the South of France up to Paris, via the Loire (which is where Tours is). The decision was based on the excellent reviews of the food here. Well, we weren't disappointed on that front. Absolutely gourmet, with beautifully crafted amuse bouche, fabulous fillet steak in a fois gras sauce, and many other culinary delights. But that's where the enjoyment ends. It's incredibly difficult to find. You come into Veigne and see a sign that seems to send you off into a residential area, then you're travelling on a road across cleared land (for a housing development perhaps?) by the side of the main motorway and eventually find Le Moulin in the middle of nowhere. It is situated overlooking a pretty millpond and has a pleasant outside terrace for drinks. Now the rooms are not expensive, but they are crummy in the extreme, divided by paper thin walls and no room to swing a cat. Breakfast is parsmonious and the staff offhandThe terrible thing is that if the owners refurbished, it could be a little gem. So, if you are stayaing elsewhere in the area, full recommendation for a dinner visit. But until things

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oxfordhollyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We ate there on a stay in July and although it is highly praised by some ,I thought it was below average for the amount charged. The food seemed french country style cooking and we did not enjoy it much. Too many tourists ,not many french ...that explains much!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kika03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This restaurant was full on a Monday night and it was not just hotel residents. I'm not surprised - it has a very traditional French atmosphere and a pleasant location next to the river plus excellent cuisine. The welcome was good and when we had exhausted our French vocabulary English was spoken well.

Chef tries to push the boundaries with an innovative menu. I never thought I would eat mackerel with foie gras but it was absolutely delicious as was cabbage stuffed with shredded pork cheeks accompanied by white asparagus. The cheeseboard was phenomenal with every cheese marked as to what it was. A fine wine list had a huge selection of Loire wines. The soufflé we chose for pudding was a bit of a let down, just not fluffy enough and in fact quite poor, but perhaps that was due to the pressure of cooking for so many people most of whom arrived at broadly the same time.

We would certainly return if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veigne
1.5 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
0.4 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
495 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pic Epeiche
Hotel Pic Epeiche
#3 of 4 in Montbazon
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ibis Tours Sud
Ibis Tours Sud
#2 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
522 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
#1 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
322 reviews
8.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin Fleuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin Fleuri

Address: lieu-dit Moulin Fleuri, 37250 Veigne, Montbazon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Montbazon > Veigne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Veigne
Price Range: $74 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Moulin Fleuri 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katia Chaplin will be pleased to welcome you to this residence of character, a sixteenth century mill situated at the centre of a large park. Michael Chaplin, who does the cooking, applies himself to the task of preparing fresh produce from the market in a traditional way based on regional products. Michael Chaplin has a motto whereby he not only does the cooking but also lives in harmony with the grands crus, especially those of the Loire Valley. This very special hotel on the road to the Chateaux of the Loire can also offer charming and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Moulin Fleuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing