We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant with rooms”
Review of Le Moulin Fleuri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Moulin Fleuri
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Veigne
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A restaurant with rooms”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This old watermill hotel is, perhaps, better thought of as a restaurant with rooms. Our bed room was smallish but perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. The bathroom was modern. Everything was scrupulouly clean. We had no problems with noise that other reviews have mentioned. The highlight of staying at Le Moulin Fleuri was dinner, for us on the terrace beside the river. The food was excellent with an emphasis on fish, a three-course dinner with amuse-bouches cost Euro 30, my companion's a la carte meal was Euro 34. The wine list had bottles from 2012 Touraine Sauvignon Blanc at Euro14 going back to 1934 vintages of local wines at up to Euro 900. The staff were charming. As a final treat, breakfast at Euro 10 was delicious, freshly squeezed juices, local yoghurt and jams, fresh bread and croissants. The staff were charming. It is an excellent stopping place between the Channel ports and the South.

Room Tip: Rooms face either front over the courtyard and hayfields or rear over the river and woods. The rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickBrompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
50
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We decided to stay here as a stop-off place comng from the South of France up to Paris, via the Loire (which is where Tours is). The decision was based on the excellent reviews of the food here. Well, we weren't disappointed on that front. Absolutely gourmet, with beautifully crafted amuse bouche, fabulous fillet steak in a fois gras sauce, and many other culinary delights. But that's where the enjoyment ends. It's incredibly difficult to find. You come into Veigne and see a sign that seems to send you off into a residential area, then you're travelling on a road across cleared land (for a housing development perhaps?) by the side of the main motorway and eventually find Le Moulin in the middle of nowhere. It is situated overlooking a pretty millpond and has a pleasant outside terrace for drinks. Now the rooms are not expensive, but they are crummy in the extreme, divided by paper thin walls and no room to swing a cat. Breakfast is parsmonious and the staff offhandThe terrible thing is that if the owners refurbished, it could be a little gem. So, if you are stayaing elsewhere in the area, full recommendation for a dinner visit. But until things

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oxfordhollyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Veigne hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We ate there on a stay in July and although it is highly praised by some ,I thought it was below average for the amount charged. The food seemed french country style cooking and we did not enjoy it much. Too many tourists ,not many french ...that explains much!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kika03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This restaurant was full on a Monday night and it was not just hotel residents. I'm not surprised - it has a very traditional French atmosphere and a pleasant location next to the river plus excellent cuisine. The welcome was good and when we had exhausted our French vocabulary English was spoken well.

Chef tries to push the boundaries with an innovative menu. I never thought I would eat mackerel with foie gras but it was absolutely delicious as was cabbage stuffed with shredded pork cheeks accompanied by white asparagus. The cheeseboard was phenomenal with every cheese marked as to what it was. A fine wine list had a huge selection of Loire wines. The soufflé we chose for pudding was a bit of a let down, just not fluffy enough and in fact quite poor, but perhaps that was due to the pressure of cooking for so many people most of whom arrived at broadly the same time.

We would certainly return if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The flowers, waterway, and exterior facade of the building were charming but the inside was in great need of renovation. Our room, although large, was unattractive, poorly lit, didn't have screens on the windows, peeling wallpaper, mismatched everything. The restaurant served food that was of a much higher caliber than the room might have suggested and we were pleasantly surprised and even impressed with our dinner and breakfast. I might go back for dinner (it's a little out of the way), but would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We have just had a lovely meal here. The setting is lovely and very quaint. The food although a little expensive was outstanding. The cheeseboard is one of the best choices i've seen. I would highly recommend this retaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettibeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is close to Tours and tucked away in the corner between two motorways - their noise does not intrude. A good base for visiting the Chateaux of the Loire. The hotel rooms are not luxurious but comfortable and at Eur 81 for a double per night - not expensive. The restaurant is exceptionally good and there were some dishes here that are amongst the very best I have ever eaten. Menus at Eur 51, Eur 43 and Eur 36. The wine list is extensive and priced sensibly for the quality that you can get. The chef, Michael Chaplin, shows that love of delivering perfectly cooked food with an explosion of flavours that you see in far more well known chefs. Go before he gets really discovered !

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel benefit from the frog chorus from the millpod - hilarious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sybil_Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veigne
0.4 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pic Epeiche
Hotel Pic Epeiche
#3 of 4 in Montbazon
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Tours Sud
4.6 mi away
Hotel Chantepie
Hotel Chantepie
#2 of 10 in Joue-les-Tours
79 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
#1 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin Fleuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin Fleuri

Property: Le Moulin Fleuri
Address: lieu-dit Moulin Fleuri, 37250 Veigne, Montbazon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Montbazon > Veigne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Veigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Moulin Fleuri 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katia Chaplin will be pleased to welcome you to this residence of character, a sixteenth century mill situated at the centre of a large park. Michael Chaplin, who does the cooking, applies himself to the task of preparing fresh produce from the market in a traditional way based on regional products. Michael Chaplin has a motto whereby he not only does the cooking but also lives in harmony with the grands crus, especially those of the Loire Valley. This very special hotel on the road to the Chateaux of the Loire can also offer charming and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Moulin Fleuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing