We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Folegandros” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anemi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anemi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karavostasis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Folegandros”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Close to the harbor of Loegandros the Anemi Hotel is a great resort with nice room having a nice design.
All the personal of the hotel is very friendly and the food is excellent.
The pool is very big and full of salt water (this is great whn you hate chlore water)
Beds are excellent and room are quit big.
If I would come back I will stay again in this hotel.
2 grey points no really nice view and a few kilometers away from the center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpfrompari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    38
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
47
143
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Anemi for six days for a wedding. The food was great. The service was wonderfull friendly and careing. We only needed to ask for something and the staff were more than happy to help us out. We would be more than happy to stay again. Take a torch for walking around at night in the village as street lighting is minimal.

Room Tip: Second story for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I totally agree with Issam B's review. Folegandros is an amazing island, but Anemi hotel tainted part of our stay.

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel and were extremely disappointed. We had stayed 2 nights at another place on the island which was €140/night (compared to €220/night at Anemi) and the other accommodation was better in every way.

Anemi is located by the port, not the greatest location on the island, which you could get past if the hotel was up to standard, but it's not.

The hotel feels like a big resort, and not in a good way. They charge resort prices for everything, water at other hotels we stayed at in Greece is provided free of charge, Anemi charge around €2.80 per bottle, and food and drink is twice the price of the local restaurants within a few minutes walk.

The rooms do have some design aspect but not enough to take away from chain hotel feel. We were kindly upgraded from the double room to the next room up, but we had terrible nights sleep as the air conditioning was not working properly. When we talked to reception to try and get this fixed we eventually found out that the air con works on a central system so you can't really control the temperature from your room....without going in to all the detail, after much discussion with the manager on check out I asked for a discount and we were given a 10% discount. not much given we paid €220 per night and didn't have great sleep, but that was all we could get. Wifi was also extremely slow. Breakfast was average, I ordered the crepe one morning and it was served cold and my fruit salad was full of slightly browned apple (ie not freshley prepared) - why serve apples when the island has loads of fresh necterines, melons etc? the coffee and omlettes were very good.

The pool area at the hotel is great, the pool is nice and big and the whole pool area was always very clean and tidy.

Overall very disappointing, and I would not recommend this hotel. There are much better options for a lot less cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We went to this hotel based on the excellent reviews on trip advisor. We were disappointed as the hotel has neither the personality nor the charm of the island. Rooms are clean and comfortable but they are similar to what you find in business hotels. I would recommend to find accommodation in Chora (though it could be difficult in the high season) which is 100 times more charming than staying in Anemi. Finally, I found the hotel really overpriced for what it is (260 euros/night). I generally don't mind paying high rates for hotels but I expect that they have the little something that makes you happy about the experience. Anemi Hotel was not attractive by anyway. Not recommended.

Pros:
- large comfortable rooms.
- good breakfast

Cons:
- overpriced
- plain decoration (minimalist but not charming)
- looks like a business hotel
- not the best location in the island
- average service

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Issam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just returned from Folegandros this past Saturday and had the most wonderful time at Anemi and the Island of Foleganros. The Anemi is the most beautiful hotel with private pools and gorgeous crisp modern rooms, fabulous food and service. Highly highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a private pool if possible. Gorgeous and Fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed at Anemi for 4 nights as part of my honeymoon trip in Greece and have to say that I loved it!. We rented a scooter and took trips everyday to different beaches in this cute and quiet island, also every night to the town to eat and party a bit.

The rooms are so neat and modernly decorated, the bathrooms are also very cute. We loved having our delicious breakfast served in our private balcony each morning. Ate a couple of times at their restaurant and the food was really good although a bit pricey.
Service was also good. The reception arranged for us to get some massages in the comfort of our rooms 2 days.

I definitely recommend this island for people looking for more peaceful, exclusive and relaxing places. My husband and I enjoyed it so much!.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anais79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed in the Anemi Hotel in July 2011 and it was truly a wonderful experience. Except for the natural beauty of the place,which was stunning, it was obvious that no little detail had been left to chance,which I personally appreciated no end. The staff was friendly,the service impeccable,the building glorious and serene, the pool we loved....and I really shouldnt leave out the scrumptious a la carte breakfast, divinely fresh and yummy. We cant wait to get back there this year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katrina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karavostasis
0.0 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Sand Hotel & Suites
Blue Sand Hotel & Suites
#2 of 7 in Folegandros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#5 of 7 in Folegandros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Polikandia Hotel
Polikandia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Chora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.5 mi away
Provalma Studios
Provalma Studios
#3 of 34 in Folegandros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Anatoli
Hotel Anatoli
#6 of 7 in Folegandros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anemi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anemi Hotel

Property: Anemi Hotel
Address: Karavostasis 840 11, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros > Karavostasis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karavostasis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anemi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anemi Hotel answers the increasing demand of travelers seeking "untouched destinations," but also is defining the standard for luxury on Folegandros Island. Built in the traditional style with an authentic look inspired by the characteristic color of the Greek islands harmoniously combined with elements of International culture. The fully serviced rooms breathe the comfort of living in an exclusive hotel whilst providing an outstanding level of privacy and independence. Looks out over the beautiful bay of Karavostasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anemi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anemi Hotel Folegandros, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing