We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing, serene - great value for money”
Review of Anemi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anemi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karavostasis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights here as part of our honeymoon in mid-June. It seemed like we were the only people at the hotel for our first night, but we did see one other couple at breakfast on the second day. Overall, it was amazing to a have a gorgeous resort property essentially to ourselves!

We stayed in a standard premier room, which was more like a suite with a kitchenette, desk and large bedroom area. I was a little disappointed that we weren't upgraded given that there wasn't anyone else at the hotel, but our room was more than adequate and you can't fault a hotel for giving you exactly what you pay for (though it would have been nice to be upgraded!) :)

Breakfast was included in the rate and is made to order. My husband and I were a little greedy and ordered a few different things to try, which they did not bat an eye at. The food was very tasty and the service at breakfast and around the pool all day was impeccable (warm, friendly, bringing you menus, waters and whatever you might need without even asking).

The saltwater pool is gigantic and gorgeous. I think that Folegandros is too beautiful to spend much time at the pool, but if you are so inclined it will not disappoint. We also greatly apprciated that management allowed us to stay in our room until just before our 7:30 pm ferry, allowing us to really enjoy our last day before packing up and showering.

The one downside to this hotel is that it is in the port area, while all restaurants are 2 miles away in Chora. The bus runs from Chora to the port at 9 pm and 11 pm, so it's easy to get stranded in town for a while after dinner. I think the hotel could be greatly improved if they offered an hourly shuttle to/from town - the hubby and I walked home from dinner one night to avoid waiting for the bus, and it was a little longer than I would have liked for a post-dinner stroll. As it stands, I might consider staying in town at the Anemomilos Apartments the next time I visit to avoid the post-dinner walk...but if they resolve the transport situation, I would DEFINITELY choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nycgirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Anemi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 263 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed here in the middle of June for 3 nights and had a fantastic stay. Right from the pick-up from the port at Karavostasis, the staff were professional, efficient and friendly, with suggestions of what to do during our time there. The breakfast was great - the crepe with yoghurt and honey is highly recommended.

The rooms are well spaced out through well-kept gardens, and we had a decent-sized room with a balcony and a view of the port. The view from the infinity pool is absolutely beautiful for watching ferries pulling into the port. Tennis court however could have been a little better.

What really stood out though for us was the flexibility and commitment to service demonstrated by the staff. Our ferry only left at 7.30 in the evening, and when we asked what time we could check out, were told we could stay until 7 as there was no one using the room after us. I am a frequent traveller, and this was the first time something like this has happened to me. When the time came to return our vehicle in Hora (the main town in Folegandhros), we were told that the rental agency could give us a lift back down. However this was not the case and the bus did not run until it was too late. We called reception to ask how else we may make it down, and were shocked when the driver was called at home and asked to fetch us in his own vehicle 'if we did not mind it'!

We had a fantastic stay and could not thank the staff for their part in making our holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

The island of Folegandros is the best way to relax midway touristy Santorini and bustling Mykonos (which we did :).

You could easily make your own way to the hotel from the port arriving at ferry (otherwise, you could use a transfer provided by hotel which usually takes 2-3 minutes max :).

The hotel is a new hot property featured in a number of the travelr mazines, and is a very impressive - contemporary rooms, great swimming pool, wonderful food at the patio by the pool with a view to the island.

It's a little bit on expensive side (esp comparing to the "apartments" in the village), but worth every penny! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kostiantyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We had a very nice summer vacations at Folegandros. Our children were playing all day at the playground ant at the sea. I recommend to all , especially in families.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polyvios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed only 3 nights - wish it was more. Staff very well trained, modern facilities, excellent breakfast, I regret we did not try the restaurant much - we dined outside the hotel mostly -

A top destination in Folegandros and not only. Its not situated in the 'Chora' but who cares, trust me...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariosdarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

An amazing luxury resort with all the facilities and services you could ask for. Possibly the best breakfast ever, no buffet here, served straight to your pool-side table. The rooms are very comfortable with cable tv and a dvd-cd player (the anemi has yet to build its dvd library- bring your own if you like to watch films).
Very nice little gym room and wonderful design furniture everywhere. The best of the best has been purchased by the owner to make this hotel THE PLACE to stay in Folegandros. Everything else on the island is either for people who can't afford a stay here, or for people with no taste! Beautiful contemporary greek architecture!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank french_letter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

This is a fantastic new hotel in a good location on the beautiful, peaceful island of Folegandros. The rooms, service, facilities and food are all first class. Literally a few hundred yards from the port and your arrival by ferry, many rooms have great views of the bay. The frequent and very popular buses into the main town (Hora) stop just across the road from the hotel. It's only a ten minute journey and the buses run late into the night and so are ideal if you want a night out in the tavernas and narrow streets of the pretty town. Our room was spacious with a lovely balcony. The sea water infinity pool is stunning and a great place to relax. Nothing was too much for the staff. We only had breakfast in the hotel but the choice and quailty were excellent. You can choose to have breakfast by the pool or in your room at no extra cost. The port itself has a few nice tavernas and a popular pebble beach with clear waters. If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind in the beautiful Cyclades, look no further than the Anemi.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karavostasis
0.2 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
337 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Aeolos Beach Hotel
Aeolos Beach Hotel
#8 of 8 in Folegandros
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#6 of 8 in Folegandros
81 reviews
1.6 mi away
Polikandia Hotel
Polikandia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Chora
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Onar Suites
Onar Suites
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anemi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anemi Hotel

Address: Karavostasis 840 11, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros > Karavostasis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karavostasis
Price Range: $170 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anemi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anemi Hotel answers the increasing demand of travelers seeking "untouched destinations," but also is defining the standard for luxury on Folegandros Island. Built in the traditional style with an authentic look inspired by the characteristic color of the Greek islands harmoniously combined with elements of International culture. The fully serviced rooms breathe the comfort of living in an exclusive hotel whilst providing an outstanding level of privacy and independence. Looks out over the beautiful bay of Karavostasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anemi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anemi Hotel Folegandros, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing