We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Kamares hotel (Coral apartments hotel in Chora)”
Review of Coral Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coral Apartments
Reviewed July 27, 2013

*This review is for Coral Apartments other hotel "Kamares" that is situated in Chora, Folegandros as I could not find a separate Tripadvisor page for Kamares*

We had a very pleasant stay at Kamares. The little "village" of about 6 rooms/ houses is situated right down below the center of Chora. I think it took about 5 min to walk up to the city senter. The room was very clean, the staff that did some maintenance work and cleaning rooms were very friendly towards us. The bed was really comfortable. It was very quiet there in the night. This place is perfect for people who want to stay in a more apartment-style place but is also a very good hotel. You can park your car at the property or a Coral Apartment minibus will take you from and to the port for free. We arrived at 3 a.m in the morning at the port but the driver was not there. But the service was excellent when we called Coral and they came after 5 min. There was a misunderstanding but this was not a problem for us because the driver came straight away. Thank you so much for the service and the lovely Kamares Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miramar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Coral Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 49 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thought this apartment was quite nice for the price we paid, when we first saw it. However after 4 days stay we completely changed our minds and feeling towards the apartments were very negative. There were lots of bugs in our room, from baby cockroaches, mosquitoes and flies. We barely ever left the door open but could not seem to get rid of the flies. The baby cockroaches were hiding under the cupboard and would have been there before our stay. On top of this we were instructed to turn on the hot water 10 minutes before our showers, even leaving an hour before our showers the hot water only lasted about 30 seconds until it was freezing cold and only a trickle. Because of this we did not look forward to showering at all. Also our cleaner never replaced our toilet paper so we had to buy our own. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. We were told the Wifi network was very strong but it was only one bar of reception.We had been told that included in the price was a car transfer to our ferries on the day of our departure, and a time and date agreed upon. Nobody showed up for this and we were forced to lug our suitcases up the hill in the sweltering heat (middle of the day) for about 20 minutes to the closest bus stop which we barely made. (The next bus after that wasn't for an hour and would have meant missing our ferry).
Never again!!

Room Tip: Try before you buy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralFolegandros, General Manager at Coral Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Luise,

Thank you for your review to us, as a living organisation we are open to critisism by the time that provides valid data though and refers to real evidences. First of all your review goes for another hotel that may be part of Coral Apartments family but is not Coral Apartment it self so you are giving feedback to the members of trip advisor society who will read and take into consideration your review without even mentining the right property.

I will not comment the standards of our cleaning services, if your room had baby cockroaches, mosquitoes and flies and all other things you are mentioning in your review. At the end of the day cleaning standards for individuals vary and your opinion may be subjective and not objective. As a hotel manager though i will ensure you that before the opening of the season our hotels by the law have to pass by the process of disinfection something that us do every year and especially that our outdoor antenna for wi-fi signal gives reception up to 1 kilometer of the surround area of the hotel something again that future customers of "kamares hotel" will realise when they come. Now, how is possible the reception of the wi-fi not to be good into a room right ahead of it is a bit questionable.

Since you are not travelling for the first time in your life and you experienced sush a bad service to our hotel my guestion to you is why you never left it. You were a walk-in customer you didn't have a valid reservation so as to fear of loosing some money and instead of that you chose to stay and experience all these bad insidences coming afterwards with a review that is at least "harsh" not saying better "mean" .

Finally since i have the chance to share my answer with all future reviewers of trip advisor i would ask if this is what you do every time you travel. Of course i am refering to the fact that you totally took advantage of the misundersanding with your transfer to the port, you never came to the reception desk of Coral Apartments to pay as agreed, you lied about payment personaly to me saying that you payed the bus driver and finally you were "caught" right before leaving the port of Folagandros paying if full your bill.

Sincerely yours.
Konstantinos Lekakis (reservations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It’s been a year since we stayed at Coral apartments and I’m feeling guilty that I didn’t write a review earlier.
Because ….. keep reading.
We had one of the front rooms with kitchenette and aircon, a small table is provided at the front porch with a couple of chairs , perfect for breakfast or lunch.
The room was semi modern, spacious and clean , was made daily, wireless internet was fast, everything worked to our satisfaction.
It’s less then 2 min from the pebble beach & the bus, 5min to the port.
There’s a grocery and a couple of taverns near by , you’ll find better value & variety of taverns in Chora,
A short bus trip away, bus runs on the hour except for siesta. Or you can continue to Agali beach and
Ano Hora with a couple of taverns at each place .
From Ano Hora you get magnificent views of the Aegean sea.
Returning after a 36 year absence (my fathers birth place). We had planed to stay till Thu when a snap strike was called by the seaman’s union for Thu & Fri.
Waiting for confirmation till 6pm on Wed we had a choice !! leave Wed night or risk the rest of our itinerary.
I went to the reception to see Kosta, the owner and explain our predicament.
His answer “no problem I’ll prepare your account and I will not charge you for today”
…..but why ?? I occupied the room for most of the day…..I insisted… He would not accept my money.

So we packed our luggage and left the apartment at 7:30pm to catch the last boat of the week.
If anyone knows another hotel owner who rents his apartment for free please let me know.
I will unreservedly stay again for both the hospitality, the cleanliness and the location.

Con Dekavalas
Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: The front rooms have views of the street and the sea
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cd954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in Coral Apartments for one week, to families with children. The apartmens was clean, quiet and had a good outdoor area. The beds qould have been better, but we had a really nice stay except from that. The apartmens is in the town where the port is. The next time we visit Folegandros we would stay in Chora instead. It is a 3 km bustrip fram the port, and is a fantastic place with good food. The restaurants in the port where not so good, but we found one ok restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The check in process was friendly and efficient. The complex was clean and well maintained. The beds were average, but bedding consisted of only a sheet on the bed, a full made up bed was not provided. Nice outside patio to each room. The apartments are situated close to the port, which is a bit dull. Most of the character in the form of hotels, shops and restaurants are situated in the Chora, 3 km away, a better location to stay. If you have hired a scooter, you could get better value in the port area and ride up to the village. A plus of the location is several nice beaches which can be reached in minutes. I stayed in the Chora for two nights and only stayed in the port area for one night as i had to catch a 3am ferry, so convenient walk from the apartments

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDBUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We have stayed at Coral Apartments for 5 days.The hotel is situated about 5 min walk from the port and the bus station.We had booked a studio full equipped with kitchen and sofa and a large balcony with wonderful garden view. The room was spacious , sunlit and very quiet.The hotel manager kindly tranferred us from the port and gave us useful guidelines about our accomodation. What is more, the hotel provided daily cleaning and chage of towels. The only disadvantage was the fact that the reception wasn't open all hours at day but that was not a big problem for us. Last but not least, I would say that Coral Apartmens are good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manos_tsagkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The apartments are just are short walk from the port of Folegandros and situated in a quiet area. The rooms are laid out on 2 levels with a kitchenette which is equipped with crockery etc. and dining table on the lower level and bathroom with shower and bedroom on the upper level. The rooms have plenty of space, they are newly and very tastefully furnished, have flat screen TVs and airconditioning that works well and are spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 8 which had an enormous balcony with outdoor table and chairs. The grounds to the apartments are highly maintained.

We enjoyed our stay here but the only issue we found was the owners dog which barks if it hears a noise in the night and wakes with the cockerel. However this did not distract from the enjoyment of our stay here. We hired a scooter from the port area and this gave us access to the chora and the other areas of the island. I loved Folegandros and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karavostasis
0.1 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aeolos Beach Hotel
Aeolos Beach Hotel
#8 of 8 in Folegandros
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel
Anemi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karavostasis
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#6 of 8 in Folegandros
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vardia Bay Studios
Vardia Bay Studios
#2 of 3 in Karavostasis
87 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paraporti
Paraporti
#1 of 6 in Chora
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Apartments

Address: Karavostasi Folegandros, Karavostasis 840 11, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros > Karavostasis
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Karavostasis
Price Range: $46 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the beautiful port of Folegandros, Karavostasis, the hotel complex Coral Apartments is built according to the traditional Aegean architecture. Only a few meters away from the sea, in the most quiet spot of the picturesque harbor, the guest will feel instantly the peace and quiet. With choice from Double Standard Room to Apartment, Coral will fulfill all needs you may have during your stay and deliver to you its best quality services. All studios have a magnificent view to the sea and are surrounded by a beautiful garden. Enjoy cozy atmosphere with all modern amenities such as Wi-Fi wireless internet and LCD satellite TV. In addition, in the rooms you will find private balcony or veranda with sun protection, air condition, hair dryer, fridge, cooker or kitchenette, kitchen equipment, toilet, daily maid service, bathroom and shower. Moreover in each room there is a sitting area with dinner table and in the rooms addressed for families or groups of four people there is an internal door which creates two independent spaces. Live Folegandros experience with us combining comfort and stylish accommodation in a promise of making unique your holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Coral Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Apartments Folegandros, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing