We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Review of Chateau de Damigny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Damigny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Pros: Amazing Beautiful Property, Clean Beautifully Decorated Rooms, Fast Free Internet, Great Kind Helpful Hosts, Best Breakfast during our entire stay in France, Close to Bayeux and DDay Beaches, Able to accommodate our family of 3 into 1 room (1 Queen + 1 Single bed)
Cons: None :)

Tip 1: Reserve for the dinner (extra charge). The dinner is prepared by Vincent (the owner) who was a chef in Paris. You won't be disappointed by the 5 course meal! Bring your appetite!

Tip 2: If you're traveling in the Normandy region, I would recommend staying here for your entire stay since it is centrally located (hour and half from Rouen and Mount St. Michel, 10 minutes to Bayeux, and 20 minutes to DDay Beaches).

Hope to come back again for a longer period of time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCNM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Damigny
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

It seems like a contradiction but is a great deal. You will find yourself taken care of by the most caring family/owner of this old chateau. Situated just minutes from Bayeux it offers a relaxing garden, great rooms and superb breakfast and service. 5 days a week you can also choose to enjoy a great several courses all inclusive dinner. Excellently prepared by ex-Paris restaurateur and chateau owner Vincent Cantone.

Room Tip: Book well ahead as there are only 5 rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were unsure what to expect staying in a classic French chateau. We knew we wanted to depart from the usual hotel stay and "get a feel" of the French countryside. The Chateau de Damigny was the highlight of our vacation. From the very moment we arrived we were greeted as family by Vincent and Corinne and their wonderful son Paul (a great helper at meal time!). After a long drive from Paris (with sightseeing side trips) we sat down to the Table d' Hotes to the most wonderful meal! We are a family of 5 with teens and we spent the next three hours with great conversation, wine and food. Not once did the teens feel the urge to break out their iPods! After another day of touring the Normandy area (WWII sites nearby) we experienced another meal the following day - once again, fantastic! The breakfast meals which are included were equally outstanding. Loved the crepes and fresh croissants! Of all the places we stayed on our two week vacation THIS was the place that made us the happiest. We felt very comfortable and relaxed and truly experienced the beautiful French countryside/culture and the very historic places in nearby Bayeux and Normandy in general.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The grounds of the estate were beautiful and historic.
Internet connection was not great but we really did not care. It was a chance for all of us to disconnect and actually converse. (but Internet IS available if you need it).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jp8638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wonderful property, a real french chateau experience at affordable price. Warm host and hostess and cute child, a real family atmosphere. Great room with all amenities and cable channels. Wonderful garden & grounds, a real slice of French countryside. Highly recommended if you have your own wheels since it is a little cut off from the sights. Thank you Vincent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjun1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights and was greetet by the host when we arrived to help us with our lugage and show us the room. The room was very very nice, no aircon, but the room wasnt warm at all. Complimentry tea and coffee, but the wi-fi wasnt good. The connection fell out more often than not som i had to sitt downstairs to recieve the signal. Breakfast was very good, bread, yogurt, cerials, egg and bacon, cake, crepes and ad so on. We would most definetly go back for another stay. You can also order dinner, in advance if you would like to try their home made french cuisine. Next time we would do that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our group of six recently stayed with Vincent and Corrine in three rooms of their lovely B & B. They are gracious hosts and the facilities are wonderful. The rooms are spacious and immaculate and each had bath en suite. The breakfasts were the best we had during our stay in France--bread, cheese, yogurt, pastries, jams, fresh fruit and more. Vincent even cooked eggs and bacon for those who wanted it. One evening we experienced the table d'hotes offered by the hosts and it was wonderful. The food was delicious and we enjoyed getting acquainted with the other guests at the B & B. Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better experence at Chateau de Damigny and we are already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: All three rooms we had were lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Prior to our arrival, Vincent corresponded via email to make our reservations; we felt welcome long before our trip. The evening of our arrival, road work closed the highway exit, but Vincent talked us through new directions via cell phone (in English! Merci beaucoup!). Our rooms were bright and airy, clean, and comfortable. Corrine and Vincent have maintained the character of the original house while adding modern fixtures that blend in well. The grounds are delightful - in June, the roses were blooming and the large kitchen garden, accessed by a small foot bridge over a tiny creek, was brimming with spring bounty. Vincent made an excellent recommendation in Arromanches for dinner that evening. After a restorative sleep in the comfortable beds, we started the next day with a delicious breakfast. Vincent, a chef, made wonderful food. Who knew that scrambled eggs needed to be savored?! We were only able to stay one night and would love to go back. If you will be in the Normandy area, have a car, and want a great base for exploration, this is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TryingoutTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
2.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
2.9 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,183 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
712 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,347 reviews
3.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Damigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Damigny

Address: 1 Lieu Dit Damigny, 14400 Saint-Martin-des-Entrees, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux > Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
Price Range: $106 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near bayeux and the DDay beaches and at 20 km from Caen ,we welcome you in our Chateau completely renove.3 rooms and 2 Suites with all facilities are at your disposal You can have a walk in our park to see the century trees and the "potager a la Française"The evening , you can have dinner with fresh vegetables of the garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Damigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing