We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to everything yet feels far away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Damigny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Damigny
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Close to everything yet feels far away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night here. The room was a very nice size, bathroom was great, and the breakfast was good. This place was very kid friendly and you felt like you were part of a family. I was pregnant at the time so it made me feel good about future trips. Good location but nothing within walking distance. Caen and Bayeux about 15 minute drive. Great restaurants in Bayeux. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    25
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
133
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
382 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This lovely chateau is a stone's throw from Bayeux and the Normandy beaches and yet located in the country. Best of both worlds! Our suit was HUGE!!!! We had a glassed in sitting room plus a gigantic room and fully appointed bath en suite! The owners, Vincent and Corrine and their son Paul ( 3) had many helpful suggestions to get the most of our visit. The breakfast table was delicious and so plentiful! Vincent formerly owned a restaurant in paris and delighted the guests with some wonderful offerings. Do try to have a dinner at the chateau!! It's the best 30 Euros per person, you will ever spend!! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We loved our room with the extra glassed in porch located on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West SussexUK
Level Contributor
133 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just had 4 nights in Normandy , staying at differing places each night . THIS WAS THE BEST , for the following reasons
Amazing House, good hosts, well appointed rooms , quiet, good location, lovely grounds, wifi, but the breakfast tops the lot !! Wife was eating Choclate cake and custard at 9-30 am , fresh everything , a feast for a king. We had a ground floor room which was lovely, we saw one of the suites, simply Fab . A Gem

Room Tip: pay a little extra for the rooms with the Conservatory , Wow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deannewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We found this B&B was a very clean, modernised (it's in a very old large house), quiet, and pleasant place to stay. The owners were very friendly, the rooms had free wifi, good TVs, nice bathrooms, and breakfast was very good (they will even cook some eggs for you). We stayed in both a suite and a regular room and both were very clean and well worth the money paid. You need a car to get there, it helps to have a GPS to find this place, and (and don't confuse the 2 Damignys (this one is at Saint Martin des Entrees near Bayeux).

Room Tip: For the few euros more, the suites are a great deal. Even so, the regular rooms are quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Business155012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A wonderful chateaux and dinner with the chef/owner and his family, wife Carrin and 3 year old son Paul. Dinner and breakfast were outstanding and the accommodations and grounds were magnificent. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: reserve early and try to arrange for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the chateau based on the other excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. It's convenient location in the countryside near Bayeux was perfect for exploring the D-Day beaches and other areas of Normandy. Vincent & Corinne were wonderful hosts. The chateau and its grounds are lovely, our room was large, comfortable and immaculate with a modern bathroom. Vincent is an excellent chef. The 'table d'hôte' is not to be missed. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just completed a wonderful 7 night stay at Chateau de Damigny. Our hosts Vincent and Corrine (and their little boy Paul) treated us like family. The chateau itself is very conveniently located on the other side of A13 from Bayeux, and Vincent has a lot of good advice on where to eat, tour, and even where to buy gas for the car if you don't have a "chip" like the European credit cards do. If you stay here, the breakfasts are indeed wonderful, but sign up for one of Vincent and Corrine's Normandy style dinners. The best meal by far during our stay, and we had a LOT of good meals. Damigny has easy access to many points in Normandy, either via the A13 or via the incredibly scenic back roads. We highly recommend Chateau de Damigny.
Mike and Roxanne Banta

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
2.9 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Damigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Damigny

Property: Chateau de Damigny
Address: 1 Lieu Dit Damigny, 14400 Saint-Martin-des-Entrees, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux > Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near bayeux and the DDay beaches and at 20 km from Caen ,we welcome you in our Chateau completely renove.3 rooms and 2 Suites with all facilities are at your disposal You can have a walk in our park to see the century trees and the "potager a la Française"The evening , you can have dinner with fresh vegetables of the garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Damigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing