We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here”
Review of Chateau de Damigny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Damigny
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eat here”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you would like to have nice dinner and go to bed right after dinner, stay here. Vincent, I believe he used to own his restaurant, is an excellent chef. A six course dinner with wine cost less than Euro 30. Very delicious. He accompdated my wife's dietary request. His breakfast is one the bests in European B&Bs we ever had. As he seems to spend many hours for cooking , he does not serve dinner without advance notice. You would better request dinner at the time of room reservation. Otherwise you may miss it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    26
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
139
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for three nights during a short trip to Normandie. The chateau is very well situated for all the major attractions in the area and it is easy to located - just off exit 36. The chateau and its grounds are very attractive and there are lots of car parking spaces.
Our room was large and modern with a good sized en-suite. It was comfortable and pleasant - the bottled water was a good and welcome touch.
We had the evening meal on all three nights and the food was wonderful - Vincent is an excellent chef. We had aperitifs with canapes; starter with white wine; sorbet; main course with red wine; Normandie cheeses; and then dessert. Bread, water etc. And the social experience was also very good as we met other guests from France, USA, UK, and Belgium and had many interesting conversations.
The breakfasts were also very good - bread, pastries, fruit, cereal, coffee, etc and the option of eggs if desired.
Vincent and Corinne [and little Paul!] are excellent hosts and if we return to this area we would have no hesitation in returning to Damigny. Treat yourself and go there now!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toberwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a pleasure to stay with Vincent and Corinne (and their son Paul). They run a beautiful bed and breakfast just south of Bayeux.
The grounds are beautiful and I am sure you won’t be disappointed with any of the rooms. A very nice and quiet area but you will need a car to get anywhere (restaurants etc.). Not a problem though because you should book one of their dinners at their Chateau. They are wonderful cooks and it is well worth the price.
If you are there to see the D Day history this is very close to everything. Make sure you have time also to see the main cathedral in Bayeux as it is quite stunning, especially at night when it is lit up. As well be sure to see the Bayeux tapestry.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJPlums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed two nights here in September 2012 and loved it! Peaceful, quiet and a great rural setting. Vincent and his wife have done a fabulous job in renewing this classic chateau home just outside of Bayeux. If you happen to be staying on a night in which Vincent is offering a dinner, by all means sign up! It is wonderful and since he is a Paris trained chef your will not go away hungry. Don't expect a restaurant setting because you will sit at one big table and join the family for dinner. We even tried to rebook for the next dinner but they were full. As for the location it was very easy to get to all the Normandy Beaches as well as Mount St Michel and the museum at Caen.

Room Tip: They are all good but you will need to walk up some stairs to get to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SactoDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a great stay at this beautiful Chateau in late July. Vincent and Corinne are wonderful hosts and keep the property in top shape. The rooms are huge and comfortable, we even had a spa bath in our room. Vincent makes amazing meals including breakfast and the Table D' Hote dinner. Both were absolutely delicious. Also, since we didn't have a car, Vincent picked us up at the train station and brought us to the chateau. He also called a cab for us each morning so that we could get into town for our tours that we had booked to Mont St. Michel and DDAY Tours.

Room Tip: Suite de Catherine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level Contributor
303 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very comfortable clean spacious room. The chateau is well run by Vincent and Corinne. Excellent value. Should you reserve dinner in advance, for 28 Euro you will have an aperatif, white and red wine and a wonderful 4 course dinner ( hors d'ouvres, appetizer, entree, cheese, and dessert) , all homemade by Chef Vincent. Breakfast is included with your room, has the usual breads, homemade jams, yogurt, fresh fruit, and also eggs, cooked to order, with bacon, if requested. You will need a car to drive to this chateau, though it is an easy 7 minute drive to downtown Bayeux. To find it, follow the simple directions from Vincent, or set your GPS with coordinates. You will otherwise not find the address with your GPS. This is a perfect location for exploring the entire Normandy coast by car. Spend several days and see it all, then relax in the evening with an excellent meal. All meals are served at a large table, so you will also meet the other guests. Children are welcome here, since the owners also have a 2 year old, who you will see running about.

Room Tip: We had the blue room with a bath tub. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in Damigny and had a wonderful stay. We decided to “splurge” and paid the extra 15 euro per night to stay in the Suite Hervé III de Longaunay. The room and bath were very large, plus we had a glassed in sitting area off the bedroom and a second sitting area (which we didn’t use) as you first entered the suite. Breakfast was a nice surprise as, in addition to the regular breakfast fare, Vincent was on hand to cook eggs to order.

We had already planned to dine at the B&B one of our nights there, and since we were already staying in one of the suites I booked their “Special romantic offer” for one of the evenings. This included one night in the suite, dinner for two and a bottle of champagne, and was only four euro more than the suite and dinner for two would have been. We were surprised to find a fruit plate waiting, along with the champagne when we got back to our room that evening. My only advice on this offer is plan accordingly – dinner is served at 7:00 and we didn’t get back to our room until after 6:00 so we had to rush the fruit and champagne a little. We had a fabulous dinner with Vincent and Corinne, as well as two couples from Latvia. We highly recommend staying at the Damigny, and having dinner there as well!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereAreWe?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
2.9 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
2.9 mi away
Le Castel Guesthouse
Le Castel Guesthouse
#9 of 32 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Damigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Damigny

Property: Chateau de Damigny
Address: 1 Lieu Dit Damigny, 14400 Saint-Martin-des-Entrees, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux > Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near bayeux and the DDay beaches and at 20 km from Caen ,we welcome you in our Chateau completely renove.3 rooms and 2 Suites with all facilities are at your disposal You can have a walk in our park to see the century trees and the "potager a la Française"The evening , you can have dinner with fresh vegetables of the garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Damigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing