We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay for visiting Big Bend area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lajitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maverick Ranch RV Park
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A good stay for visiting Big Bend area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We are travelling around the USA and use PPA, so we campe upon Maverick RV Ranch, we were lucky!
They try to keep the gras green but it is so hard with the drought, there are some (big) trees and they are wonderful. The property is clean and the swimmingpool is very good. If you want to visit Big Bend Nat'l Park don't forget to visit the State Park to. The ranch is in between. We sure come back ever being in the region. The nights are quiet and the stars are great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldreamers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

During our Big Bend trip, we had planned on staying a night on the western edge of the park or in the ajacent Big Bend State park. However, after speaking with the Ranger at the State park, we realized that the facilities would not accommodate our RV.

Fortunately, I had investigated the Maverick Ranch RV Park and was glad I did. We didn't have reservations, but in February, this was not a problem, and we were given our pick of any open site.
The facilities are spacious and the grounds are well-kept. There is no river view, as indicated on their website, but the surrounding mountains are lovely.

The shower facilites were clean with good water pressure. The clubhouse and pool would be great in warmer weather.

We didn't check out the resort and golf course across the highway, but noted it had mixed reviews on Trip Advisor.

I would recommend this RV park over any other properties in the area. It is definitely the best game in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CalGal1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
409 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were biking and camping along the way. But if you have an RV this works equally well. Loved the pool - and ari conditioned rec room. Free WiFi from which I am now doing this review. And a laundry room. There isn't much else around, but beyond that this was a jewel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonifay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have no idea how we found Maverick Ranch - but we're glad we did. It's not as convenient to Big Bend National Park as the RV parks in Terlingua or Studdy Butte - but comparison by "look" it's a lot more comfortable. We were planning on spending more time in Big Bend Ranch State Park - it's immediately adjacent to Lajitas Resort/Maverick RV Park. We booked in for 5 nights - truck problems have kept us here another 4 nights - quite serendipitous. The resort is reinstituting it's Saturday in the Park free concerts on Saturday night - very nice - and we took advantage of the Easter Buffet at the resort restaurant - tremendous - very fresh - beautifully presented - $50 for 2 people including non-alcoholic drinks and tax. Surprisingly - oysters on the half shell and shrimp were as good as "home" (Florida). The resort bakery is open 7:30 - 11 weekdays to purchase baked goods - great blueberry and banana nut muffins!
The RV park itself is neat, clean, spacious. We haven't found anything to complain about the facilities (shade would be nice - but it's West TX!) Paved pads with picnic tables, full hookups and cable (only in one specific area of the park). Where others in the park have had some WiFi problems - we haven't had any. THere's a swimming pool and rec hall in the park - plus you have access to all the resort activities - golf course, spa, fitness center, shops, restaurant, bar, shooting range. Everyone is genuinely friendly and helpful - you quickly feel a part of a small community rather than a transient RV camper. The area is NOT for everyone, but if you love 'rocks and dust' and West Texas and being removed from the hustle bustle of the 'tourist' atmosphere . . . highly recommended. The 'dark sky' is worth the overnight!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flsnowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This facility was everything and more that we expected. The grounds and all buildings were clean. The RV spaces were large and easy to use. The staff was exceptional. So friendly and helpful. We wouldn't have known about the local bars and eateries without their recommendations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen9231213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajitas
10.8 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#5 of 8 in Terlingua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Lajitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
10.4 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Ranch RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Ranch RV Park

Property: Maverick Ranch RV Park
Address: 21 Maverick Ranch Road, Lajitas Golf Resort and Spa, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park > Lajitas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lajitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAVERICK RANCH RV PARK at LAJITAS GOLF RESORT AND SPA. RV Park features 101 spaces with 30/50 amp service with full hookups, tent camping, community center, showers, pool, and laundry facility. In addition, guests have complete access to all the amenities of Lajitas Resort. Golf Course, Restaurant, General Store, Agave Spa, Equestrian Activities, Hunting, Shooting Activities, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maverick Ranch RV Park Lajitas, Big Bend National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing