We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cowboy style ranch resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lajitas Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lajitas Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
294 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Cowboy style ranch resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is definitely an interesting oasis in the "middle of nowhere" Texas, yet close to Big Bend National and State Park. The complex has a golf course, pools, spa, interesting little shops, restaurant and "Saloon". There are several sections of accommodations on both sides of the street. Our group was in what was most likely the older section as some of the rooms still had claw foot bathtubs that showers were attached to. The entire sink area was in the bedroom. The décor was definitely BIG cowboy style poster beds that happened to be extremely comfortable but really high off the floor. You may want to request a room with a stand up shower if you can't negotiate these tubs. The foot stool in the bathroom can be used for the tub and getting in bed. We really had an enjoyable stay, but would definitely consider the newer section for a return trip. Also, a little flashlight comes in handy for the dark nights crossing the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    193
    96
    56
    32
See reviews for
180
297
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at Maveric rv park for chili cookoff great accomadations.very clean very friendly dtaff in rv park, general store and resturant, good fitness center, the grounds are outstanding, great location on river and close to Big Bend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slugoazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great experience. Staff was great. Very friendly and helpful. Alot of activities we enjoyed - horseback riding, river rafting and shooting. Recommend the evening trail ride which includes dinner, wine and a fire on a Mesa under the stars.
Some people like to stay in the main building. We enjoyed the Officer's Quarters.
The restaurant is very good but we enjoyed eating a couple of dinners in Terlingua, especially the Starlight Theater and La Kiva.
This was our first time in Big Bend area - we loved it.
Golf course is beautiful.
We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Best RV Park when visiting the Big Bend area. Roads and sites are paved, wide, long. Grass between sites, although that needs a little TLC. There is only cable TV on one side of the resort so, if you need cable, make sure you let the office staff know when booking your reservation. We will return here the next time we are in the Big Bend area. The staff both at Maverick Ranch and at the Resort are all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SL262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at Lajitas with a group. All the ladies were looking reward to a day of spa services. We had 5 ladies that wanted manicures and pedicures and possibly a facial or two. We were told when we called to book our services that they did not do any nail services, hence no mani or pedis. They only offered massage and two facials. A 25 minute facial or nearly $100 or a hour facial or $142. What a joke! They advertise themselves as being a top spa and only offer a couple of very basic, extremely over priced services. Don't come here if you want a real spa experience. And the pool had so much chlorine in it, it actually bleached the color out of our beach towels when we dried off!

Room Tip: Not even close to a real spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely grounds and comfortable rooms. Good mattresses. Very dark in the room even with all lights on for me, but when I checked out I learned that they'd had lanterns available had I thought to ask. Two queen beds but only one chair - at the desk, so a bit crowded. We had a walk-in shower but every room is different. The room next to ours had a claw foot tub. Nice little refrigerator and microwave in the large bathroom.

We really enjoyed the pool, but don't golf. WiFi iffy and slow. Lovely restaurant but plan to spend the night dining as everything moves slow. Disappointing bakery - little selection and seemed leftover. However, fabulous fresh baked cookies in the main lobby afternoons.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jts621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lajitas with a car group and found that the resort was wonderful. The food, employees, and facilities were all very nice. Our only complaint was with our noisy neighbors who partied all night. It's too bad that we don't play golf, the course is stunning. We tried to get into the spa for massages but couldn't because there's only one person working there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajitas
10.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#5 of 8 in Terlingua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lajitas Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lajitas Golf Resort

Property: Lajitas Golf Resort
Address: Box 400 HC 70, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852-9703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park > Lajitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lajitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lajitas Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lajitas Golf Resort offers a boutique resort setting nestled in the lowland desert between the majestic mountains of the Big Bend National Park and the Big Bend Ranch State Park in Texas. Featuring resort amenities with an award winning Lanny Wadkins designed championship golf course, world class zip line adventure with 9 stations, 8,172 ft of adrenaline producing zip lines that span canyons, a relaxing spa, an equestrian center,and a variety of outdoor adventure activities including jeep tours, mountain biking, hiking, river rafting, 5-stand sporting clays, cowboy action shoot or just relaxing poolside soaking up the warmth and beauty of the pristine desert. In the evening visit the Resort's casual restaurant with outdoor seating with incredible vista views of the Big Bend mountains, or sip on a cool drink in the Thirsty Goat Saloon with live local music most nights and enjoy star gazing on the patio. Come and enjoy the "ultimate Big Bend experience!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Lajitas Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lajitas Golf Hotel Lajitas
Lajitas Golf Resort And Spa
Lajitas Hotel
Lajitas Resort Texas
Lajitas Golf Resort Big Bend National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing