We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lajitas Golf Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
El Dorado Hotel(Terlingua)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Badlands(Terlingua)
View Hotel
Mission Lodge(Terlingua)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Riata Inn Motel(Presidio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Palms Inn(Presidio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
337
224
103
56
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
224
103
56
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig bendthirsty goatrio grandehorseback ridingofficers quartersold westlittle priceyghost townrv parkstarlight theaterfajitaslong drivegeneral storean oasisremote locationzip linebucket list
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 753 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for business...must return for pleasure!!!
Stayed here last summer and had a lovely stay but it seemed even nicer this time. The grounds were beautiful with colorful flowers. The room was clean and comfortable. Had great food in the hotel restaurant, and relaxed with cocktails in the Thirst Goat Saloon after day of working.
The room is well appointed. Comfortable bed, high quality linens and towels, nice soaps, and great water!!!
The Resort itself has so much to do. I don't golf but there is a world glass golf course, horseback rides, a beautiful pool, spa, stargazer parties, and shooting range...for a variety of shooting activities. They can set you up with all kinds of activities indigenous to the area ( trail rides, river raftinging..etc)
All this right on the Rio Grand!!!

The resort itself has much to offer but you are just a short drive to Terlingua Ghost town...which is a cast of characters and loads of fun history...then just beyond that is the beautiful Big Bend National Park..we drive it last visit and it is breath taking.

Check in was easy and we were greeted with fresh lemonade and tastely little truffles and Bon-bons.
No surprises during our stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Susieq1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our first trip to Lajitas was quite disappointing; however, this stay was much improved. The desk welcomed us and gave us brochures and information about what activities were available at the resort Our first trip, the desk personnel barely lifted her head to acknowledge us. So the stay started off on an up note.

We had booked the deluxe room with a view in the Officers Quarter. We were fortunate to get Room 317, second floor at the end of the building. The room offered a separate seating area with a comfy leather sofa, a TV (old but it worked okay), and windows that looked out over the golf course and the mountains in the distance. We sat on the couch in the morning and enjoyed our coffee and watched the golfers. The only down was the dirty windows; however, we mentioned this and when we returned to our room that evening the windows had been cleaned.
Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. The TVs are not your flat screen HD variety but they worked and we were out and about during the day so we didn't really worry about television. All issues brought to the attention of the front desk were immediately addressed.

We ate most meals in onsite restaurant. You can't beat this place for views and the restaurant is well appointed. Every meal we had there was really good. The breakfast (2 eggs your way) came with bacon, potatotes and choice of toast or homemade biscuit. The bacon was crisp and the potatoes good. We had the Chicken Fajitas, very good! The Chicken Quesadillas were amazing and the Salsa they make there is some of the best we have had anywhere! We found the service to be adequate this trip. It wasn't top drawer, but much improved from the last trip. There seems to be some turnover in staff. Our waiter was on his way to Yellowstone to work the day after we left. Some training in promptness, personal service might help. Joe was very efficient (Yellowstone guy), but some others were not.

My husband visited with the new resort manager. He had only just started and had been listening as my husband told the front desk of some of our concerns. He thanked us for telling them of our concerns so that they might be addressed. He acknowledged that there had been problems but the owner had committed to fix what was wrong and he was committed to making that happen. We saw evidence of this during this trip and I am optimistic that things will continue to improve under his direction.

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Calvary Post, which is close to the pool and overlooks a reflecting pool, but this trip we stayed in the Officers Quarters. Ask for 2nd floor so you have the best view of the mountains and/or golf course. Room 317 is PERFECT in terms of view and is close to the restaurant. Also, there is limited parking behind that building, but they don't tell you about this.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeguinX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I wanted to do something that I had never done before for my 50th birthday. I wanted to ride horses in the desert. We stayed at Lajitas Golf Resort and Spa for this little getaway. The people there are wonderful. Very accommodating, very Texas friendly. The resort is in the desert and it is on a road that will take you on one of the most beautiful drives of your life, the Camino del Rio. The restaurant, Candelilla, serves good food, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Red Rock Outfitters, onsite, will help you plan any activities that strike your fancy. They are wonderful. The General Store provides you with just about anything you could need and makes great deli sandwiches. The horseman, Mark, took us on a fabulous hore ride and took us out to shoot western style guns the day after. He was quite awesome! A real cowboy with a good sense of humor. I would have given Lajitas 5 stars because we had such a great time and the people were so great, but their housekeeping is really quite bad. They made the bed, changed the towels and left toilet paper and that was about it. Other than that, this was one of the best vacations of my life! I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Officers Quarters overlooking the golf course and mountains. It was a good room. Next time we'll stay longer and rent one of the Boardwalk Condos so we can have a kitchen.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJonesTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We chose Lajitas Golf Resort and Spa for its Good Sam Park name, and the fact that we'd hear it was great. And it was! We went mid-March, and then enjoyed shopping, swimming at the amazing pool, and then sitting out in the evening watching the sun set. My husband and I went to school at Sul Ross and graduated in the late 80's. Then, we'd return to beautiful Alpine and try to make our way here, to Lajitas. Many a weekend was spent here on the river, and today, the clientele has gone upscale, but the fun is still here. Like others have said, Clay Henry, the beer drinking goat has died, but his pioneer spirit of fun in the sun is still alive. The Trading Post has turned into the golf office and HQ, but they've maintained the Old West feel. I remember dancing out on the porch, and today, you can still enjoy the many original fun, plus take in the swanky spa treatments and restaurants across the highway at the main part of the resort. It's really nice, and still a good country mile from nowhere, but I'd have it no other way. It seems like you'll never get there, as you travel west from Hwy. 118 on Hwy 170, but you'll have the beautiful mountains of BBNP and Mexico to view, with their beautiful purple and blue hues. Be sure to allow enough time to take day trips to Presidio; it's one of the most beautiful drives in Texas. Then go to the Park; it's amazing! Get off the main road and try some of the smaller roads. Take a hike and see the beauty all around. This RV Resort is perfect for a base camp, and you can see crazy things like La Kiva, a bar that's been around for more than 30 years, inside a "cave" with awesome atmosphere, drinks and food. Be sure to visit the bathrooms! Fantastic! The management at the RV Resort was so helpful. They gave us tips and told us about places to see. So much has changed, and yet, it stays so wonderfully the same in my mind. One of my top vacation spots in the world; just expect to slow down and "unplug." They do have great cable and internet, but you won't need it. The views and mountains are mesmerizing enough to keep your mind and eyes full of God's wonder.

Room Tip: Be sure to park your RV where your trailer has the awning/door/seating area in the shade; let your trailer take the heat, not you! The mountain views are on all sides, so it doesn't matter about that!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opinionette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is Great gem to kick off Big Bend Adventures. Stayed in a 2nd floor full condo with 4 adults - 1toddler. Had full kitchen which was great after coming in late from full day of hiking. Very comfy beds and spacious rooms. Really enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evenings. Ate at The cafe one evening and had an excellent meal that exceeded our expectations on quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank klkirkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews