We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort but needs more staff on board Very nice resort but needs more staff to keep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lajitas Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lajitas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the resort because we waited too late to get a room at the Chisos Mountain Lodge during Spring Break week. The resort's interior design is awesome! It's ashame there wasn't enough staff to keep the place in top order. On our first day we walked the grounds to check out the pools and outside patio. The fire pit had empty beer cans and empty drink glasses that stayed like that for at least two days before we asked staff to clean it up so a fire could be started. A staff personnel did come to start the fire but there were no logs so he said would be right back we waited 45 minutes and no one ever came back. The next day we visited the pool with no attendant. Instead dirty towels were thrown on the floor and on the chairs we had to dig into a large plastic bag that did have clean towels. There were also several children playing at the pool with no adult supervision. The perks are free coffee in the morning, baked cookies and fresh lemonade in the lobby daily. We had lunch at the restaurant and it was very good. The waiter was very friendly and the views were awesome! I complained to the manager and he was extremely nice and thanked me for letting him know. We paid $219 an night plus tax & fees and tthe drive to Big Bend took about an hour.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glow59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 719 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family of five (3 boys; ages 10, 7, and 3) spent 2 days primitive tent camping at the Maverick RV Ranch followed by 3 days at the Lajitas Resort. We loved both locations and would absolutely recommend both facilities if you are looking for nicer, family-friendly accomodations. We initially tried reserving a tent spot in Big Bend National Park but nothing was available, so we decided to try Maverick RV Ranch because I wanted a guaranteed spot and I liked the idea of tent camping but also having bathroom/shower facilities within walking distance (tip: don't forget a flashlight because the road leading to the primitive tent camping is not lit at all and it is pitch black at night). The added bonus was that the RV Park also had a room with a TV and sofa that the kids could relax in when they got tired of being in the sun. The boys loved climbing all the hills surrounding our tent site and found lots of cool rocks. It was so quiet and peaceful at night and everything we were looking for in a tent camping experience. The hotel was excellent as well. All the staff were very friendly and interesting to talk too...it felt like living in a small town and they really made us feel at home. The boys enjoyed daily free movies at the theatre and running around the grassy area around the restaurant. We had a fun family outing golfing and the views were incredible (one of the prettiest course I have ever been too). Our room was clean and nicely appointed. The only complaint we had about our room was that you could really feel the coils on the sofa bed mattress so we had to lay sleeping bags on it for the kids to sleep more comfortably. Our bed was very comfy so no problems there. Overall, a great vacation experience and we would not hesitate to book here again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank AnnieC707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We traveled to Lajitas with our horses for a week long stay in January 2013. The resort is gorgeous with rustic western charm. The views from the restaurant windows are beautiful and the food was quite good. Our room was quiet and comfortable and the barn at Lajitas had safe and comfortable accomodations for our horses. The trail riding was excellent. All staff members we came into contact with were kind, friendly and accomodating. If you need bright lights and big city this is not the place for you. However, if you long for wide open spaces, abundanct sunshine, and solitude, there is none better than Lajitas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trail1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Over all the resort was beautiful and clean. Front desk was very nice and helpful; made us feel very welcome. Resort could use more dinning/food options. Furthermore, the food was a little over price. Our family enjoyed our time there and planning to come back when we plan our return to Big Bend National Park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyNoMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Chose this resort for its proximity to Big Bend Natl Park(20 minutes drive time) and spa/golf. Spent four days just prior to spring break crowds to enjoy the park and local activities. Resort is spread over multiple buildings with some appearing to be considerably newer and closer to the lobby which might be a better selection depending on your needs. There are many types of rooms available, we booked suite so can only speak of it. Our selection was two room with bath and a half. Had difficulty finding room given the map supplied by the staff at registration, mostly due to the numbers on the rooms were painted on tiles at door of each but print was so small you had to be right on top to read it. Room was decorated in western motif, cute but dated. Bed was firm and furnishings were fine. Each room of suite had an air conditioner in the ceiling which each were very load. Since this resort is somewhat isolated, staying here results in you depending on the resort for much of your stay.Given that dependency, the real issue of the stay was with restaurant on-site. Over the four day stay, we ate four meals two breakfasts and two dinners. The quality of the food was poor and as a result we were not charged for two of them, authorized, I guess by the manager but he/she never introduced themselves so were not sure who they were. Food was either cold and/or nearly burnt. The wait staff on multiple occasions would take 5 - 10 minutes to get to the table, often times clearing adjacent tables without uttering a word, such as "be with you in a minute" or something similar. Understandable if busy but at most we ever saw only three tables were occupied, covered by two waiters. Bar was nice had live entertainment each night, however, ran into an interesting situation one night when asking if they had bar "food". We were told no, just the restaurant. When I tried to go to restaurant and bring food back to bar, was told I couldn't do that. Not sure what the issue there was. After that experience I'd recommend either getting a sandwich as the Lajitas General Store or going to the Starlight Theater in Terlingua ghost town, where food and service were excellent. Staff at reception was friendly and courteous. Spa was utilized one day. There is only one person to perform spa actiivies in small area. She was very good and friendly as well. Golfed one day, staff very helpful and courteous as well. Brought my own clubs but noticed they had two Nike sets for rent if need be. Views from many holes just spectacular which added to the enjoyment of the round. I inquired about the 19th hole, hoping for a snack and beer. Was informed they didn't have one. Later found out that there was a very nice restaurant there but had been closed indefinitely. There were several other activities such as horseback riding and sporting clays but didn't do those. Never tried room service but understood that if you called them, you had to go and pick it up from restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the lobby overlooking golf course appeared newer, might be somewhat better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent three nights out here. The hotels location to Big Bend, Big Bend Ranch and the drive to Presidio along the Rio Grande was great. The golf course was beautiful, challenging and well maintained. We Loved This Course! The staff at the course were very attentive and helpful as were the hotel staff. Our room was a little worn, the door to the room had a large crack running down one of the panels you could see daylight through. The hotel cafe has a very scenic view but the food is average. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed a week in the RV park on the resort property. Spacious sites, full hook ups, awesome views from your rig, very nice pool area and rec hall. Visited both Big Bend National and State parks. Easy, beautiful drive to both, and the parks are just incredible. Played golf at the resort - beautiful, challenging course with killer views and in excellent shape. They offer discounts if you are staying with them. Well worth the price. Thirsty Goat Bar has great atmosphere, and live music on weekends. Drinks are a little pricey, and they have a good food menu. We ordered appetizers which were all good. Their grocery store is wonderful - all the basics, and lots of fun stuff too, along with a great deli. We ordered sandwiches to go and they were excellent. Easy drive to Terlingua for more restaurant options and fun bars. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lajitas Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lajitas Golf Resort

Address: 100 Main Street, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852-9703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park > Lajitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lajitas
Price Range: $208 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lajitas Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lajitas Golf Resort offers a boutique resort setting nestled in the lowland desert between the majestic mountains of the Big Bend National Park and the Big Bend Ranch State Park in Texas. Featuring resort amenities with an award winning Lanny Wadkins designed championship golf course, world class zip line adventure with 9 stations and over 8,000 ft. of adrenaline producing zip lines that span canyons, a relaxing spa, an equestrian center,and a variety of outdoor adventure activities including jeep tours, mountain biking, hiking, river rafting, 5-stand sporting clays, cowboy action shoot or just relaxing poolside soaking up the warmth and beauty of the pristine desert. In the evening visit the resort's casual restaurant with outdoor seating with incredible vista views of the Big Bend mountains, or sip on a cool drink in the Thirsty Goat Saloon with live local music most nights and enjoy star gazing on the patio. Come and enjoy the "ultimate Big Bend experience!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Lajitas Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lajitas Golf Hotel Lajitas
Lajitas Golf Resort And Spa
Lajitas Hotel
Lajitas Resort Texas
Lajitas Golf Resort Big Bend National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing