We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wild Wild West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lajitas Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lajitas Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wild Wild West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lajitas Golf & SPA resort is a hidden wonder in the wild wild west. This lovely resort provide an amazing service and expectacular food. Coming to this hidden wonder you will experience the wild wild west adventure, many things to do, from learn on how to ride a horse up to handle cattle like a pro. The expectacular view take you away from the normal day to day work enviroment. Exellent place to relax and enjoy nature.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guayoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    191
    93
    54
    32
See reviews for
175
293
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just got back from a 4 night trip to the Lajitas Resort in Big Bend area of Texas. All I can say is that it was more than we expected and the scenery is stunning! The resort was a pleasant surprise - beautifully maintained, spacious room in the Officer's Quarters, excellent food and service allthe way around. Although we don't golf, we were able to rent a golf cart and drive the course, which goes up into the mountains and has breathtaking views. It was a great way to spend a couple of hours. We also took the 2 hour trailride on horses and went to the top of the mountain with a view that went on for miles. This was our first trip to Big Bend, and I didn't realize how beautiful the area is - although I wouldn't go in the middle of summer, we will definitely go again - and stay at Lajitas Resort. Don't miss Terlingua Ghost Town, Starlight Theater and La Kiva - they're all unique and full of character. The drive from Lajitas to Presideo is every bit as beautiful as the National Park - you should definitely do both. Just can't say enough about how much we both enjoyed this trip!

Room Tip: Paying a little extra for the Officer's Quarters with a view is well worth it. Rooms at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueK1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is their motto, and it couldn't be more true! What a gem in the desert! Comfortable, quiet, spacious rooms (pet friendly, too!), fun bar with live music, great restaurant, and a friendly, helpful staff. Kaci, the activities director, went out of her way to help us schedule things to do and Jerry at the front desk arranged a special photo op for my husband. Located between Big Bend National Park and Big Bend Ranch State Park (which, by the way, is bigger than all the other Texas state parks combined with some acreage to spare), there is so much to see and do here: horseback riding, river trips, hiking, mountain biking, shooting, ATV rides, sunset cook-outs over open fires, spa, golf, etc. Don't miss the morning drive along Texas 170 (River Road) from Lajits to Presidio! We're already counting the days until we can get back to this wonderful desert oasis!

Room Tip: We were in the Officer's Quarters, and since we had a pet, it was nice to have a separate sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAYLACP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

There is so much to say about this small trip.... If you are looking for quality time with your spouse or to reconnect and have a romantic get away, This is the place to go!!! The drive to get there is beautiful when you drive through Presidio!! The resort itself is beautiful as well with their Golf Course that has an international hole!!
To see the sunset and the sunrise is breath taking!! Once your are there make sure you go eat at La Kiva and to the Starlight Theater ... The atmosphere there is one taken out of a movie! Fun relaxing and with a types of people!
A couple of hours drive and you are the Big Bend National park...Lots of good scenery that you have to take advantage off!! And if you are really up for an adventure, Mexico is about an hour from the Resort, you can go have lunch in Mexico, bring back some souvenirs and be back by dinner time!! Service everywhere was GREAT and the food delicious!! That was my experience...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NubiaG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a two trip to this lovely place. 
The location is remote but worth the trip. 
The hotel is set up in authentic Old Texas style.  Designed to be rustic yet comfortable. 
The room we were assigned was in the "La Cuesta" section. The room had a refrigerator, soft leather love seat  and a comfy bed. Storage was plentiful. We were right by the pool which was beautiful.
Dinner in the restaurant was lovely. The Chicken Piccata was so delicious. Breakfast was very good. We had a lovely visit with the bartender in the bar "The thirsty Goat"
History of this resort and the area is rich and intriguing.  There is also camping, RV area,  great golf course, equestrian center, and other activities that can be set up through the resort. 
Very close to Big Bend park and Terlingua Ghost Town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Susieq1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We made a 5 day vacation over the 4th of July. Beautiful accomodations and amazing scenery. Tons of stuff to do - horseback and ATV riding in the mountains, river rafting, and golf were our choices. Shooting range was closed for a reality TV series video though - bummer. Great food at the restaurant. Enjoyed visiting Terlingua as well.

Room Tip: get close by pool in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The resort is very nice! The so called activity director who I was told is suppose to help guests book activities was very rude! I believe her name was Casey and she was not helpful at all. She ignored me while talking to another employee for over 15 minutes until I finally walked away and never received a call back from her after leaving a message. Thank goodness I decided that I should call the spa directly to book a massage where I spoke with Regina who gives the most incredible massage and was probably the best massage I have ever had! She is very talented and I recommend booking a massage with her. This place has such potential; but, they need to get employees that actually care about the guest experience instead of conversating with other employees while guests wait. We were traveling with some friends and stayed with them in the Cavalry Post area of the resort which was very nice accommodations having very comfortable best. Restaurant was a little pricey which is to be expected considering where they are located. I would recommend visiting the resort during cooler months.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajitas
10.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#4 of 8 in Terlingua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lajitas Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lajitas Golf Resort

Property: Lajitas Golf Resort
Address: Box 400 HC 70, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852-9703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park > Lajitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lajitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lajitas Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lajitas Golf Resort offers a boutique resort setting nestled in the lowland desert between the majestic mountains of the Big Bend National Park and the Big Bend Ranch State Park in Texas. Featuring resort amenities with an award winning Lanny Wadkins designed championship golf course, world class zip line adventure with 9 stations, 8,172 ft of adrenaline producing zip lines that span canyons, a relaxing spa, an equestrian center,and a variety of outdoor adventure activities including jeep tours, mountain biking, hiking, river rafting, 5-stand sporting clays, cowboy action shoot or just relaxing poolside soaking up the warmth and beauty of the pristine desert. In the evening visit the Resort's casual restaurant with outdoor seating with incredible vista views of the Big Bend mountains, or sip on a cool drink in the Thirsty Goat Saloon with live local music most nights and enjoy star gazing on the patio. Come and enjoy the "ultimate Big Bend experience!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Lajitas Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lajitas Golf Hotel Lajitas
Lajitas Golf Resort And Spa
Lajitas Hotel
Lajitas Resort Texas
Lajitas Golf Resort Big Bend National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing