We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Gasthof Weitgasser
Ranked #10 of 22 Mauterndorf B&B and Inns
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“very comfortable”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my daughter, as part of a conference in town, and an opportunity to go skiing together. The room was very spacious and the beds comfortable, with a desk which was very useful for us. There we several minor problems, though: 1. Terrible wifi connection. Since both of us needed the wifi for work/study, this was something that really bothered us. I guess that may depend on the location of the room, so if that is important to you, check it first before moving in, 2. Breakfast was usually busy, and since there is no staff, just the couple who run the hotel, sometimes they cannot handle the demand. On the first day there was no clean table available, and it too a while before someone actually came out to clean. In other days, there was items missing and one had to call them in order to ask for juice, eggs, etc.. Some of the tables were actually reserved to some guests, it was not clear why these and not others. 3. Even though we used the soap and shampoo in the bathroom, they were not replaced regularly.

The hotel has a storage room for ski equipment, and in the same room one can get tea (and sandwiches if you come early enough from ski), and pool and fusball tables, The problem is that it is outside the main building, so you have to go out in the cold. But still it is a nice service.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you need wifi - check the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YigalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very friendly staff and good food.
A little complain only, because no hot watter - only warm was avaiable and room could be a little warmer when we arrive. A little loud environment, but acceptable.
Will visit them again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeemBorci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Gasthof Weitgasser is a truly unique place to stay. I came with my wife and 3 kids. The hotel has style and atmosphere. The food is exceptional and the staff is very warm and friendly. This is one of those places that can make your vacation unforgetable!

Room Tip: if you mind going up steps ask for the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adigilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very spacious, nice and clean rooms. The food ist excellent und definitely more than standard in this category. The owner wife and all the staff is very friendly. A great place to stay in summer and winter time. Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kagu-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Been there several times both during winter and summer season, but only in the restaurant. Very kind staff, very tasty dishes from the lungau region. One of the best are fried meatballs of fresh cheese, but if you like wienerschnitzel or other traditional dishes this is the place.
Also good value for money.
In summer there is also a small garden where you can eat outside.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have lived here 3 times - 2 times in the winter for skiing and now for hiking in the summer. The rooms are large, the sauna is very nice and the breakfast and restaurant excellent. I recommend the half board. Much value for the money!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampusN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Our family of four stayed at a large double room over the Easter weekend. It was very nice and great value for the money. Half board and room was euro 170 per night for all of us which we found reasonable. Breakfast buffet was good and dinner (five course) was fabulous. There are great skiing nearby: Grossek-Speiereck is a small place about five minutes drive and Obertauern is a large resort about 10 miles away. Ski bus takes you to both places and it stops in front of the hotel. Double room had four beds (twins put together in addition to two separate twins), separate toilet and large enough for a family of four. Interior had been recently refurbished. Mautendorf is a nice little place too and we really enjoyed walking around this midieval city. Free parking and free wi-fi. We are definitely going back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burtonaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mauterndorf hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellness & Vitalhotel Karla
Wellness & Vitalhotel Karla
#5 of 22 in Mauterndorf
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lueftenegger
Lueftenegger
#1 of 1 in Mauterndorf
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Binggl
Hotel Binggl
#1 of 22 in Mauterndorf
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stegmuhlhof
Hotel Stegmuhlhof
#12 of 22 in Mauterndorf
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haus Helga
Haus Helga
#6 of 22 in Mauterndorf
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haus Katris
Haus Katris
#13 of 22 in Mauterndorf
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Weitgasser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Weitgasser

Property: Hotel-Gasthof Weitgasser
Address: Markt 106, Mauterndorf 5570, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Mauterndorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mauterndorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Gasthof Weitgasser 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Weitgasser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Gasthof Weitgasser Mauterndorf, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing